We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick Upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Night out”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Overnight stay to see a show , 15 min easy walk from railway station , staff were very friendly and room was very clean with fab view of castle , great meal deal with choice of menu . Well recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    780
    155
    35
    23
See reviews for
830
1,096
82
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked this Premier Inn for an overnight stay in Edinburgh. Had we known it was there we would have stayed before as we often stay in Edinburgh. The location is perfect for shopping in the city. The hotel was lovely and clean, the room was a decent size, we would have liked a kingsize bed as that is what we have at home, but it was Ok for a short stay. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble and they made sure everything was to our satisfaction. There was no noise at all through the night, our room was at the back so don't know if the front ones would be noisy. We didn't eat there in the evening as there are plenty of good eating places within walking distance but the breakfast was of a very high standard, much better than some hotels who charge a lot more. The hot breakfast choice was extensive, well cooked and nice and hot. There was a good selection for continental too. Altogether it was a great place to stay, we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in many premier inns and always been fairly impressed. You always know what to expect and in this case I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is situated directly on princes street and has perfect views of the castle. It's only a 10 min walk to the train station where you can get the airbus to the airport for £4. The breakfast buffet was a good selection and the staff very pleasant. Would book again when I return to edinburgh.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tjsymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Premier Inns offer reliable standards, but what really stood out during our stay here were the helpful, cheerful, pleasant and informative staff. We also got a helpful email 24 hrs ahead about location and luggage storage - that was a first

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I've stayed here 3 times. The first 2 times were excellent but my most recent stay wasn't so good. I had to wait a long time to be seated in the restaurant despite it not being busy at all - there was one person who had to do everything - bar, serving, reception etc. Had a lovely room overlooking the Castle but unfortunately it was rather cold and the shower didn't have much pressure. Staff very friendly though. One thing that really bugs me about Premier Inn is that they only give you 30 mins free WiFi. I think their restaurant business is suffering from this as many choose to go out to eat elsewhere so they can use the free WiFi that many other establishments offer which is what I did on day 2. I will probably stay at this one again mainly due to its location but in other locations I have opted to stay in B&B's instead to take advantage of breakfast and WiFi included in price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the castle. Room 521 is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baroda32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

First thing to say is finding the place. Premier inn u need a bigger sign for ppl to find you.. Loved my stay very comfy the bed. Nice breakfast to. I will say again here again.. Had a great time in Edinburgh what a nice place to go. I travel all over uk for my job can't wait to see you guys again

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trev26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Trev26,

Thank you for your review, I'm delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you can't wait to return.

I fully understand your points regarding the external signage, please be assured that this is something that we are very conscious of - we have petitioned the city council for additional signage, however we are still awaiting a decision from them. In the meantime our Reception Team work really hard to try to contact as many guests as possible to advise them of our location between Starbucks and New Look.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hopefully at some point we will have the extra signage approved.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Tidy and clean but nothing out of the ordinary for the excess price paid although it was new year. Cannot book anything now if we wanted to for the same time ie new years eve. Obviously held back for this high price!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear JaneL

Thanks for your review, I am delighted that you found the hotel to be clean and that you rated the service so highly.

I do understand your frustrations regarding the cost at Hogmanay and whilst our pricing is higher than you might expect, please be assured that we still remain a great value option in comparison to our local competitors during this time, who's rates in most case are higher than ours. I will of course ensure that your feedback is shared with our Pricing Team.

Thanks again and I really hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,089 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing