We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View of Edinburgh Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Premire Inn was the hotel with best view. I requested for a top floor room with Edinburgh Castle view and it was granted. I was on my honeymoon trip and I wanted the best so I requested well in advance.
The room was great. The view from hotel was just awesome, the castle view room. It was just like a live scenery from the room that cannot be explained in words.
Food was great with lot of options. Service was good.

Room Tip: Top floor room with Castle View.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Gaurav_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,717)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the premier inn - princes st on 12th Feb for 2 nights,we stayed in a family room with our 6year old grandaughter it was perfect room was lovely,we opted for the meal deal good value for money,staff were lovely made time to chat to our grandaughter asking her about her visit to build a bear,would love to return in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank 232rosalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for one night midweek, costing us £70 with me purchasing the room a few days in advance.

From previous reviews, some persons were critical of the price. If you go to Edinburgh during an international rugby game or the tattoo, you'd expect to pay top dollar! I was happy enough to pay my price as the location was amazing and I knew what I was getting. On shopping about, the price was average with other hotels in the area.

The receptionist was nice and friendly but she did direct us to a fancy vending type booking in machine. I found this strange and felt it took away the face to face customer relations of checking in...

The room was clean(618), bed very comfortable (as you always get with Premier Inn) and I had a good nights sleep. One small gripe was you can hear next door flushing the loo silly o'clock.

Would I visit again and pay for this location? Yes. On a rugby weekend? No. Go to Glasgow, it's only 40min train away and a fraction of the price!

Room Tip: Try ask for a room with a view. We were on the 6th floor and had an even number, which didn't lo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've scored this hotel 1 star mostly because of their charging policy.

England and Scotland rugby weekend, difficult to find accommodation and it's all expensive so you 'takes your choice.'

Well, £371 for a twin room including breakfast for two nights is, I believe, well over the top. I'm not interested in any 'supply and demand' arguments. This is a very basic hotel offering average fare and this price is simply profiteering in the extreme. If you wish to check prices for other weekends you will know what I mean.

We arrived and were checked in, if you pay cash make sure you have ID. I didn't but my friend did! An email had confirmed the twin-bedded accommodation but on entering the room only a double bed made up. Back to reception to be told the twin beds are a double and the sofa bed. Arrangements were made for the sofa bed to be made up, we now have no sofa for our stay!

Breakfast is buffet style, I would expect a little more for £185.50 per night. I'm ok with fetching my fruit juice, fruit and cereal but it would be nice not to stand in a queue for a coffee. A pot brought to the table would be good and a table tidy would also add to the experience rather than all the paraphernalia being strewn wherever there was space. Little touches all add up. The cooked breakfast is under lamps and we have all experienced them, no need to add further comment!

The restaurant is tidy enough and some tables have windows to look out over the castle. I have to say Graham and John in the restaurant were excellent. Graham in particular, because he was our greeter, was very welcoming and personable and interested in our stay.

The bar is interesting, we decided on the second night to have 'one for the road' in the 'bar' basically a few seats between reception and the restaurant. Having sampled a few of Edinburgh's finest bitters it was a let down to only see Guiness on draught although I am perfectly happy to imbibe when bitters are not available. Unfortunately the Guiness was not available this night so the only choice was 'lump it' with bottled beer or go without. The bar tender then apologised for one of our chosen bottles being warmer than the other! I didn't tell my mate, I went for the less chilled one, after all we're not in America!

Others have mentioned the discreet entrance, thank goodness it is, who wants big brash corporate signage everywhere? Lenny Henry and purple, no thanks. Between Starbucks and Look if I remember correctly and near to MacDonalds and Tesco Express if you need a late night snack.

If you use the Air Link bus from the airport alight at Shandwick Place and follow the bus into Princes Street. It's much closer to the hotel than the next stop in George Street or the terminus at Waverley.

So, fantastic location BUT seriously, this very basic hotel is never going to be worth the money we paid and Premier Inns need to seriously rethink their charges if they want people to go away and spead positive words about their establishments. It's about reasonable profit, not ripping people off!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lutonlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Lutonlip,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Feedback is such an important tool for us to continually monitor our standards and services.

I apologise that the sofa bed was overlooked prior to your arrival, this has been addressed with our Housekeeping Team - I'm pleased that Reception were able to get this made promptly for you.

Our breakfast is served buffet style, during busy periods this serves to speed up the process and ensures that every guest is able to access as much as they would like - breakfast is all you can eat and therefore great value for money. I do appreciate that some guests may perhaps prefer to have breakfast cooked to order and table service for hot drinks and for your future comfort please be assured that the waiting team and chefs are more than happy to do this at your request.

Both Graham and John are delighted with your positive feedback, both are very passionate to deliver a great breakfast and it's very rewarding for them when our guests take the time to recognise the work that they do.

I do fully understand your frustrations regarding the cost during the international rugby weekend being higher than you would normally expect to pay at a Premier Inn but please be assured that ever step is taken by our Pricing Team to ensure that whilst we do price in line with demand in the market place, we remain as competitive as we can. In most cases our prices are lower than that of our competitors. I will of course ensure that your feedback is shared directly with our Pricing Team.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very comfortable. Good location (when you spot it!!). Good food. Friendly staff. Budget hotel?? £160 for Saturday and £55 for Sunday. Not good!! Be more budget friendly please!!! It's what you class yourself!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent staff, very knowledgeable of local area and excursions. We're able to give lots of advice on our trip to see the sights. Also more than willing to help with any issues.
Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First time in a premier inn, will definitely go back. Room clean and warm, bed very comfortable and The Kitchen restaurant...well the 8oz burer I had was delicious.
Would definitely use a premier inn in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing