We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Edinburgh excellence”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

just came back from a half term break with the Grandkids (8 & 10 yrs). Fantastic child friendly hotel. Safe (key access to bedroom floors) great food and customer service. Straight on to Princess Street. You can store your luggage before and after your stay so you can make the most of your days in Edinburgh. Try to book well in advance for best price. I hesitated but still got value for money. Four of us in a family room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariesteward26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    762
    148
    32
    20
See reviews for
793
1,062
78
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at several Premier Inns and you know exactly what to expect before you arrive. Reception as efficient as ever, restaurant staff faultless and housekeeping perfect. Always friendly and always clean. Perfect location for exploring Edinburgh and with a great view of the castle.

Our only complaint would be concerning the old tramp installed outside the entrance on Princess Street, asking for money every time we came in or out. Not the best of memories. He was there on each of our four days so must be 'his' regular spot...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dallerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a great stay, because we were with a group who didnt stay in the hotel we ate out, but had the buffet breakfast on the last day a buffet as much as you could eat well worth the money, also not far from the Waverley station, so didn't need to take the car, very good rooms great staff, this is our 2nd stay with Premier Inn, Only down side they say for £29 a night never ever works out at that can triple that.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were good, ours was a side room, never heard a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Although the entrance to the hotel is just a door on the busy Princess Street, the place is like a tardiss. This is a typical Premier Inn so nothing bad to report. Great location in the centre of town right next to the castle.

I will say thank you to the tall barman who was very chatty and managed to introduce me to other guests that made my weekend by having spare tickets to the rugby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As always the winning thing about the Premier Inn is the staff. They are always friendly and welcoming. Another reason for choosing the Premier Inn is the quality of the beds and the pillows. When you travel for work a good nights comfortable sleep is needed and the beds and pillows are of a really good standard. The hotel is very comfortable and quiet which is great. One of the highlights is the restaurant where you can dine whilst having a remarkable view of the Castle. Well done - one of the best Premier Inns I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the front of the building which has a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonk1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel has one of the best locations in Edinburgh, as it is on Princess Street, so central. The service we received was fir5st class from begining to end. Along with good value for the stay, there is nothing to add !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel was very hidden on princes street could be very easily missed and the size of hotel is deceiving, when you enter you use the lift or stairs to reception on the second floor, once here the area is spacious and ooks lovely and welcoming; the views from the windows are stunning. Check in was very fast and so easy rooms very clean and comfy me and my partner had an excellent nights sleep after a long day exploring edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing