We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tonypandy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great staff, good location”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights during march. Staff were very welcoming and friendly-always said hello and couldn't do enough for you. We arrived early (10 am!) and were able to leave our bags in the hotel prior to booking in whilst we explored the city. Great location on Princes St opposite the castle within walking distance of pretty much everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alrob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    762
    148
    32
    20
See reviews for
792
1,062
78
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have returned today from a three night stay at the Premier Inn Princess Street Edinburgh. The location was brilliant, with all major sights easily accessible (we walked to many). We were lucky enough to enjoy a view of the castle from our room. The room was very clean, comfortable with everything well maintained. The bathroom was spotless and the tiles sparkled! The staff were really friendly and very helpful -always asking if everything was ok for us; and I have to say that it was! We ate breakfast at the hotel and this was plentiful and the cooked food was fresh - even if we did not eat too early. We chose to go out to eat in the evening and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from within a short walk. We enjoyed visiting the castle and Holyrood and also I had booked a tour at the Scotch Whisky experience, a treat for my husband, which we enjoyed. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and would book to stay there again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for a Castle view room at that time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Travelled with husband and 2 kids (2&9) for a visit to the castle, staff were all VERY friendly and helpful, room was perfect. View of the castle was amazing! Only about 15 mins walk to the castle too. Food in The Kitchen was lovely althought wished there had been slightly more snack choices,great location, quiet even though its very central, would use again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Excellent hotel located on Princes Street . We had room 621 right on the top floor which had the best views over the castle and gardens. Made the booking online then rang hotel requesting a castle view room which turned out to be the best view of the castle. Slight glitch with air con alarm going off throughout night but when we mentioned this to reception we got a refund for the first night and a room swap. We decided to stay in our room for the view the engineer sorted the air con out. The staff were friendly and so helpful and I will be using this hotel again when visiting Edinburgh. Ive stopped in better starred hotels in Edinburgh and to be honest non were not a patch on this place.

Room Tip: Get a castle view it an amazing sight to wake up too. Ask for top floor castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GS301179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a night with the wife for a night out. Hotel was right in the centre of things and perfect for what we wanted. Visited the castle which you could see from our hotel window, Rose Street with all its bars are on the next Street. So many resteurants within 5 mins walk the choice was excellent. Hotel was very comfortable and bearing in mind its location very quiet. Staff very helpful and cheery. Would definately recommend it and will definately stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Premier inn Edinburgh is perfect for any kind of stay in the city. Friendly staff,central location etc. Definitely I will stay there again. Certainly I will recommend it to anyone travelling to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I had a great four day stay at Premier Inn Princes Street.

Rebecca the Receptionist on duty when I arrived was very friendly and eager to help, I needed to be shown how to use the self-service check-in machine.

The location was ideal, the Hotel faced a superb view of Edinburgh Castle right opposite.

I did not have a room with a Castle view but the view from the Dining Room was great.
My Room was facing a side Street but the compensation was no noise whatsoever.

The tourist attractions were only a walk away. Perfect for my 4 day break.

I had Dinner in only once, my choice of the full Rack of Spare Ribs was possibly my best ever and the service friendly and attentive.

I have stayed in Edinburgh many times but I have never discovered the Bars and Restaurants just behind Princes Street in Rose Street, a visit is recommended.
I particularly liked Dirty Dick’s for the décor and The Abbotsford for the Real Ale and the Scottish fare.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuldJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing