We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good night's sleep!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, good night's sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Ok, these places aren't upmarket, but they're very friendly, comfortable and in this case, well situated. Very comfortable bed and pillows - which is the main ingredient to a good hotel - plus clean and well-maintained. Perhaps not very romantic or luxurious, but more than adequate for the price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    731
    136
    32
    19
See reviews for
752
1,018
74
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fantastic hotel in a great central location. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room clean, modern and comfortable and no noise.
Restaurant could have been a little better as steak not cooked as requested and 2 requests for drinks were forgotten. Restaurant still very friendly however.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Comfy and clean room and basically exactly what you would expect from a Premier Inn. The breakfast was lovely, and the staff were ever so friendly and happy to help with anything.
The location of the hotel you really can't fault, it is exactly where you want to be in the centre of Edinburgh.
Before travelling to Edinburgh for the weekend a couple of friends had warned me about the noise outside when trying to sleep due to the late night party goers (though don't know where they stayed hotel wise), but both nights I had an amazing sleep with no interruptions whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for 3 night in April with an extended family member, the view of the castle from our room was unexpected and nice. The location is exceptionally convenient and would make this my first choice for staying in Edinburgh (so long as I was not travelling with a car).

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the front you will love the view, noise level fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMix76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear MrMix76,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to know that you rate your experience with us so highly.

I am so pleased you were allocated one of our castle view rooms, it really is a stunning sight to wake up to and I am delighted to hear that we are your first choice when staying in Edinburgh, I really hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had returned from a weeks holiday and stayed the night in Premier Inn Princes Street. This was most definately the best night of our holiday. From the moment you arrive at Reception they could not have been more helpful. The Desk had several people attending to the gusets, showed us to the machine to check in & book Breakfast. While sitting in the Bar we heard them help tourists with onward sightseeing trips. The place is absolutely spotless. I thought it hadn't been opened very long, but we had to call reception as we could not turn off the shower tap. Within 5 minutes Andy arrived and it was just a case of using more force. I said I thought it was because it may not have been used much as it was newly opened but he said it had been open for 2 years. I could not fault any member of staff, Premier Inn should be very proud of them. A new thing I noticed was that they had several countries badges on uniform which I imagine was the languages they spoke. The girl on at Breakfast showed great patience with some of the guests. She asked whither we had Brfeakfast in a Premier Inn before if not she would have talked us through it. Keep up the great work

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Jonathan6,

Thank you for your fabulous review, I am thrilled to hear you had such a great stay with us.

It's such a compliment that you thought we had just opened - we have our amazing Housekeeping and Maintenance Team to thank for that, they really take a tremendous amount of pride in delivering high standards and it's great for them to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I'm really pleased that Andy was so quick to help out when you needed him, he is a great asset to our hotel. The team work exceptionally hard every day to try to make sure our guests have a fantastic stay with us and there is nothing more rewarding for them, and for me, when our guests take the time to recognise the work that they do, I am very proud of every single one of them.

Thanks again for your lovely comments, I really hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

we went for a henweekend the staff were lovely they bent over backwards to ensure you had the best stay possible whilst there.rooms and facilities were clen, big and beds were really comfortable. real good value for money and breakfast was lovely. perfect location close to everything we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_jpenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear e_jpenman,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us, I'm really pleased you and your party had a brilliant stay.

At Premier Inn, we strive every day to deliver great value, clean comfortable bedrooms and a team on hand who really care about your experience and I am delighted you found this to be the case.

I agree our location is absolutely perfect to allow our guests to really get the best out of a visit to Edinburgh and nothing beats a Premier breakfast for value and a great start to the day! Your comments regarding the team bending over backwards, really does some up what they are trying to achieve on a daily basis, they genuinely want every single guest to have a fantastic stay and it's lovely for them to get such great feedback.

Thanks again for the time you have taken to share your feedback, I really do appreciate it.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but had a great time. Comfy rooms and hotel kept to a very high standard. Breakfast was lovely as well with a view of the castle and Princes street from the restaurant. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help with any queries.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gurr2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Gurr2812,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time and that you found the hotel kept to a very high standard. A lot of time goes into maintaining the standards we provide for our guests and I'm delighted that you have noted this, it's so very rewarding for myself and the team to receive such lovely feedback.

I really hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing