We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night sleep, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good night sleep, great location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was my second time at the Premier Inn on Princes Street, it is in an excellent location for shopping and a stones throw away from George Street with the lovely bars and restaurants.

The room itself was all you needed for £100 a night, very clean, air conditioned, comfy beds and plenty of space.

The only grumble I have would be the shower was weak and there was a leak that came from the shower pipe that sprung over the shower curtain and soaked all my cosmetics, I kept meaning to report it but we were barely in the room and always rushing around. There is also no free wifi (Apart from a half hour free) An excellent value for money hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeen1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    762
    148
    32
    20
See reviews for
792
1,062
78
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A great Premier Inn slap bang in the heart of Edinburgh. We booked a three night stay in June with breakfast. Rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The Premier Inn staff were very friendly, helpful and professional with a nothing too much trouble attitude.
Breakfasts - excellent quality with plenty of choice. I would definitely recommend this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel - great views of Edinburgh castle. Rooms at back of hotel - no view but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Centrally located hotel in the heart of Edinburgh. The service from arrival to departure was second to none and the whole experience was higher than we had expected. Rooms were clean and well serviced and the staff were very attentive and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A great little hotel right in the heart of Edinburgh - we stayed in a family room and had breakfast their each day of our 3 night stay. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast tasty! Couldn't have asked for more and the location was ideal- walking distance of the bus tours, view of the castle and lots of restaurants and bars in easy reach. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB1Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The location of this hotel is great. You couldn't get more central. It's right in the middle of Princes Street. The staff are both very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and the bed very comfortable. We had a room at the back which was really quiet. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarsMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottringham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On arrival greated by a begger at the door no car park and for £150 a night I expect more.... The staff were great but no air conditioning and only one plug socket working... Would I stay here again... Not a chance

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bootyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARiva1, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Bootyboo,

I'm really sorry that you haven't enjoyed your recent stay with us, please be assured that I take your feedback very seriously and I have emailed you directly in order that we can work to find a resolution for you.

Unfortunately as with most major city centres, Edinburgh does attract a wide social spectrum and where we do come across homeless individuals anywhere on Princes Street we work with Police Scotland and the other businesses in the area to ensure these people are moved on as swiftly as possible.

For you to find only one plug socket working and the air conditioning not functioning, would suggest that there has been an electrical fault in the bedroom, either something has surged or tripped as this is highly unusual given we are a relatively newly opened hotel.

I genuinely extend my sincerest apologies, there is nothing more important to us than ensuring our guests have a fantastic stay with us and I am confident that when we get the opportunity to speak directly I will be able to resolve the situation to your satisfaction and reassure you of our commitment to delivering a great guest experience.

Kind regards
Ailsa Riva
Operations Manager
Opsmgr.edinburghprincesstreet@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A very nice hotel with a narrow entrance tucked away on Prince's street in Edinburgh. We got a lovely room at the front of the hotel overlooking the castle. Very spacious, spotlessly clean room and bathroom, very cheerful & helpful staff, and no-nonsense checking in/out. Very quiet within the hotel, and virtually no traffic/revellers noise from outside at night. But most importantly, you know what you're getting with a Premier Inn hotel, and it was way cheaper than some of the competition on Prince's street! (Didn't try the restaurant but it looked nice enough.) Would definitely stay there again, but shhhh keep it to yourself, so it doesn't get fully booked up!!!! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing