We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely 2 night stay in the perfect location. About a 10 min walk from the train station down Princes Street. Room was very clean and comfortable with a great view of the castle! Every employee we encountered was very helpful and professional. We arrived prior to check-in and our bags were kept in a locked room until we returned. Perfect place to stay if you want to hit all the big attractions! Easy and quick check-in and check- out. Would definitely stay again and will use this company again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimsM8617CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 2,795 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here at the start of August, visiting Edinburgh for the tattoo.
The hotel is located a comfortable walking distance about half way between Waverley & Haymarket railway stations &, being on Princes St, is fairly easy to find. Perhaps a slightly more prominent sign would help as it is fitted in amongst all the shops but I had Googled it first so new exactly where to look.
Reception is on the first floor & is easily accessible via the lifts, however, if a large party arrives there can be a little wait. The alternative is via the stairs which are quite steep &, due to ill-health, not negotiable by myself.
The staff at reception were very friendly & took me through the automated check-in system before explaining the times & locations of the in-house services e.g. meal & bar times.
Our room was on the third floor, again accessible by the lifts. Again, be warned that if a large party/group arrive you may have to wait a few minutes.
Our room was at the rear of the hotel so our view was not very good, however, I have discovered that front facing rooms can be reserved.
The room itself was about standard for Premiere Inn. Very clean, tidy, adequately furnished & warm.
The breakfast is as per usual for Premiere Inn - buffet style. If you want vegetarian produce e.g. sausage, remember to order them when you are taken to your table. These will be brought to you.
All in all I found this to be a very nice hotel with very friendly & helpful staff. My only adverse comment would be that it is a little over priced compared to other city centre Premiere Inns

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Two nights... over £350 without breakfast. Good location and it was the fringe and tattoo, but still that price irks!
Wanted to eat in restaurant but there a was a pre-booked large group in (non residents) so we couldn't get a table even at 6.20 (and the group wasn't there when we left at 7.30). Not happy. Paying guests should surely have priority
But spotlessly clean, comfy bed and excellent staff

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Easy to find with a great view of Edinburgh Castle through the restaurant/bar windows. Quick to walk into the old town centre and as normal very comfortable room. Worth going back again. The only downside is that the lunch/evening menu is not that extensive but what we had was nicely presented and tasted good. Breakfast was fantastic though, plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room anywhere at a Premier Inn and I must have stayed in over 50 of them across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Brown65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stay in premier inns when we stay over anywhere and as usual the hotel was as lovely and so was the service. Room was very clean, very spacious and well kept. Every member of staff we encountered was lovely and if we were to visit Edinburgh in the future we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillFindingNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and fiancé have stayed in many a Premier Inn. Some good, some average. This (along with the new one in Belfast) was the best we've stayed in!
Although we were given a disabled room (maybe accidentally?) the welcome we received was lovely. Clean and comfortable room, and pleasant breakfast. I think what made this Premier Inn the best was the location, but more importantly, the staff. At breakfast, the staff were so attentive! They genuinely seemed to care how you slept and if you were enjoying yourself- sadly that's rare to find these days!
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charjla72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great staff, great food and clean comfy rooms, what more do you want? In the prime location of edinburgh this hotel is family friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we were made very welcome

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ednacreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing