We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting Edinburgh to see the Military Tattoo. Princes Street was a mass of people as at this time as it is also the Edinburgh Fringe and the city is very busy. The entrance to the Hotel is through a double glass door off Princes Street and then a lift to the next floor where you will find the Reception, the bar and restaurant. Suddenly the hectic street is far behind and the staff welcome you to the Hotel and take you through the booking procedure. This is a self check in but the receptionist guides you through it.

During our stay, the room was comfortable, with air conditioning and had all the usual facilities. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and found the food good quality but perhaps a little limited in choice. At the end of each evening the bar was comfortable and enough people used it to keep it friendly without feeling overcrowded.

Breakfasts are amazing and are both delicious and have plenty of choice for every taste.

The hotel is in such a central position the Castle, the Royal Mile, shops and restaurants are all within easy walking distance.

The staff should have a special mention. All of them without exception were friendly, efficient and always took time to speak and make sure you were enjoying your stay. In particular, the receptionist helped to print out aircraft boarding cards for the flight home. The service was better than in some 4 and 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

The only issue that I can find to comment on is that the price is really high. Forget the advert about £29 room deals. This said, it is all about the time of year and they are no different to any of the Hotels in the area while the Tattoo and Fringe are in progress.

Thank you for a great stay and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,600
    754
    146
    32
    20
See reviews for
784
1,047
76
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyman, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here during The Fringe, fine mid-priced hotel. Very clean, rooms were a bit austere, no draws only open shelves, but otherwise very nice. Breakfast buffet is great and if you include it with your room you will save. The bar leaves a lot to be desired (for Scotland), we drank their only bottle of single malt and had to finish off with Irish whisky!! There were many pubs within walking distance however. Wifi is free for 30 minutes per 24 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the building look out over the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night on our honeymoon, and despite spending little time at the hotel, it was a very pleasant experience. We'd had our credit card stolen earlier in our trip (great way to start a honeymoon!) so was expecting a replacement when we arrived. The staff had graciously agreed to accept the package for me, and through no fault of theirs, it was not there. I was a bit of a mess, and the manager, whose name unfortunately escapes me (John?) was so incredibly kind and supportive. His friendliness and humor really helped make us both feel better, not to mention like we were welcome friends. The hotel was clean, the room was nice, and the staff were all very friendly. We were leaving prior to breakfast service, but they set out some muffins and pastries for us so we had something to eat before we left. It might just have been them feeling sorry for me but it was very generous and a thoughtful gesture :) I would absolutely stay here again, and my experience at this location would make me want to check out others in this chain.

The room was great- this is not a luxury hotel but it's very clean, comfortable, and functional. The rooms facing Princes Street have views of the castle- as for rooms on higher floors for better views. I believe we were in 622- a corner room facing the castle. The location is great for exploring the city as well.

Room Tip: As for rooms facing Princes street on higher floors. I believe we had room 622, which is a corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

impressive views of the castle,this hotel is right in the centre (near everything), we had room 610 (partial view) very quiet room ,very clean , secure, loads of breakfast choices on offer, or you can order something from the menu , the staff are really helpful. car parking at reduced rates in castle terrace car park, should have been over £40 for the weekend -Premier inn rates £20 . we are already booked in for next years Tattoo weekend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The service and friendleness was first class from the moment we arived to the moment we left. The room was excellent couldnt find anything wrong with anything the time we were there.Would recomend this hotel to any one who would be visiting Edinburgh for a holiday or a short stay.






  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and could not complain about anything. The location is perfect to see all the attractions in the city. Right on all the bus routes (£1.30 per journey or £3.50 all day ticket),the tram stop is just up the road at the National Musuem .
The staff in the hotel are welcoming and attentive ,Graham in the restaurant impressed us with his professional approach and busy attitude.
The breakfast is very good with everything you could want ,there was a meal deal including two courses ,a glass of wine or beer and breakfast for £23 ,very good value . Just check the restaurant in advance as it is quite often booked out by tour parties.
We requested a castle view and were given that on arrival which was perfect with the fireworks display every night at the tattoo.The room was comfortable ,clean and quiet even though it was facing the road .The bed as promised was very comfortable.The A/C was very good and kept the temperature as you want it .
Coming from the airport we took the tram (£7.0 return ,slower than the bus but a good way to see the city on the way in)stop at the Princes St stop and the hotel is only two hundred yards down the street beside New Look clothes shop.
Hotel will offer advice on places to see,eat ,get a taxi etc .
There is a Tesco express a few doors down towards the west end, a few doors up ,turn right and walk up to Rose street for pubs ,cafes ,restaurants .To reach the castle walk to the National Museum and go up the side towards the castle mound or a taxi costs £6 .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the castle at a high floor, 3 or above have very good views of the gardens and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A fantastic hotel with clean, modern facilities. The staff are what makes everything perfect and the view from our room was second to none. The hotel had many people staying but we heard no noise from any other room while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Address: 121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name suggests, Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Central (Princes Street) is situated on one of the most famous streets in Scotland, if not the world. All the delights of Princes Street are literally on your doorstep, while all the heritage and landmarks of Edinburgh are just a few minutes away. Stroll along pedestrianised Princes St to enjoy top name brands on one side, and one top notch view of the park on the other. Walk the Royal Mile to visit Edinburgh Castle, a destination steeped in history. Step out in style if you're coming to enjoy Hogmanay or the Edinburgh Festival. Then turn your feet homeward and come back to great food at our restaurant and a lovely comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing