We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza for a pound!”
Review of The Kilderkin

The Kilderkin
Ranked #671 of 2,598 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: WE SERVE TWO DISTINCT MENUS; OUR DAYTIME MENU RUNS TILL 5pm AND OUR PIZZA MENU FROM 6pm Traditional Scottish bar with high-quality, home made food and a great selection of beer and spirits.
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great pub with good beer and speedy pizza for a pound on a Monday night.

There's nothing to dislike!

Thank kentishdorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a few days in Edinburgh last week and discovered Kilderkin, a bar on Canongate just before the Royal mile. Firstly we headed up the Royal mile to eat at a bar that I had researched only to find they stopped serving food at 8pm. Disappointed we wandered back down and got to Kilderkin. It was actually only a few doors away from our apartment. So we saw a notice "£1.00 a pizza special" Flabbergasted we went for it and ordered a 12 inch Margarita pizza adding Rabbit and pepperoni! Wow it was really really good. sated, we stayed a while and the atmosphere was truly lovely. We decided this would be our "local" for the rest of our stay and it was. Pub quiz Tuesday, bizarre banjo jam on Wed and then sad afternoon farewell to Edinburgh lunchtime drinks Thursday. great place great staff (thanks to Hillary who only just started), and the whirlwind that seemed to be the manager. Great people great pub and great food... What more can I say.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Whether you are in need of a meal or just a drink, The Kilderkin is a great place. We had lunch and a couple of beers and were very satisfied with it all. The burgers, - one beef and one chicken, were juicy and tasted wonderful. Highly recommended! The lunch menu is however quite varied, and it was a tough choice. We may go back another day to try some of the other dishes. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The place is spacious, and you may be able to choose between a table with a view of the street or a cosy little nook. Enjoyed it very much!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Knutarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your visit to our little pub Knutarn.

Thanks for the kind words.

Cheers

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We called in here one afternoon, attracted by the Trip Advisor advert outside. This is a welcoming place at the quiet end of the Royal Mile. It serves great beer. We had a veg burger which came with some salad and good chips. The evening deal offering cheap pizza looked great value and we would like to return to try this out! This is much nicer than the more commercial places higher up the mile and well worth the walk.

Thank vicky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for the recommendation Vicky42,

Hope to see you next time you're in town.

Cheers

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Local pub - good ambiance - but as long as you happy to eat pizza - cos thats all they have on the menu. Pizzas good size and very nice - thin and crispy crust - heaps of choice and reasonable price. Enjoyed our time there

Thank mytimenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Owner at The Kilderkin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Mytimenow,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Pop down for lunch next time you're in town, as our daytime menu is every bit as good as our evening one (but without the pizzas).

Cheers

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kilderkin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Kilderkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing