We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh Marathon Weekend 2014”

Mamma Roma Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Roma Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #135 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Marathon Weekend 2014”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I visited on the Sunday evening, I went up the main steps however this part of the restaurant was full and was very helpfully shown to the other part of the restaurant which is next door, thankfully this was quieter. A lovely menu and genuine Italian friendly service. I went for the works, I had a pasta dish which was very generously portioned followed by a wonderful dessert, you certainly will be spoilt for choice!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    142
    60
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch menu”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed a good value, freshly cooked lunch with plenty of vegetarian choices. Good service too.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“gluten free”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It was so nice for me and my husband to go out to an Italian as he needs gluten free pasta
We had super service and great food and we loved the relaxed atmosphere.
The Italian cider was outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy22help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have visited this restaurant several times over the last decade, and we have never been disappointed. Our most recent visit in May 2014 was special because we were celebrating a 60th birthday. I phoned the week before to reserve a table and told the member of staff that the reservation was a surprise for the person celebrating their 60th, and I asked if some balloons could be put on the table, and could they provide a birthday cake. When we arrived we were shown to a table by the window where there were several balloons and banners put up. The person celebrating their 60th was really surprised. The service was excellent and the food was excellent. After the main meal had settled the staff brought over a lovely birthday cake with some candles on, and played a 'happy birthday' song that we all sang along to. When it came to paying the bill we were advised that the cake was ' on the house'. This was such a lovely touch and greatly appreciated. We have frequently visited this restaurant because of the great food, attentive service, and the genuine feel that we are welcome and our custom is valued. The ambience and decoration is great. We will be visiting again when we next visit Edinburgh

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pdsfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Italian food worth every penny!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to call and book a table for Saturday evening and thank god we did because people were being turned away every 5 minutes as the place was full.. But there was a show on.

Bruschetta starter was lovely and a very good portion size in comparison to other Italians. Steak was pricey but well worth it, perfectly cooked huge piece of fillet with a mouth watering sauce - everything that went with it was just full of flavor too. Never thought I would be a lover of green beans so passionately ! Partners lasagne was top notch also

Servers were incredibly sweet and the food came extremely quickly. They even brought us water refills without having to ask which was a nice added touch.

Atmosphere .. Well there was very little but that wasn't really needed. Our table was a tad small with our knees touching.

Overall very very good grub would be happy to go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Roma Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mamma Roma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing