We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy - but popcorn prices will make you cough!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dominion Cinema

Dominion Cinema
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfy - but popcorn prices will make you cough!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

An architectural gem in a really nice location. Don't be fooled be the Art Deco shell though; the cinemas are fully modern - furnished with plush sofas and footrests. It's a real treat to go and cuddle together in front of the big screen!

But, och! the drinks, popcorn and snacks are EXTORTIONATELY expensive! Be prepared to HURT.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    52
    5
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This place is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I love going to seek films but I love it even more now I know about Dominion. I go here as a treat if I have guests because it is so special. All staff are extremely friendly and quite often you get a complimentary mini tube of Pringles at the door. Of course, the fully licensed bar is a huge bonus! If you want to curl up on a sofa with your other half or stretch out in arm chairs and foot rests while enjoying a film then this is the place for you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VickiMay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cinema like it used to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Big comfy seats and settee`s. most evening screenings don`t seem to have the noisy numbers that seem to be at the other cinema screens around the city. The old world atmosphere takes cinema back to the old days, well worth a visit, once you been here you won`t want to go back to the "Big Group" cinemas

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank raem654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Luxury Cinema Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boyfriend and I were here to see Rio 2 as we had a deal voucher. I can honestly say I don't think I have ever been to a cinema like his before and all the bigger chain cinemas should definitely take a leaf out of this cinema's book! On entering, the place exudes old hollywood glamour and the staff are very well presented in butler style uniforms. There is a champagne bar also! On going into the actual cinema, it was all big comfy leather sofas and chairs complete with footrests and small tables at the side in which to rest your champagne and other goodies! I think this is one of the few times we have left a cinema and not had 'numb bums'! Very comfortable! The only thing is that it was full of kids (as it was Easter holidays). This is not any fault of the cinema but I think the next time we visit we will probably go for a more late night film. Keep up the good work guys!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but great family-run cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice cinema, if a little too "Morningside" occasionally. The posh seats are well worth the extra dosh, and the crowd actually enjoy watching a film in a relatively quiet way.

Very civilised compared to the zoo that is the Omni Centre, however. No chance of some of the shenanigans you get down Greenside Place. We actually got a full refund from one visit to Vue, due to the brouhaha caused by one extended family group.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaveyDavey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dominion Cinema also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dominion Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing