We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Guesthouse, Disappointing Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Airlie Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Airlie Guest House
Ranked #399 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Guesthouse, Disappointing Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for three nights during this year's Fringe Festival. The guesthouse was very good value, and well located, so ideal for our visit. Private parking at the back was an added bonus, as well.

The room was really nice, as were all of the staff, but the only disappointing aspect of our stay was the breakfast. As a vegetarian, I'd always hope for a vegetarian alternative to sausage and bacon these days, which there wasn't, but in addition to this, the mushrooms were tinned, there were no baked beans, the sauces must have been a low value variety, as they didn't taste great, and the potato scones were very plain. As I said, all served by lovely, welcoming people, but just a shame about the quality.

I'd recommend staying, as long as breakfast isn't too much of a priority.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Peter is running a great guest house in Edinburgh. Only about 1 mile away from the main center. Upon entering you will notice Peter's broad smile and friendly personality. The entry way has nicely painted walls and a staircase. The room we stayed in was painted baby blue with slightly darker blue bed sheets and comforter.
All in all, extremely clean and nice and for the price of 28 pounds per person. which includes breakfast.
Thank you Peter, for running such a great place at affordable cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were not told that the double ensuite room would be in the basement. Decent size room and bath but the basement has a damp musty feel. We asked for a room on the main or upper floors but were told there were none for our 2 night stay. The owner was nice enough to offer a couple of other B&B's for suggestions which we took.

Room Tip: When booking a room be sure to ask where the room is located and is the photo on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonTom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snaith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had a lovely 2 night stay here recently. Lovely little guest house in a prime location. Great welcome from the owner who showed me to my room which is brilliantly set out with everything you should need. The place is a little dated but has plenty of character and that actually adds to the house. Great value also and with free wifi available. I did not sample the breakfast but the dining room is well laid out and spacious. Defo will be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable and, as it was at the back of the house, very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful, piping hot, and delivered with a smile. I wasn't a fan of the shared toilet and shower room, although they were clean and functional, but we booked knowing we had shared facilities with one other room, and to be fair, they have done the best they could with the space they have, so didn't want to mark them down because of it. We would stay here again but would book an ensuite room. There are numerous buses right outside the door, but it was only a half hour walk from Princes Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was going to events at the Fringe Festival. I wanted a nice, clean and comfortable place to base myself - this was it. The greeting initially and each and every day was pleasant and helpful. The food was well prepared, filling and substantial enough. The room was clean, comfortable and tidy. I got everything that I needed and paid a reasonable price for it. It's close enough to the city centre but not too close for the noise! I'd use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoops50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for a long period - we had a warm welcome and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean and the same can be said about the shared toilet/shower. It is in a good location and next to bus stops.

However in the time we stayed our sheets weren't changed (and they really should have been considering how long we spent there) even once despite us asking the housekeeping staff. We also asked for our room to be vacuumed once which they did do, and they regularly changed the bins and towels which was good. We also had no WIFI connection in our room, they state they have WIFI 'hotspot' and you can only get WIFI in some areas of the house like in the reception and dining area, so I guess it was just unlucky to get the room we did, but even in these 'hotspot' areas our coverage dropped out and had very low reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Guest House

Property: Airlie Guest House
Address: 29 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airlie is a 3 Star B&B located on an excellent bus route in the Newington area of Edinburgh only 1 mile from Princes Street. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at competitive rates. Most of our rooms are en-suite and a full cooked breakfast is included in the price. All rooms have T.V. with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, wash basin, adjustable central heating and secondary glazing. We also have a Wi-Fi hotspot and a large private car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Airlie Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing