We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Hotel In Location”
Review of Rick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rick's
Ranked #125 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Fife
Level Contributor
219 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good Quality Hotel In Location”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We took advantage of an Itison promotion and weren't disappointed. We arrived slightly earlier than the designated check in time and were delighted to find out that our room was ready.
Check in was warm and friendly and the room was comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. The room decor was good but the furniture was tired and in need of refurbishment. The shower in the bathroom was one of the most powerful we have experienced in our wide travels and you just wanted to stand under it forever.
Dinner was excellent with the food plentiful and well presented.Although the restaurant was very busy the quality of service was first class and the food was served with a smile.
The hotel provides excellent value for money and we would certainly recommend it to potential guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

I'm glad you had such a great time with us when you stayed, and experienced Rick's famous showers!

We will be having a full refurbishment of the whole building later on in the year which will be very exciting.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    148
    85
    28
    21
See reviews for
24
235
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moffat Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I have just had a weekend away in Edinburgh. 14/15th Feb.
We checked out of our hotel at 12 and our train didn't depart till 16hrs.
Knowing this I had booked a Groupon deal for Ricks. Steak and a glass of wine. It wasn't at all expensive so our expectation weren't set overly high.
Goodness me were we surprised or what. It turned out to be a truly wonderful lunch served by a superb member of staff who catered to our every need. I explained I had a voucher and without hesitation she explained exactly how it worked. We ordered drinks and were then presented with the menus. Having had breakfast at the hotel we didn't bother with starters and ordered our steaks and wine. One sirloin steak one rump served with peppercorn sauce hand cut fries and salad.
Well were we surprised when they came. The portions were excellent, the steaks cooked just as we ordered. We had a red Spanish Wine which was really good and large in size. As our mains were so good we then decided to order a dessert and cheese and biscuits. Both of these were fantastic.
The establishment itself has been very well designed open and spacious with an viewing kitchen where you can see the chefs hard at work. When in Edinburgh again we would have no hesitation in booking Ricks for a meal.
It was a perfect end to a wonderful weekend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leoonemoffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It is fantastic to hear you had such a great time when you stayed with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a very well run and managed bar restaurant with rooms. Staff all very attentive, well trained, competent and friendly.
Three floors and no lift is one point worthy of mention, but the rooms were well appointed, if on the small side. Hair drier and hair straighteners all supplied, well stocked mini bar, and tea tray.
Being at the top of the building, the extra fan heaters were a pointer to the winter temperature on the top floor, and the room did get cold at night.
Breakfast in the restaurant was a very enjoyable experience served by a very attentive member of staff, selection was excellent, a little slow to arrive, but with a great coffee or two, and the morning papers all to hand, it is a great place to relax over a meal, so all was good with the world!
Transferring to a sister hotel the management readily offered to send our luggage over for us, and all in all, I would commend this boutique hotel as a good place to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor mid winter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We also wish sometimes there was a lift too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The North Pole
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I love this hotel, my 3rd girls trip there and I would recommend it for all girls looking for friendly attentive service, very well appointed rooms- hairdryer, ghd's, power shower, white company products, ipod and docking station, mirrors , robes etc !! And at the end of a busy day, shopping, coffee, champagne , lunch , dinner etc ..... the most comfortable beds ever , brill !!

Helpful?
Thank MrsChristmas68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Great to hear that you, and all your friends had a brilliant time with us.

Looking forward to having you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Met with my wife for an overnight, she'd come down from Aberdeen and I had come up from Lincoln. Reception was very helpful, suggested best parking and room was ready before the check in time. Room was small and lighting barely adequate. Bed comfortable and warm. Although clean and tidy housekeeping didn't appear to have checked the the room was sorted: tea and coffee making OK but no milk, fully stocked mini-bar but no bottle opener and no waste bin. Silly stuff but inconvenient. There was no view, didn't really expect one in a city centre hotel but the curtains were coming adrift, not a good look. The TV worked but the channel selection was limited and a number didn't work. Unable to get the clock radio to find Radio 2 for Lovesongs on Sunday morning. Wifi was good so listened on my iPhone. Never found an iPod dock mentioned by another reviewer. There was a DVD player and I assume that films would be available but with the lighting and the cramped room didn't get to read the info. This sounds too negative, we loved the bed and other facilities were fine. We had booked for dinner and the restaurant was buzzing. The music was just OK for us but was on the edge of too loud, we are so loved-up we sat close so it didn't matter. The food service was very quick. Starter of salt & pepper squid was great, good portion, crisp and tasty. The pork belly arrived very quickly, too quickly as the first attempt failed to heat it adequately and we had to send it back, we were compensated with a glass of Prosecco and the staff were most apologetic. Despite the really lively and rather noisy surroundings we felt looked after and the food was excellent loved the pork belly and the red cabbage was excellent. Pushing the boat out we had dessert as well, sticky toffee pudding very good, the pecan cheesecake good but flavour just a little too subtle. The white Rioja was just right and we finished with cocktails at the bar, great flavours, good fun and reasonably priced. We had the full Scottish the next morning service seemed rather slow and again the food could have been hotter didn't seem too busy and don't know what was wrong. The breakfast was fine love the haggis and our poached eggs were right even if some of the other items were a little cool. We had been offered a late checkout which was really appreciated and although we didn't use it in the end it was a nice touch as we had to go our separate ways on Sunday and every moment together is precious. The reception staff at check out dealt with a glitch most speedily and politely, loved their attitude. I think we will be back it was a last minute booking but we love Edinburgh and Rick's was fun and we have some great memories.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank salvinkeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sure the next time you stay with us all the little niggles will have been smoothed out.

Again thank you for taking time to write the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Lovely room and staff. helpful with information. Rooms were immaculate and the inclusion of the Ipod for music was a lovely surprise. Up in the morning and had a great breakfast of Eggs Benedict and fill Scottish breakfast. Def be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. Its great to hear such lovely feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was a repeat visit to the very trendy Ricks restaurant/bar.
We took advantage if the Dine Out For £10 offer & we weren't disappointed.
Food was melt in the mouth & absolutely delicious. Small portions, but packed with flavour & quality. Couldn't ask for better @ the price of £10 for a starter & main course!
There's a huge high quality cocktail & drinks menu @ the usual high prices. £7.95 for a cocktail - ouch!
Staff are young, slick & professional. Along with the resident DJ (not too loud), it makes Ricks the place to be & be seen.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal/drinks & will be back!
(Unfortunately not wheelchair accessible, with uneven steps to walk down into the establishment.)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable dinning experience with us. We really do think our dine out for £10 offer is the best in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 148 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#77 of 148 in Edinburgh
792 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#17 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#19 of 148 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick's

Property: Rick's
Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing