We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big ask but.....sort Edinburgh Council noisy bin men”
Review of Rick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rick's
Ranked #125 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big ask but.....sort Edinburgh Council noisy bin men”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great feel to the bar Food good Rooms fab and great value but the bin men in the lane to the rear are louder than the One O ' Clock Gun .....at 7 am collecting empties ! Overall though keep coming back

Room Tip: Top floor Ear plugs for a long lie
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    148
    85
    28
    21
See reviews for
24
235
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here last week with my boyfriend and our 8 yr old son. The hotel is beautiful, from the bar to the bedrooms. The bed is extremely big and comfy and the room has everything, mini bar, I pod, DVD player, high power hairdryer and GHDs. We didn't eat in the hotel, but did have a few drinks, which were lovely and in a nice atmosphere.

Its in a great location, near the shops, attractions and Rose Street.

But .... with it being in such a central location there is a lot of noise, not people noise but bottle bin noise. You hear the bottles being put in to the bins by the pubs and clubs THEN a few hours later you hear the bin lorry reversing then then bottles being emptied in to the back of the lorry. Very noisy but I'd still go back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmacd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

As we are situated in such a central location there can be some noise coming from the street.

Thank you again for your positive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The jewel in the crown is the staff who are all superb. The rooms are modern and clean and the beds and linen are also superb.Toiletries and bathrobes and everything you could wish for in the mini bar. Our only complaint was the music in the dining room which was head splittingly loud and not music for dining to. It really spoiled our dinner which was very good. Breakfast was also first class. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a central hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 & 2 which backed on to lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review.

We do have different sections in the restaurant, we have areas that are lively and quiet. I am very sorry but you must have been seated in an area which is more lively.

If staying next time please advise this and we will make sure you are seated in a quieter area of the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here Saturday 5th April for my daughters 21st.Arrived too early but the very pleasent receptionist took my case and I had lunch.Room ready for 2.30 and my case had been taken to my room, was in room 5 very modern and clean .The bed was huge and so comfy had a great sleep.
Had drinks at the bar before our table for eight was ready, the bar men were very efficient and friendly.The meal was lovely all had steaks and everyone enjoyed their meals once again service was excellent.
Were offered complimentary v.i.p tickets for lou lou or the opel lounge so we could carry on celebrations.
Breafast lovely and more great service...Thankyou to all at Ricks for a very enjoyable stay ...will return soon
We were told we would get v.i.p tickets for clubbing in lou lou or the opel lounge complimentary...excellent
Breakfast is served from 7.30 till 12 and once again friendly excellent service,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Great to hear that you had such a great experience when you stayed with us.

Yes one of the perks of staying with us the complementary VIP access to both our nightclubs, Lulu and opal lounge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent service from when we checked in until we checked out. It was the second time we'd stayed here and it was faultless again. Room was beautiful, bed extremely comfortable. Impressed with the quality of the furnishings. Dinner was beautiful ( the potato and leek soup was so thick you could stand on it - extremely tasty), all servings on hot plates and service was exemplary. All in all, a great stay and one we'd most definitely do again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Wow thank you so much for your amazing review, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

On arrival the staff were very helpful and we were really impressed with the room. The meal was lovely but we were disappointed to be told that the sea bream had been replaced with a much cheaper fish. I ordered it anyway but it was bland. Everyone else enjoyed their meal. The waitress was friendly and service was great. The overnight stay was extremely noisy. We were in room 1 and the bottle bank for local business is not far away so the noise of bottles breaking woke us up. Vehicles were also reversing in the street then the workmen started and parked their vehicle outside the bedroom window. To be fair they probably started about 8 or 8.30 but after been woken through the night with people in the corridor and voices outside, it felt a lot earlier.... Breakfast was very good and service again excellent. Overall the stay was fine. We got the room on a deal. I'd have been very upset if I had paid full price. It would have been perfect but for the change of menu and the very noisy room.....

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1,2 or 3 as they are on street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneCooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Since we are a city centre hotel there can be street noise from other businesses and traffic noise.

I am very sorry we didn't have sea bream available when you stayed with us. We buy our fish in fresh daily, which can lead to menu changes due to availability.

Again thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My Husband and I recently took advantage of a deal through itison for dinner,bed and breakfast at Ricks.This deal was superb value at £99 for the two of us and also included a bottle of Prosecco either to enjoy in the room or take it down to dinner.We chose to take it down to dinner and noticed on the menu that by ordering this Prosecco would cost £29.95 a bottle! We perhaps were a bit sceptical about what we would receive both in food and service because we were" on a deal" but we shouldnt have been concerned.From arriving to check in at Reception to when we left the service was excellent and every member of staff was extremely polite and helpful.The room itself was trendy and spotless and the little extras like the ipod and ghd straighteners which we discovered there pleasantly surprised us.The food was of superb standard and the location,just off Princes Street, was fantastic.I honestly cant fault Ricks in any way and will absolutely return.I highly recommend Ricks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan220166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. Hopefully we will see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 148 in Edinburgh
668 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 148 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#17 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#20 of 148 in Edinburgh
790 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick's

Property: Rick's
Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing