We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awful!”
Review of Rick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rick's
Ranked #125 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Rostrevor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awful!”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Having recieved numerous advertisements from Ricks on my e-mail,I insisted that we try there for lunch when I met up with my Scottish buddy in Edinburgh after 20 years. We wondered why no-one was sitting outside as all the other restaurants on the way were jammed packed...we sat down-20 mins later and after lots of eyes at the waitress-no service,so I went down and helped myself to 2 menus. When no-one came to take our order we gave up and moved downstairs into the restaurant and took a seat only to be asked by a waiter,with back up waitress in tow, to move as that table was booked-even though the restaurant was empty!!!!Funny how there were 2 free staff all of a sudden. I have never seen staff trying so hard to look busy doing nothing in my whole life!!!Enough of that-we moved on and I'll NEVER be back. Shame there is no negative marking!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyRostrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    148
    85
    28
    21
See reviews for
24
235
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We arrived at Rick's at about 11pm and were met by friendly staff who checked us in and offered to carry our bags to our room. Couldn't fault the room, although the shower could do with a little attention (Room 3) if it was turned on at full power, the whole room was showered !! Breakfast was excellent, just what was needed before a full day's sightseeing. The only fault was that the bins (that were right outside our room) were emptied very early - every morning !! This is an excellent hotel for location - right in the new city centre, but it is not an hotel for the disabled - steps down to the entrance and steps up to the rooms.
We would definitely stay there again (maybe on a higher floor) as it was good value for a city hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgin, scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

we were glad we spent our first weekend away without kids with good company because this hotel did not live up to our expectations! We assumed because of the B&B tariff that it would be out of this world - how dissapointed were we?! The entrance & reception appear to be stuck on to the end of the bar however the staff were excellent, we were lead up what appeared to be back stairs which were far from inviting, the rooms whilst nice didn't impress us! there was a lack of toiletries, the mattress was lumpy & not enough pillows! The breakfast was lovely & a nice treat which was much needed after being woken up at 6am by a recycling lorry! Won't be rushing back to Ricks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpsons62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Overall, the stay was pleasant and the staff let me check in early at 11:00 am. I found the bar and restaurant staff friendly. The rooms were clean and trendy yet a bit "tired" from over ten years of hotel guests. I understood that the hotel will go through some renovations in the next month before the Edinburgh festival. The bar serves up some very creative cocktails and the wine list is excellent. The restaurant food also looked creative and healthy. The rooms overlook an alley and the bottle pick up at 6 am will wake up just about anybody. The location is right in the center and close to shopping on George St. If I were to choose again, I would prefer the TigerLily hotel although the price can be sometimes twice what you pay at Rick's.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Rick's is a friendly, bustling small hotel in a great City Centre location, however it's four star rating is misleading. I'm sure it lived up to the hype when it first opened, but not now.

Our bedroom certainly wasn't 'super chic': light in bathroom not working; chipped floor tiles; dirty marks on carpets; dirty footprints on hall tiles; holes in angora blankets; paint splashed on walls; no remote for tv and a bumpy matress.

On a positive note, the food was lovely and the service friendly. I would recommend going here for a cockail or some brunch, but not to stay.

  • Liked — Location; cosy atmosphere in bar/restaurant; cocktails.
  • Disliked — Bedroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolibagsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Have been eating and drinking (from breakfast to late nights) in Ricks for years on our annual trips to the Fringe, but this was first out-of-season stay.
Service, from welcome throughout, was superb - friendly, v v helpful and cheerful.
Food excellent as ever. From late arrival dinner on Friday night to Sunday bellini breakfast.
Room was excellent. Cool, as one would expect, and very stylish. All-round quality!

  • Liked — Food and room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorYaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland and West Mids
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

New Year's Eve is a special occasion to us and in what better way to celebrate the start off a New Year than spending it at the home of Hogmanay, Edinburgh. Its a must on the "things to do list" before the age of 50.

On a FLYBE flight , we stumbled across the offerings at the Boutique Hotel of Rick's for New Years Eve 08-09. Upon visiting the website we booked for two nights. This cost us £650 - we thought we would splash out considering it was such a special time of the year!

Arriving in Edinburgh, it took several phone calls to the hotel to get directions to find Rick's as its a hotel that does not stand out. Once found, it looked disappointing, something like finding a rare bottle of wine but only to discover that its empty!

Once inside we were completely taken aback as this is the worst enterance for a hotel that we have ever stayed in. To enter Rick's, one has to check in at the Restaurant. Imagine checking-in to a hotel whilst plates of venison and phesant terrine narrowly missing your head! Some one must have forgotten to tell the owners that first impressions count!!!

The room was cosy to to say the least but the bathroom was tiny with a faulty mirror light that looked more in place as a strobe light in a nightclub. Maintenance is a word not found at Ricks.

We sampled the restaurant and the staff were ok (note there is no difference between hotel staff and resaurant staff) but could not cope with the pressure of serving more than 20 people. Our drinks took 30mins to arrive at our table and the food is something to pass if the opportunity is there.

On a positive note, the cocktail "Lychee and Steel" - blend of vodka with vanilla flavoured sugar syrup, mixed with lychee juice is a must for a cocktail connoisseur!

To some up New Years at Rick's, other than my Mrs was there to make the occassion fantastic, the hotel and restaurant is a very costly way to discover that there is more of a BOO than a Tick ;-) at Ricks. Definately a first and last......

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash_and_jai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#101 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick's

Property: Rick's
Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing