We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great staff. A little gem in the city center and great value for money!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rick's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rick's
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh
1 review
“Great Location, Great staff. A little gem in the city center and great value for money!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed at Rick's for a weekend to visit family in Edinburgh. When we arrived we were told that our room was ready and we could go straight on up but we prefered to visit the city for a bit and so the staff were very helpful in recommending tourist sites and giving directions. They also took our luggage for us so we did not have to worry about that.
The room was lovely, very clean with extremely comfortable beds. We decided to book dinner in the restaurant for that evening too as we'd looked over the menu previously.
The bar was great, the staff really helped in finding me a cocktail I'd like, and were extremely knowledgable in what they were selling.
The food was also delicious and service was prompt. Everyone was very polite.
We couldn't be happier with our stay and would recommend the accommodation to friends. The bar is a great area to meet for casual drinks and soak up the atmosphere. We were interested in hosting a birthday party there in the future and we were told that there was also an area which could be seperated from the main restaurant which is ideal for larger groups.

All in all, we were very impressed and we are looking forward to our next visit. A little gem in the city center and great value for money!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac_sutherland04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    147
    85
    28
    21
See reviews for
24
234
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed at Ricks, smack in a swanky part of Edinburgh just off George Street, great for shops, bars, restaurants and 2 mins walk from the classic Edinburgh city scape views towards the castle. The place is best described as smart, healthily busy, friendly, an attraction to many throughout the day and the evening, decent menu, good bar, nice rooms and comfy bed, excellent customer service which is a real plus to the stay.
Would I stay there again? no hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at Ricks during the festival. The staff were very friendly when we checked in. I note some comments about the entrance beng a restaurant/bar - so what ! - if you want a grand reception area then go to the larger and more expensive hotels in the city centre like Sheraton or Balmoral.

The rooms are compact but very clean and have all the nice touches you would expect. We were able to relax with a drink in the bar and then have an excellent meal. The serving staff take an interest and know the menu. We were there on a Saturday evening, the restaurant was busy but the service was efficient (not that we were in any hurry).

It was a joy to walk out on a summer evening, go to a show then walk back without having to wait for taxis.

In the morning we had along lie in and a very relaxed long breakfast (all freshly cooked) - no buffet left overs. We werent at all disturbed by the bin lorry in the morning (slept through it )- rubbish has to be collected after all. I note that some reviewers seem to be very uptight about this small issue.

The rate charged during the festival was reasonable - we shopped around and even the budget chain hotels in the central area were asking up to £200 pn (with no breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Just spent 2 nights in Ricks and really enjoyed our staff. Staff were very friendly. Room was lovely. Strange to walk through a bar to go to the rooms though. Breakfast was great too and served until 12. Slightly noisy early in the morning as near to a recyling bottle bin!! nevertheless a very enjoyable stay with great access to shops, George and Princess Street.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Recommended by a friend who stays in Edinburgh, this hotel is an real gem. From the initial friendly welcome to the taxi booked on departure,we couldnt fault the place.

Rooms of a medium size, well equipped, really comfy beds, great pillows!! Thanks to Fraser for managing to squeeze us a table on a busy night, what amazing food.

Disnt have time for breakfast, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selkirk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stayed at Rick’s Boutique Hotel for a 2 night stay on Friday 27th and Saturday 28th November 2009. I was unimpressed. I feel I should give you a little back story here – I was a fan of Rick’s for a number of years and several times a year I would book a 2 night stay either for shopping trips, Going to the rugby etc. There were always a couple of little niggling issues to do with the service that I thought could live with being tightened up but nothing major – especially since I liked the place and the staff. Fast forward to last November and a very nasty experience where they had double booked our room (they have done this before – but that’s another story) and before advising us and apologising they had tendered out pout booking to another hotel not in the same group, that I would never have chosen myself and was too far out of the City Centre than was suitable for the purpose of my visit. When I advised I was unhappy with this especially since I had been a loyal repeat customer to Rick’s and recommended them to others. After a complaint was made to the manager he was extremely apologetic, was aware we were regular guests and offered a 2 night complimentary stay, which we accepted in the good nature it was given and redeemed last weekend. Sadly….I will not be back.
• We arrived and the booking was incorrect
• It took 20 minutes to simply check in
• At breakfast the staff are more inclined to be chatting to each other than taking orders
• Orders are placed at breakfast and never materialise – when checked into – the order was never put through
• A lot of the nice touches that made it seem special in the rooms are missing now
As a bar and restaurant I cannot fault the place:
• The décor is classy
• The food is good
• The cocktail list is extensive
• The bar staff are knowledgeable and friendly
The problems with this place as a hotel are a real shame as I do not think its incompetence or disinterest or even bad management, for me it is a question of not having a real grip on the hotel side of the business – simply the systems are not in place. The one thing the hotel does present is a really competetative room rate. Sadly, for me Rick’s has run out of chances.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Having stayed at Tigerlilly, the supposed 'sister' of Ricks I felt comfortable booking Ricks for a 2 night stay, a surprise for my other half who had put up with me moaning for months when I was made redundant in March. I booked Ricks on the back of staying at Tigerlilly and didn't think twice....WHAT A MISTAKE I MADE!

Arriving at the hotel, the receptionist instantly started to look for my table reservation and I had to advise that I had in fact booked accommodation. We were escorted to our room which was a 'Deluxe Double' at a discounted rate of £95.00. Whilst on first impression the room was nice, I didn't expect to find that they had simply pushed two single beds together, yeah, even the single matresses so you had a nice piping effect down the middle of the bed.....not the 'piping' I'd expected in Edinburgh!

Nor did I expect:

Not to be able to turn the heating down in the room and be scorched all night;

Not to be able to get a fan in the room when requested and indeed promised this by staff

The outside bins to be emptied at all hours of the day, the resulting noise blasting through the ever so thin 'double glazing'

The fire alarm going off twice in one morning, without even a courteous phone call from the desk to say...we're testing the alarms or there's no need to leave your rooms...

And to cap it all, even when stating I was unhappy when checking out that the duty manager didn't even come to apologise but instead sat near the kitchen chatting to a builder....

Hopefully the builder was there to pull this place down, if so, I'd forgive the manager for not coming to speak with me - as pulling the place down has to be a priority!!

My advice and I use hotels a lot, don't book it for sleeping....book it for food, they made a nice breakfast, even if all of the items weren't present on the plate each morning!

4* boutique..... definately not, more like 2* hostel with relatively nice wallpaper and flatscreen TV's and definately the oh so poor relative of Tigerlilly!

I'm not just ranting on here, I intend on writing to Tigerlilly and whichever Tourism Board / Agency I can to let them know if the poor standards this place offers.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWP176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
653 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
774 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,517 reviews
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
432 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick's

Property: Rick's
Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing