We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, perfect hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Number 29

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number 29
Ranked #79 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The elegance of our room was nothing compared to the natural kindness of madam Corrinne. On a more prosaic note, we were also delighted on a daily basis by Simon's culinary talents! Close enough to the centre to walk pretty much anywhere, but nicely located in a peaceful corner of the West End with wonderful breakfast views of St Mary's Cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerDire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
124
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you're looking for a beautiful place to stay in Edinburgh, call Number 29 first. We have just returned from an utterly perfect 2 night stay there. It's a huge Georgian townhouse that has recently been converted into the bed and breakfast to end all bed and breakfasts! There are just three rooms, which are vast, luxurious and decorated with perfect taste. We were flabbergasted by the quality - the pictures on their website are lovely, but the reality is even better. Delicious breakfast, wonderful hosts and a lovely location. What amazed me was that we were staying during the festival and if we had been staying in one of the city's 5-star hotels (the only worthy comparison for Number 29) we would have been paying about 6 times as much per night and would not have had anywhere near as nice a time, or indeed as nice a room. We will recommend Number 29 to everyone we know, and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room Two, which was perfect for us as we were travelling with our 8 month old baby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dismal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We recently contacted Intercitylets in search of an apartment to rent for our visit to Edinburgh with our two teenage daughters. We were late in starting and most were already rented. But Jon at intercity suggested we try a brand new property, 29 Manor Place. What a pleasant surprise! This is by far the best B&B we have ever experienced! A lovely townhouse just steps from Charlotte Square Queen Street and the center of New Town. The rooms were far and away the best we have ever experienced and in my opinion, could easily fetch a much higher rent. Beautifully appointed in a clean contemporary style with great views of St. Mary's Cathedral. Out hosts, Simon and Corinne were extremely warm and friendly and eager to help us in any way they could from restaurant recommendations/reservations to attractions. The breakfast each morning was delicious, fresh, organic and plentiful. This is NOT to be missed and should definitely be placed first on the list. After 3 days we were reluctant to leave and would have stayed longer if rooms were available. it is worth visiting Edinburgh just to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms were extremely comfortable, we were lucky to be moved to the grand room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked Number 29 on a Scotland's Tour encouraged by Tripadvisor's reviews: we didn't go wrong and now we can do nothing but join the number of appreciations about this beautiful, peaceful, welcoming place, recently restored and full of light and air. I must say this is not "just" a b&b (there are hundreds round Scotland) and of course not a standard hotel: it is the house of someone caring for interiors design and who love to express themselves through the place where they live chosing every little detail and also talking to their guests (always very discretely). So it was a pleasure for us to meet Simon, Corinne and their daughter Milly

We stayed for three nights in the top floor room, having plenty of space for us - mum and dad - and a nice room (with its own window facing the beautiful cathedral on Manor street) for little girl. The bathroom is very efficient: a great shower and a nice, relaxing bath tub. I would have liked a few extra towels, as it was rather cold and the three we had never got dry in time, but in fact i didn't feel like asking. Also, i realised after two nights that there was no room cleaning which is probably a policy of B&Bs but still is something i would have appreciated and somehow expected in such a place.

Breakfast is just excellent:fresh fruits and youghurt, a delicious cooked "full scottish", nespresso coffee (if you like it) toasted bread served in the oval room downstairs, also very pleasant to be in.

The owners have been very very helpful recommending nice restaurants and even a very good walk we won't forget. Everything is at walking distance (20 minutes to the castle, but there are buses taking you there) and Number 29 is also quite away from the boast of a city that can get really busy with tourists and traffic.

So all i can say is: out of two weeks in Scotland this was the best place we stayed at, not a cheap one, but worth the experience. Congratulations, and keep i t as it is!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancescaRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed one night in room No 1 as a treat after a motorhome holiday. What a magnificent room. Suite really, with very large, bright, tastefully decorated living room area. Extremely luxurious. Large bath in bedroom, but spacious bathroom also. Simon & Corinne could not have been more helpful, with lots of good local tips. Great breakfast. All in all, thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianandLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My girlfriend found Number 29 in Grazia magazine and we thought it looked absolutely amazing. And when we turned up we where not disappointed at all. The couple who own the house were nothing but terrific to us. So welcoming and helpful and this was echoed by the jaw dropping town house that they had renovated into the best boutique b and b i have ever stayed in. We stayed in room 2 and even though we wanted room 1 room 2 was beautiful regardless. Our room overlooked St Mary's Cathedral and was the perfect setting, so perfect i decided to propose and even more perfect, she said yes. I asked the owners to help plan the event and they could not of been more helpful from helping me choose a location to propose, too picking a restaurant and too arranging the room for our return. Our stay could not of been better, i highly recommend anyone to stay here. When we return to Edinburgh this will be the only place we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davey_boy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I found this B&B whilst looking through a magazine and having a certain kind of boutique stay in mind the other b&bs didn't even come close.
It's a 10min walk to the centre yet far enough out so it's peacefull and quiet.
The house and and our room was amazing. Wonderfully restored, shuttered windows, gorgeous bed, bathroom and, well basically, quality all the way throughout.
The shower was a piece of heaven and decor was perfect.
Nothing was too much trouble. Simon and Corinne are both very friendly and welcoming.
We saw Simon more and he was wonderful with breakfast. Making expresso's, green tea, a lovely cooked breakfast each day on top of the great granola, toast, fresh strawberries and blueberries and orange juice we stuffed our faces with each morning!
We honestly wanted to pick up Number 29 and transport it to Manchester we loved it that much.
When we go back to Edinburgh next year we will only be staying in one place...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyjane80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
West End
The Edinburgh Residence
The Edinburgh Residence
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
West End
22 Chester Street
22 Chester Street
#68 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millers 64
#83 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
West End
The Atholl Hotel
The Atholl Hotel
#326 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 29

Property: Number 29
Address: 29 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly refurbished Georgian townhouse situated only a stones throw away from Princes Street. We set out to create a comfortable, home from home, to escape to - a stylish and understated space, where you can sit back and relax at the end of a busy day. The house retains many original features and we have added all the indulgence and modern comforts of the 21st century. Number29 has magnificent views of St Marys Cathedral and is somewhere fresh and interesting to stay, with reassuringly old fashioned hospitality whether you are in Edinburgh for business or for leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 29 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing