We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor at Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from a stag doo, staying at the hostel. Overall poor. Cleanliness in room terrible, dirty bathroom, no hot water. Refurbishment required. Bar ok, again cleanliness poor. Staff ok. Location excellent, stone throw from Waverley station & minutes from Grassmarkets, with many bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordos_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked the St Christophers Inn after staying at the Amsterdam one in April. It was a very different experience. Aside from the location this place doesn't have much going for it.
The biggest annoyance was the shower not working in the room which meant a trip to the 4th floor to shower.
The staff were not helpful in the slightest. Miserable is not a strong enough word. So much so we didn't bother to complain about the mouse in the mouse in the room that decided to introduce itself on the 2nd night.
Won't be staying here again. And has put me off the St Christophers Inn chain.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tims82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at this hostel on Thursday night 12-9-2013.The first impression I got as soon as I opened the door was"this place is badly in need of a bit of renovation.The two female staff member who worked the reception(if you could call it that)were very friendly chatty and very helpful and have a good understanding of any tourist who is new to Edinburgh.I went up stairs to the locker room,the chill room next to it was humid and muggy and had no window to let in some fresh air,its smelt bad too and was very small for the number of people who stay at the hostel at any one time.The toilets on the same floor looked clean,but the room itself stank on urine.The stairs was badly in need of painting it looked more like something used as a back exit stairs rather than a main stairs.There was a kitchen on one of the upstirs floors which was not used by the people staying in the hostel.There was a glass panel on the kitchen door so I looked in and saw a guy preparing food with no proper headgear dredlocks also handing down as he prepared the food.I don't know what exactly this kitchen was used for,I can only assume it was for the bar downstairs,I can tell you if you saw what I saw when I looked in to the kitchen you would not eat from it.The kitchen looked filthy dirt also.The room I stayed in was nice and clean I must say and I shared it with a very nice group of people both male and female,the were a few chairs and a table in the room which was unusual but it was great as we chatted for hours and had a few drinks before retiring for the night.The next morning I went down to the bar area for breakfast which was included in the price.I came into the breakfast room at 9.15 and was told breakfast was finished at 9am.....there were two male members of staff working in the breakfast room at the time.One was clearing the tables and stacking the dishes the other was behind the counter.The staff member behind the counter told me the breakfast was over and I would have to order from a another menu whhich I would have to pay for.His manner was quite choppy and arrogant to the point where I became annoyed,I explained that I was told breakfast was from 7-10 and not 9,he then verbally quetioned as what my reason for not coming down at 9 am,I then mentioned "putting a review on trip advisor" I also said I was not gonna stay another night at the hostel ,he soon changed his tune and his chin dropped,he then asked me if I would like coffee or tea and if I would like some bread.I got some coffee and musli with milk.The coffee was fine but the musli was tastless.I was on a four day trip of Edinburgh,This was thankfully the only part of the holiday that was bad.The attitude of that guy when you are on holidays,you don't need that.I checked out and spent the rest of holiday at The Hostel in HayMarket where things were so much better,there was also a kitchen there where one could make a cup of tea,whereas one could not at St Christopers Inn.

Room Tip: The room I stayed at was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

In my particular case I have chosen the St. Christopher for a very simple reason - to have a cheap four night stay at the hostel and to have my time for sightseeing and doing my job around the city. Generally speaking, you have everything in a 10-bed room for a 4-day stay - from passers by, students who are desperately seeking for accommodation through strangers like me. However, what I am saying is that despite the problems, like the difficult to operate showers, in case you are not looking for a push-button solution you may find your way to do things. The pros to stay at this hostel is that the bed linen is sustained clear, and in general the visitors are not putting their nose in your business. The cons are that this is not a five-star hotel. The last one is also a pro for the hostel as it simply means - If you need a five-star service then you should probably collect your staff and go to your desired location - let's say the other side of the street. Ultimately, Edinburgh is a place with so many things to see that neither the old building where the hostel is located or your strange roommates are the things you have to carry about. Again, in case you carry too much - just stay at 5-star hotel and mind your business. Thumbs up for the hostel, staff, location and everything! God bless!

Room Tip: If you are in a 10-bed room you'd rather use the public showers, because the showers are just wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LachezarF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is very seasy to rach, and its in the Edinburgh center near opposite train station and bus stop from airport. The Edinburgh people is care and the city very nice. There are a lot of free city tour, and the Castle visit is very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HernanPolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I chose this hostel because of its location - right across from the central train station and mere blocks from all the Edinburgh attractions.

I know a hostel is ultra-low budget and the location is great but I really expected better. We did get a family room with a private bathroom and it was adequate (barely) for our needs, but it shouldn't have cost $200/night.

We really had no problems with the old building, the slow elevators, and the overall shabbiness of the hostel, we expected some of that.

The erratic hot water heater in the shower was very annoying - we either got scalded or frozen.

Service is inconsistent, one desk clerk was extremely helpful, the other was indifferent. But again that's to be expected at a place which doesn't employ professional hotel staff.

Overall, I'd say the place had the feel of an American hotel run by Indians/Pakistanis, like a run-down Motel 6. I think the room should have cost no more than half what they charged us.

Knowing what I know now, I'd choose another place to stay in Edinburgh.

Note: the ratings I give for the various categories are based on my expectations of low budget lodging - minimal service & amenities but some basics should not be sacrificed for cost.

Room Tip: The family room on the 5th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I understand standards of budget hostels but what matters to me is the service and clealiness., comfortable rooms is aslo important.. The bar is the ground floor so noisy, elavator is too slow, old, and dirty! Not impressive at all. We were not allowed to check in even if the room is ready.. They will tell you lies that mo vacant rooms even if there is.,,

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlodeguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#28 of 218 in Edinburgh
177 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#21 of 218 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh

Address: 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £14 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location Opposite Edinburgh Dungeons and minutes away from Edinburgh Castle. We're across the street from the train station. Fun Atmosphere A great selection of food and drinks in the Belushi's bar, with fantastic party nights, and pub crawls to meet travellers, and locals. Known for Quality Our Edinburgh hostel has a wide selection of room types, a female only dorm, free walking tours and a free continental breakfast. 24 Hour Reception Open 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Hotel Edinburgh
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing