We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor basic facilities ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor basic facilities ”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We were 7 people group book this hotel for 3 days. From the very first day the room was facing power failure , we were struggling to charge our elect owning gadgets but plug sockets were not working. Later they provided a extension cable to tackle this problem .

The second problem we faces was for shower . The shower cubes was out of service in our floor (4th floor), and they ask us to take shower from 1st floor room ( it was really awful ).

Complimentary breakfast is not satisfactory.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ashokan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    166
    117
    49
    56
See reviews for
16
55
173
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a six bed dorm (room 403) for 3 nights with my girlfriend. Really loved the location, so central to everything. The service was great too - every employee was friendly and helpful. We found no trouble with the hot water or the room heating. Of anything, the slightly small room got a bit stuffy with six people in it. From our room we could hear the showers on our floor, but it was not loud enough to keep me up (I'm a heavy sleeper). I really liked the bar downstairs. Great food an great value for hostel guests. I'd stay back here if I were to come to Edinburgh again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralAdama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had the best time, so much fun. The rooms were clean, nothing special but comfortable. Location was awesome, very convenient. The staff were amazing. I ended up needing emergency dental work while I was there, and the reception found all the right numbers to call and let me use the phone for 45 minutes so I could get the whole thing sorted out. As well as being extremely helpful, every single person who worked there that I had interaction with was so friendly and welcoming. Being that I am traveling alone having the staff be so inclusive was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla_Dewdney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed in a group of 5 early 20's girls. No expectations - it's a hostel, we're students on a budget.

Everything was fine when we arrived, good atmosphere, party in the bar downstairs. We went out bar hopping and arrived back to the hostel at 3am, and found someone in one of our beds. Bit of heated discussion unfolded and we discovered that person in our bed was in our bed as someone else was in his bed. But the person in his bed also had the correct swipe card info to be in that bed. Went downstairs and we discovered that the bed in question had been double booked. Luckily there was only one bed left in the hostel so the girl whos bed was taken was able to sleep, although we were extremely unimpressed - being young women we don't like to be separated for safety reasons. The staff member who assisted was as helpful as could be but said we'd need to speak to the manager at 9am for any reimbursement. Went down for breakfast the next morning and found out the manager wouldn't be in til 10am - no good for us as we were on a schedule. So we never got to rectify the situation.

I'm sure things like this don't happen often but it really left a sour feeling with us.

The bathroom of the dorm room I was in was terrible. Impossible to get a warm shower, swings from freezing to burning hot. Breakfast service so-so - food ok but no clean plates/cutlery available.

Pro - absolutely perfect location. Couldn't ask for any better.
Staff so-so, not very helpful given the issue we had, 'couldn't do anything without manager being there'.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at here for 2 nights at the end of October 2013.

Pro's:
- Great location. Across the street from the train station, 7 minute walk to bus station and close to everything you need.
- Good comfortable beds
- Large storage bins that you can lock under your bed.
- Free and decent breakfast (Toast, cereal, yogurt, milk and juice)
- Free wi-fi on main and first floor

Con's:
- Rooms were not the cleanest.
- rooms were very very cold. Everyone in our room agreed on this.
- No hot water at all. Yay for freezing cold showers at 7am!! And no water pressure. In fact by the second day our shower was no longer working because the duct tape has worn off and the hose had broken so we had to make the trip to the 4th floor communal bathroom. When I asked the staff about this they didn't seem to care about it and said it because so many people are showering in the morning. This may be the case, however then it should be the hostel's responsibility to install more and or larger water heaters and do repairs when needed!!!

If I ever return to Edinburgh I would not stay here again. I would try to Castle Rock Hostel, from what I've heard the prices are similar and people are loving that place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgirl_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from a stag doo, staying at the hostel. Overall poor. Cleanliness in room terrible, dirty bathroom, no hot water. Refurbishment required. Bar ok, again cleanliness poor. Staff ok. Location excellent, stone throw from Waverley station & minutes from Grassmarkets, with many bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked the St Christophers Inn after staying at the Amsterdam one in April. It was a very different experience. Aside from the location this place doesn't have much going for it.
The biggest annoyance was the shower not working in the room which meant a trip to the 4th floor to shower.
The staff were not helpful in the slightest. Miserable is not a strong enough word. So much so we didn't bother to complain about the mouse in the mouse in the room that decided to introduce itself on the 2nd night.
Won't be staying here again. And has put me off the St Christophers Inn chain.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tims82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#13 of 215 in Edinburgh
390 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 215 in Edinburgh
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#41 of 215 in Edinburgh
154 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#19 of 215 in Edinburgh
143 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 215 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
Address: 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location Opposite Edinburgh Dungeons and minutes away from Edinburgh Castle. We're across the street from the train station. Fun Atmosphere A great selection of food and drinks in the Belushi's bar, with fantastic party nights, and pub crawls to meet travellers, and locals. Known for Quality Our Edinburgh hostel has a wide selection of room types, a female only dorm, free walking tours and a free continental breakfast. 24 Hour Reception Open 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Hotel Edinburgh
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing