We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The room was the the smallest in the hotel Room 703. The heat was unbelievable but the worst thing was that my 22 year old daughter had to sleep on the floor as they informed us they had no spare beds... We had to give her our duvet as they didn't have any spare duvet and there was no where to put a folding bed either. We were forced to move hotels as they closed Shadwick Place. My husband was just out of hospital and the whole experience with Travelodge really spoiled our stay.
I will be writing to the CEO about the whole experience as we were booked in for 6 days but only slept in hotel three nights because of it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieann124124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Charlieann124124, we’re really sorry to learn of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We expect our guest to be provided with the room they reserved and we would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted so we can investigate your concerns. If you have not yet contacted us, please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    499
    160
    62
    39
See reviews for
402
497
73
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and had to avoid stepping in the puddles and inhaling the unpleasant smells in the dark lane where the hotel is situated. Once you get into the hotel you do forget about this. A fantastic location, close to a lot of attractions with Waverley Station, buses and shops on the doorstep. We stayed in Room 201 which was clean and comfortable. Curtains were drawn when entering the room which pre-warned me there was no view - only a brick wall! Room was extremely quiet when the windows were closed, and we had a good night's sleep every night. On the one occasion the bathroom was not cleaned, staff on the reception desk were very helpful in getting me clean towels. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed in this travelodge as it has just been refurbished to the new look. Room was clean and bright, new mattress on the double bed, still a very poor single and pull out bed, not family friendly at all. Oh and the entrance is in a smelly back lane.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ahappycustoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is located on an alley (Meuse Lane) that runs parallel to Princes street, which is an ace location! The 'Lane' is a little smelly and there are lots of bins but the the Travelodge entrance is very clean and tidy, you have a keycard to enter after 10pm at night. Our room was fab, no view, but excellent comfy bed, clean and tidy and we had tea and coffee facilities. It was a great base to explore the city, I would definitely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went for the Fringe festival this year and decided to stay over. Frankly all hotels were expensive but I did feel this was a little steep. Also as other have said it's in a lane which is not pleasant but it is lit up. On the plus side the room was enormous , all very clean and fresh. Minimal extras but we came prepared! Also because we were going to loads of shows we were concerned about booking in late. I had to call an 0871 number to check which was expensive and they were open 24 hours which suited us well . Also I got a call direct from the hotel also checking we were coming so some crossed lines there. bit noisy because of the Fringe but the check in clerk warned us it might be.

All in glad we chose this hotel, was clean had a good sleep and located centrally. Just think the cost is a little high for what we got!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uckfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

the road you go to for the entrance isn't great (side street off Princes Street) but the hotel is great and near everything possible. All very clean and helpful staff. Surprisingly quiet being it was when the Fringe festival was on.


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It's not on Princes St for a start but down a dodgy alley way that smells and is lined with dumpsters BEHIND Princess St. Misleading, I don't care how close to street is pretends to be on it is.

I was put into a disabled room for some reason - my travel company had apparently booked a twin - but the room was completely unsuitable and actually a bit like staying in a hospital room. It smelt of fried chicken and the TV on the wall was so far away I'd need binoculars to see it. The twin beds were pushed together so I kept falling in the gap between the two.

There were no toiletries aside from a bar of soap the size of a postage stamp - I would think Travelodge would treat their disabled guests a little better. The view from my room was of said alley way - it was noisy and hot but there were no air con controls.

Breakfast was non-existent though you could order some grotty little box of cereal and a biscuit. There's no bar but there's a vending machine. The self service check in machines were broken on both days I was there.

On top of this, WIFI was £10 for a day - now considering I couldn't check in till 3pm and had to check out by 12 noon, I am not exactly getting the day's wifi I pay for am I? Plus it was pretty rubbish even by hotel wifi standards. Insulting.

Plus points: Nice staff - Ana was particularly helpful. Good location in the city.

Best plus point: I am unlikely to ever have to stay there ever again, even under duress. There's many many better hotels for the same if not less. I was charged £162 for this pretty awful experience, comparatively the same as the Thistle around the corner which was like a 5 star luxury resort next to his nasty little pit and that place didn't charge me for WIFI either.

Avoid, avoid, avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, hopefully less noise and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonWeir76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We are really sorry to learn your room had an unpleasant odour on this occasion JonWeir76. We’d expect our staff to notice this and ensure the room is aired thoroughly before it is allocated to a customer, and we will ensure your feedback is passed onto our Hotel Management team so this can be addressed and staff reminded of the importance of customer care. We do not provide toiletries as part of our brand standard, however customers have the option to purchase them from the vending machines at reception should they need to. We are still committed to offering competitive rates and advise customers to book as far in advance as possible to access the cheapest rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#102 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,950 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing