We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right Price, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #58 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Right Price, Great Location!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

As the title says, the rate was awesome and the location was in the heart of Edinburgh. Very close to the train station and bus to/from the airport.

It was a rocky start as check in is 3pm but our room was not ready until around 6pm which normally wouldn't bother me but we had just come from a very long flight & connections (18hrs) and were tired and jet lagged at this point. I paid the full balance online through the travelodge website but somehow this was not communicated to the hotel as had to pay again upon arrival (not the hotel's fault). However, after some sleep and sorting out my mobile to access my paypal account I was able to prove I already paid for the hotel and was immediately reimbursted!

So the room itself was okay it was a family room but I would say no more than two adults and maybe one child. The carpet needs replacing but the bed was very comfortable! We had the window opened and woke up (not too early) to lovely bag pipes each morning. The view was great, looking out to Princes Street, though the window could use a good cleaning.

Just a note on the entrance to the hotel as a few others have commented on it, it is an alley type entrance but never did I ever feel uncomfortable walking to/from late or early.

Overall if you are looking for a great location at a great price then this hotel fits the bill.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Princess Street. There is a sainsbury just around the corner, great for grabbing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    505
    165
    62
    39
See reviews for
407
506
77
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I only booked here as the family rooms boast a sofa bed, in reality they provide a childs bed, my 6ft 2 son had to sleep on the floor and when I complained to the reception manager she laughed. The room was not cleaned for 3 days and the wet, dirty towels were hung over the door and furniture to dry and not replaced. YUCK!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank emm666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear emm666, we are sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our hotel. We provide sofa beds in our family rooms which we consider to be suitable for an adult or two children. We find that our family rooms meet the needs of the majority of our customers and it is regrettable that your son was unable to use the sofa bed. We also expect our staff to provide high levels service and our rooms should be serviced on a daily basis during you stay, with the towels replaced if you have left them in the bath/shower. Our Hotel Management team will be made aware of your concerns so these issues can be addressed and feedback provided to the staff at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Approach to hotel is dirty and dark. Did not feel safe at night approaching the hotel
Reception staff were busy and struggling to work past cases.
Initial impression of room was it was clean and smelled fresh. Looked recently decorated.
Small cleaning details inside the room let my experience down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ernest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Ernest T, we are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Travelodge. We do expect our rooms to be cleaned to a specific high standard. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address this issue and remind staff of the importance of customer care and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Travelodge on Meuse Lane just off Princes. The location is fabulous giving you easy walkable access to Princes Street and Waverly Street Bridge. The rooms have one small single and a double bed. They are clean and relatively comfortable.

The staff are very accommodating, storing bags if you arrive before check-in, answering endless questions and working around your schedule for cleaning.

The entrance is unique and not beautiful. You enter from a lane and walk past garbage bins of stores fronting on Princes Street to get to the entrance. Once there you are welcomed by friendly staff and a secure environment with a card reader separating the lobby from the corridors to the rooms.

The cost was very reasonable.....and given the convenient location, security and staff, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is located very centrally in Edinburgh just off of Princes Street. Unfortunately you have to venture up a very uninviting lane to gain entrance. The lane is dark and lined with refuse bins and I certainly would not recommend for any females travelling alone. The hotel room although basic, was spotlessly clean and adequate for our short stay needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Everything you'd expect from a travelodge! we paid £44 a night which was excellent value for a hotel in this location. The room was fine, small tv in the wall, adequate sized bathroom with a good strength shower.

No plug sockets near the bed though. Enterence in a service road so 30 seconds from princes street and 3 mins from train station. Stayed in 3rd floor and no obvious noise at night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indyrider91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was clean, tidy and in good condition, you will not get closer to the town centre and unbeatable value for money, we can recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank glennneighbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#34 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing