We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & price but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were in Room 701 with a fantastic view - definitely ask for the top floor! Bed was very comfortable. We knew to bring our own soap and shampoo and the shower was fine (hotel provides a tiny bar of soap that reminded me of sandpaper.) It would have been a pleasant stay with great value for money, except for the cleaning service. We stayed 2 nights and left our used towels on the floor as instructed for replacement. The cleaner failed to provide clean towels and stuffed the dirty ones back on the towel rack. There is no phone to call the front desk. In general, the cleaner did a very poor overall job on our room.

The location could not be better and we had no problems with the bin-lined alley (not too smelly during the fall). Highly recommended if you are prepared for a no-frills stay but please INSIST on clean towels.

Room Tip: Seventh floor (top) for great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Power18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Power18, whilst we are pleased to learn you found our hotel to be ideally situated and found our beds to be comfortable, it is regrettable that your room had not been serviced to the high standards we would expect. We are sorry to learn you did not receive fresh towels during your stay and we will ensure that the Hotel Management team are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of proving a quality service to all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

An excellent 5 night stay. Rang the night before to request a particular room and this was arranged with no problem thanks to Alan, Yes, the entrance outside isn't the best but from reception onwards everything was spot on. Very large room on the 3rd floor with king size comfy bed. Surprised to have a bath as well as shower and everything new and clean. Location couldn't be better-just off Princes St. Tour buses, trains and airport buses just across the road. Jenner's at the end of the lane and they do an excellent breakfast. All in all a very good stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Upper floor, overlooking Princes St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. We asked for a high floor which we got but it looked into the office block
Next door. My wife went ask to be moved and returned with Katrina who simply was so helpful you wouldn't believe. She had taken my wife on a tour of the upper floors to show and offer her the choice of rooms! Having picked one we settled in only to find the shower head missing. Right on cue Katrina appears with said shower head having removed it for cleaning. Our room 706 was spotless. It was cleaned everyday and new towels were given every day. The three staff we encountered were all polite and helpful. Many have mentioned the entrance being in a service road. We never had an issue with it and walked along it at all times of day and night without issue. It's a service road beyond the control of the hotel and there isn't anywhere else to put them bins. Don't let this put you off using this hotel. We are already looking to return with our some and have been told we can book the same room. As before this hotel is in a great location for the train station, all the shops are nearby. I can't think why you'd stay anywhere else. And finally I'm not an employee of travelodge!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwakaman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fantastic location. 1 minute walk to princess street, george street and Waverley train station. Ideal for exploring edinburgh and easy walking distance to all types of bars, clubs and restaurants. The hotel room was lovely and clean. Definitely recommeded this hotel and will stop here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here during a 5 day trip to Edinburgh to celebrate birthdays! The rooms were spotless, the bed was sooooo comfy and the shower was much welcome after a 5 hour car journey! The entrance to the hotel is down a dodgy looking alleyway but don't let this put you off! It's a lovely relaxing hotel AND if you're as lazy as me you can send your partner down the alley for macdonalds breakfast in the morning! My only issue was the fact I had recently dyed my hair and instead of leaving me the one towel I had destroyed to use for my trip, a new one was brought to replace it every day thus making me feel rather guilty !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AqTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having spent 4 nights here recently my overall opinion is Good. Reception was adequate and the room, although missing towels on arrival, was good. First time stay at a Travel Lodge but it wouldnt be my last if another fair priced deal was available. Our party had 2 rooms on different floors but we are all in agreement with this revue. Entrance on Meuse Lane not as bad as some reviewers make out, but certainly could be better. Once inside it is totally, pleasantly an improvement. Location for the Waverley train station is less than 5 minutes walk and 2 mins. onto Princes St. or Rose St. If you are looking for the Ritz this aint for you. There is a massive Wetherspoons, The Standing Order approx. 5/7 mins walk with an entrance from Rose St. that serves breakfasts from 8am Every day at super prices. (Main entrance on George St.) Make it work for you, enjoy Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very clean and tidy.and i would recommend this hotel to anyone this hotel is within walking distance of any thing you want to do in Edinburgh, and the service was very friendly eating out was wonderful my only complaint was the lane at the hotel but for me 99% is good in anyones book well done Travelodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £43 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing