We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #60 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in Travelodge, Prince st, during Edinburgh Fringe Festival as a couple.
The location is quite convenient and near the main street but far from crowd. There is a shuttle from Ed. Airport to Waverly Brdige which is just opposite of the hotel location. This hotel is recently renewed so it was very clean. also it was very close to Royal Mile and Ed Castle. Personnel at the check-in desk were very friendly and helpful.

We haven't tried the breakfast but there is MC Donald and many others local shops nearby and in Royal Mile that you can go for a cheap English breakfast.
the negative points are: Only the first day they cleaned our room and there was no sign that we can ask for room service. the normal flag which is in most of hotels are asked for no disturbance or breakfast!
For that duration becuase of the festival all hotels were expensive so I can't comment if the price was fair or not in normal situation.
The other thing is the enterance of this hotel is located in a very creepy alley. where lots of rubbish bins are located and consequently not a good smell.

All in all it was a good stay for us. but next time I would try other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank At0usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    483
    160
    61
    35
See reviews for
387
487
72
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

As previous reviewers have said, it has one of the ugliest exterior I have seen! However, a very friendly and professional receptionist ( Jen) checked us in,and we were very pleased with the clean and functional room. The location is excellent, right smack in the middle of the city centre of Edinburgh.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank loveUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illogan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Its true the entrance lacks curb appeal ( down a service alley full of waste bins ) but don't let that little problem put you off because once inside the hotel this is a very cost effective way of staying in the middle of a major tourist attraction, the rooms are excellent the Staff very very helpfull & the views from the rooms fronting Princess Street fantastic!! we will certainly stay here again & in the same room if possible The lack of available food on the premises ( apart from breakfast boxes) is easily covered by the scores of places ( including Macdonalds,M&S, BHS, etc ) to eat drink & be merry just outside the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night with my partner when through seeing the Lion King the Musical. Was able to leave our bags at the hotel before check in then come back at 3 to check in. Room was clean and spacious - all you really need for a room in a travelodge. Shower water was really hot and we had difficulty turning it down, other than that we had no issues with the room. We were in room 304 which was as soon as you came up the lift or stairs and we never had any problems with people coming in late and being loud - we could here people outside at night but what do you expect when booking a central travelodge!!
The hotel isn't located on Princes Street, it is in a tiny lane directly behind it. The lane does have shops/restaurants large bins along it, but you don't book a travelodge looking for luxury!!
Will definitely stay again if in Edinburgh for a night out or any other reason :).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed for one night here recently. The location is perfect, so long as you know how to find this place in the first place you will be fine. It's not actually on Princes Street, but the Lane behind.. This could also be daunting for girls / women on their own, as it is a ddgy looking lane (although its not).

Room clean, facilities fine for a Travelodge, Rated acordingly

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nice staff decent room although I was given a disabled room however.....My room 207 was directly above the horrible lane where the entrance is. The entrance is disgusting with about a dozen wheeled skips and dark recesses.
If you get a room above Meuse Lane run for your life or go buy some earplugs it didn't stop From 11:00 at night until I left at 07:30.
Luckily I was only there one night for work so it gives me a good heads up to where not to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Jude262, we are very sorry to learn of the disruption that you experienced during your recent stay. This hotel is in the hustle and bustle of the city however we do attempt to reduce noise by having double glazing and insulated walls. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zilina, Slovakia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Wawerley airport bus 100 stop, in ugly lane just oposite MCDonald and KFC. If you look to the Meuse lane, the sight is realy unhandsome, dark, rubish bins, hardly to see hotel entrance. The second sight to the hotel reception is not encouraging too. Tiny place only with reception desk and 2 vendor machines, no chairs, no tables, loaded to full with 5 waiting people. But here unpleasantries finish. The staff is efficient, the rooms are wide, clean and noisless, bathroom boxes functional. Yes, there are onle realy basic accessories in room, - comfortable bed, table, one plastic stool, flat TV, electric kettle and coat hanger. Realy nothing else. So, if you are in honeymoon, this hotel is nothing for you. But for short tourist trip with full day program, when you need the room only for shower and peacefull sleep is realy good choice. Position in heart of city, actual refubrishment and price for night are the big advantages of this hotel. Left luggage service is inofficial, but effective for small charity donation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miloslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing