We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #58 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good location and very reasonably priced”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed on a busy Stag Weekend just before Christmas. The Lodge was ideal, just across the road from Waverley Street railway station, central for everything and well priced for our needs. The hotel is down a dark and tatty back street but so what - it is just round the corner from Princes and Rose Streets and all they have to offer. Furthermore it even has a late opening McDonalds 50yds away - lol. The rooms were a decent size and, though well used, were clean and well kept. Am already thinking of visiting Edinburgh again later in the year with my wife. A great stay and a great city for sure.

Room Tip: Our group was on the 3rd Floor and Rooms 318 and 319 are great - views of the Scott Monument, the Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmclean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    505
    165
    62
    39
See reviews for
407
506
77
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Absolutely first class accomodation for anything approaching the cost of this hotel and it would put many edinburgh high class establishments to shame. Huge room, very clean. As central as you could wish for and the staff were excellent. Dont look any further than this hotel for clean, fresh well placed Edinburgh accommodation. Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great budget hotel. Cannot be located any better, right on Princes Street although entrance is in a back street. Family room was big, clean and modern. Has its own coffee and tea making facilities. Take your own shower gel as none is supplied. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, if you are on a budget

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Stal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enderby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

we found the location to be perfect for visiting Edinburgh, rooms were small but clean and basically furnished. the beds were very springy and that was not a good thing !!
They was no noise from the street and train station was 2 mins walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel, which is set down a dark, dirty, litter infested alleyway has all the charm of a prison. The reception area is small and dingy. The room was comfortable but was not serviced until day three of my stay. The water pressure in the bathroom was non existent and there were no toiletries. Wifi was extortionate. The experience was made worse by the hotel being across from a mcdonalds and KFC with drunkards shouting well into the early hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rugbynugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay Rugbynugget. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Edinburgh Princess Street was a great central location for the Old Town. Art Galleries, Train Station just a few minutes walk away. Very clean newly refurbished rooms and excellent value for money. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels with not such a nice room or comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and rang taxi for us and held our luggage which was great, would definitely use again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here as we were visiting for the Calcuta Cup game of Scotland vs England. The location of the hotel in the city is great, even if the approach to the hotel is a little "backstreet". The staff were very polite and helpful on arrival which you could not ask for anymore.
There was not any view as such from the room '107' that we stayed in, but there were 2 light wells that let enough natural light in.
We paid through the nose a bit as it was a six nations weekend having paid over a £165 but that was to be expected really.
Cant really say much more than it was clean, comfortable and suited us for the one night we were in the city even if the room was a little pricey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#34 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing