We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb value, great room, just a couple of quibbles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #60 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb value, great room, just a couple of quibbles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazing value at £26 for a huge, clean, we'll-decorated room with dual aspect windows overlooking Princes Street.

Only quibbles were relatively ineffective sound-proofing with the room above and next door and a strange lack of sufficiently hot water, given that the room had a bath.

Having said that, would definitely recommend and stay again.

Special thanks to the receptionist who booked us in - a really friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Room 418 was fantastic (see pictures of the view!). 412 down the hall looked like a family room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinnacleDiner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    483
    160
    61
    35
See reviews for
387
487
72
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Friends and I stayed just one night. The rooms were clean and very comfortable beds and very spacious. We had the family rooms as there wasn't a twin option. The area was quiet and the staff were very very helpful and welcoming, especially Anne. She booked us a taxi for our night out, told us where to enjoy a great Scottish breakfast and held our bags the next day while we hit the shops with just a donation to their charity. The location was perfect as it was only a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. The price was very reasonable and within our girls weekend budget. The alleyway is a bit off-putting but if you have a taxi straight to the doors its nay bother !
I would definitely recommend this budget hotel, very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H060894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights this week and found the hotel clean band comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the area. Down an alleyway which was strewn with rubbish and dustbins which was most off putting. No dining place for breakfasts either, but only a short walk from BHS and M & S who do great breakfast offers. On the whole you get what you pay for - but this was quite adequate for our needs and only a short walk from Waverley station which is a plus!

Room Tip: Away at the back of hotel - quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here. The room was very clean & really nicely decorated. Very reasonable price-wise.

The only criticism I would have is the entrance to the hotel. It's in a dark lane, but there was loads of litter & rubbish at the front door. Not the hotel's fault, necessarily, but it sort of brings the look of the place down a bit!

Other than that, I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liggy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Overall, I have to say, I really enjoyed my stay at this Travelodge. Upon exiting St. Andrews Square Coach Station, it is a matter of just a couple of minutes walk. The entrance to the hotel is located down a back alleyway which is badly lit at night and this would be a major concern to some.

Check-in was great and I was told everything I needed to know. There is no restaurant at this hotel but you can buy good value hot snacks at reception and there are plenty of vending machines.

My room was on the 5th floor and at check-in you can request a bedroom with a view. As it was a stopgap for me I was not too bothered. My major concern was that in my room (506), there was a large window and a second, smaller window behind the door at floor level. Whilst both windows had slidey door type things fitted, the floor level window I could quite easily open the sliders and then open the window, which by the way is a single pane of glass - not safety glass.

If you open the window, you risk falling five floors to the ground. If you leave the slider thing open and you trip over, I am telling you there is nothing that will protect you from going through that glass. This is something which really actually frightened me during my night there.

Aside from that, the room was outstanding and in the new style with the newer, firmer beds and four plush pillows. The bathroom was a corner fitted thing but did its job.

If you want to stay in a Hilton, go to a Hilton. if you want a bed for the night in a comfortable heated en-suite bedroom with tea and coffee making facilities and PLENTY of plug sockets - then stay here.

Will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank alltnanros500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed a couple of nights earlier this month, were lucky to be given a very large family room overlooking Princes Street - beautiful stained glass windows and a great view. Ideal location - opposite the station, close to Rose Street and Princes Street gardens, a short walk to the grassmarket and the Royal Mile. The entrance is located behind shops and isn't the most enviting but don't let it put you off. Very clean room, extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Arrive early and ask for a room overlooking Princes Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a 3 night break in a huge family room overlooking Princes Street. Could be noisey at night, but that's to be expected. Perfect location with the train station across the road and Rose Street close by.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing