We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Brilliant hotel in a good location. Just behind Princes street (a bit hard to find at first) it's in a sort of alleyway right behind the H&M and topshop on Princes street. It's only a few minutes walk from both Edinburgh Bus Station and Edinburgh Waverely Train Station and is less than a 10 minute walk to The Edinburgh Playhouse and OMNI centre.

Great staff, Anne on check-in was so lovely and friendly and we were able to check in at 1pm for only £10 which was good as I wasn't feeling great! Anne even offered to give me the number for NHS 24 and told me to ask if I needed any help, what a star!

Great price, only £30 for 3 of us in 1 room! We had a lovely, clean room facing onto Princes street and with the window shut we couldn't hear any noise at all!

I would definetly recommend this hotel if looking for something in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairefairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Booked a room for my friend and his wife. They were very happy with the stay. The staff were very good and the room was very clean. I paid only £100 for 3 nights and was bit worried as the price was very cheap, but my friend had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinlee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is almost perfectly located for a stay in Edinburgh. A little off princess street and 3 mins walk from the train station and the bus stops for the airport shuttle bus. The room was great. Clean tidy warm. However, between around 11pm and 1am there were refuse collections taken which included extremely noisy glass collections which meant that the quality of the sleep I got was poor. In addition there was work going on in the building opposite which was noisy and the lights were on all night meaning the room was never really dark. At no point was I advised that this could be an issue by the staff and would not have been an issue at all if I had of been on the other side of the hotel.

Otherwise no further grumbles. Room was fine and staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel should be quieter and away from the entrance side to avoid noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeyb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazing value at £26 for a huge, clean, we'll-decorated room with dual aspect windows overlooking Princes Street.

Only quibbles were relatively ineffective sound-proofing with the room above and next door and a strange lack of sufficiently hot water, given that the room had a bath.

Having said that, would definitely recommend and stay again.

Special thanks to the receptionist who booked us in - a really friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Room 418 was fantastic (see pictures of the view!). 412 down the hall looked like a family room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinnacleDiner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Friends and I stayed just one night. The rooms were clean and very comfortable beds and very spacious. We had the family rooms as there wasn't a twin option. The area was quiet and the staff were very very helpful and welcoming, especially Anne. She booked us a taxi for our night out, told us where to enjoy a great Scottish breakfast and held our bags the next day while we hit the shops with just a donation to their charity. The location was perfect as it was only a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. The price was very reasonable and within our girls weekend budget. The alleyway is a bit off-putting but if you have a taxi straight to the doors its nay bother !
I would definitely recommend this budget hotel, very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H060894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights this week and found the hotel clean band comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the area. Down an alleyway which was strewn with rubbish and dustbins which was most off putting. No dining place for breakfasts either, but only a short walk from BHS and M & S who do great breakfast offers. On the whole you get what you pay for - but this was quite adequate for our needs and only a short walk from Waverley station which is a plus!

Room Tip: Away at the back of hotel - quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here. The room was very clean & really nicely decorated. Very reasonable price-wise.

The only criticism I would have is the entrance to the hotel. It's in a dark lane, but there was loads of litter & rubbish at the front door. Not the hotel's fault, necessarily, but it sort of brings the look of the place down a bit!

Other than that, I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liggy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £43 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing