We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #60 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First stay at a Travelodge (I'm normally a Premier Inn person). Very pleasant stay. Very close to the Railway Station and hop on hop off tourist buses. Entrance is round the back down an alley, which wasn't very inviting, but luckily we arrived early afternoon.

Family room was large and comfy. Bath a tad small (and no bubbles).

Breakfast box was appetising and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ElizabethFlan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    529
    174
    65
    43
See reviews for
430
526
81
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is exactly what you expect to get at any Travelodge, good room, spotlessly clean, and that's it.

What spoils this hotel is the entrance. It's in Meuse Lane, a dingy alley behind Princess Street that stinks of rubbish, vomit and stale urine. The alley contains multiple overflowing rubbish skips that appear to belong to the shops on Princess St and they never seem to be emptied, nor is any attempt to clean the alley evident. This is as close as I've come to finding a potentially serious health hazard.

Room Tip: The rooms are OK but I'd recommend you go to the Travelodge on Rose St, which is only a few hund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueandandywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire Uk
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

What a nice surprise to find my economy family room was so well appointed.
The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, the room was warm, quiet and there was a nice bath in the en suite.
Everyone was friendly and the location was central, a great economy stay for families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Cupcakech3ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After our previous stay in the Dundee travelodge the night before which was an awful experience, we reached this hotel on our third attempt of finding it.. Be warned, there are about 3 other travelodges located in the centre, with this one being rather hard to find considering it was down a dark and gloomy back street! I was expecting there to be a grander entrance, but considering the location I couldn't judge more..

As we had booked a family room, the receptionist decided to book us into a twin, which at first sounded better for myself and my friend, however upon arrival to the room, we found it to be very large and once entering the bathroom we discovered it was in fact a disabled room... Not a problem really, but got our worries up especially considering we were to be stumbling back to the room at 4am after having lots of drinks and then potentially accidently pulling the wrong red cord for the light!! That would have ended in disaster!!

Another annoying thing was loads of kids running up and down the corridor making lots of noise - our room was located adjacent to an air bridge, meaning the floors rattled and made lots of noise. I'm surprised staff or the parents didn't do anything to stop them constantly running up and down, felt like being In a zoo!!

But apart from that, the room was spacious, clean and a good sleep quality. Great location next to McDonald's and subway for morning breakfast!

Would return for a future stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of Princes Street, others are located along the gloomy backstreet - ask for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Can't fault this hotel on its fantastic central location and great value for money. Staying in (family) room 412 for 5 days this week, we even had a panoramic view of the Edinburgh skyline if you stood on tiptoes to see over the stained glass. Room and all areas were immaculately clean and room very carefully and well serviced each day. Very quiet even though overlooking Princes Street. Have stayed in quite a few Travelodges and would say this is the best one.

Small Sainsburys nearby (St Andrew Square) was handy for bakery breakfast/lunch items etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on the 6th of April in a family room with my daughter, a friend and her daughter. We only paid £35 for the room which, for 4 people is a real bargain! As such, I wasn't expecting too much.
The hotel is located 2 mins walk from the train station. The entrance is a bit grim, it's down a dark side street, but don't let that put you off.
The young girl on reception was very polite and told us how to find our room, no 312. On entering the room, we where surprised by the sheer size of it! Huge window with a good view (stayed in many a cheap hotel with only a brick wall to look at) and a comfortable bed.
It was raining when we left the next day and we huddled around the entrance deciding what to do with our bags when a lovely lady called Anne came to our rescue and offered to let us leave our bags behind the reception desk. This might not seem a very big gesture but I have stayed in hotels where they will not let you do this after checking out.
To sum things up, the hotel is in a great location with good clean rooms and lovely staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saintfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

First impressions of any Hotel is the welcome you get and I have to say that Anne and Adele get top marks.The Hotel is very close to Princess St and the rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds.If I am ever back in Edinburgh this wll be my choice again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing