We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location cheap stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this travelodge on 28/05/2014 for 1 night the room & breakfast where really good confy bed & plenty of selection on the buffet hot breakfast. We ate in the hotel on the evening & the food was undercooked and not good value at all, wouldnt recommend that at all, & people around me were also complaining about the quality also. Location was excellant & near all transport & shops .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkMacyslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location on Princes Street 5 min walk from the train station. Ask for a top floor room overlooking Princes Street the views are spectacular. Staff where excellent with any help or information. The castle was an excellent place to visit but the Royal yacht Brittania is a must see. Get a day rider for the bus and travel around Edinburgh for the day.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Andy1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here with my two daughters in a family room. We had room 512 and I am so glad we did. Amazing view of Edinburgh from this room which overlooked Princes Street. There was a very comfy clean double bed and a single bed. The room was very spacious, could do with another couple of chairs, but it made up for it by its spaciousness and cleanliness. Staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. Best of all though is the location. Its right where you want to be to see the best of this fine city. There's a Sainsbury's 2 minutes away and if your partial to Mcdonalds then its on your doorstep. Yes the entrance to the hotel is in an alley full of bins and the odd condom but don't let that put you off. Excellent value for money for the location. If your on a budget, and even if your not, I would recommend.

Room Tip: room 512 for a brilliant view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisajobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed just for one night to rest and start fresh for Scotland tour.

It's very Similar to other travelodge that I have visited in uk.
Rooms are nice and new. Staff is good and helping. It's close to restaurants like Mac Donald's and KFC so you can get good bite without traveling a lot.
Edinburg station is few yards from hotel.

Thumbs up from me...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rashu_khanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First impressions are poor as the Travelodge is sited in a small, dingy alley and the door is almost hidden from view. The reception area is cramped - two couples were booking in ahead of us and we had to stand in the doorway to join the queue. Also a view of the storeroom behind the desk is off-putting. No other complaints! Once inside, the whole hotel is clean and fresh. The receptionist was friendly and lively as well as efficient. The room we had -317-was not a family room but was quite spacious and had a view over to North Bridge. It also had a heater we could control (we did not put it on - I hate overheated bedrooms) The windows actually opened - okay, with safety latches but that's good and we could get fresh air. The bathroom was newly done and perfect. The best thing about the hotel was the location. Really 30 seconds walk from Princess Street directly across from Waverley Station and only 5 mins walk from the bus station. Perfect. I went with my husband and we both enjoyed our stay. The kingsize bed was very comfortable but if going with friends I would expect twin beds but these do not seem to be available??

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank CindersGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I'm really struggling to rate this hotel. Once inside the building it's as good as Travel Lodges get. It's basic but clean and tidy, that's what TLs are about. You get tea and coffee making facilities, a TV and the usual free 30 min per day wifi. It's in a central location, a short walk from the railway station and a bow shot from the Scott monument.
The staff are most helpful and polite, I can't fault them in any way.
So why the loss of a star? Well Muese Lane looks like something from a 1970s San Francisco TV car chase. It's full of dumpsters, litter, graffiti and unidentified liquids falling from above or trickling from smelly doorways. In short its rank.....and yet nothing to do with the Travel Lodge, it's their neighbours who are the culprits. I feel bad for TL really. If they could organise an entrance from the other streets they'd transform the hotel.
Would I stay again? Possibly....but only if I got a good deal on the room. As a side note, I can't believe Meuse lane is allowed to become quite so disgusting. The surrounding premises need to clean up their act.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank whatdoitypeinthisbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here from 5/8/14 to 5/9/14. I had booked a Holiday Inn but got a last minute notice about the cheap rates at this hotel.

Pros. Is it across from Waverly Train station so you don't need a cab to get here. It is in the center of everything. I saved about $600 by staying here vs. a Holiday Inn. We had a view of the Balmoral Hotel Clock from our window. It was relatively quiet at night. The room was clean. The staff is friendly and nice.

Cons. You get here via an alley which is a bit spooky at night. This is a very basic hotel. You get two big towels which smell of vinegar. There is no closet. The TV has 5 channels. There is a desk and a plastic chair. If you are looking for a little luxury, this is not it.

We thought about changing once we saw how Spartan it was, but decided that since we were only in the room at night, it was ok for the money.

No place to spread out or put your luggage. No hotel services. No food service other than a box breakfast for extra money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerryMary8064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing