We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Ranked #58 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for the city centre”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with our stay. The hotel entrance isn't actually on Princes Street but on a lane behind which isn't very inviting. There is no on site parking and the nearest NCP is a fair walk away. We were given a family room which was very large, and the views were amazing. From the window we could see all of Edinburgh from Arthur's seat, to the top of St Giles Cathedral, Scott's Monument right up to the Castle. It is ideally located for the bars and restaurants (try The Balmoral - absolutely exquisite and a walk along Rose Street trying the bars is always fun) it is within walking distance of the main tourist attractions like the Castle, golden mile, Hollyrood Palace and the museums. It is a 'basic' hotel but when staying in a town like Edinburgh this is all you need as there is so much to see and do in the town. It is on a noisy street but waking up at 5am to the ding of the trams had a certain magic to it. We would stay here again but those with children may wish to go elsewhere. The room wasn't cleaned while we were there but the cleaners did knock to see if we needed anything extra for the room. Overall we were happy with our stay as it fitted our requirements for a city centre hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - too good to miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    505
    164
    62
    39
See reviews for
407
505
77
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is nice, the rooms are spacious and functional. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station, the town centre and the bus to the airport. Unfortunately, they have very limited storage space (1 shelve and a hangrail) and limited furnitures (1 chair for 2 persons in the room and no spare to give away). The breakfast was a box and I wasn't aware at the time of booking it online. They should say it as we were quite disapointed.
Good value for the price though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As said many times before, the entrance lane is pretty grim but once inside everything else makes up for it.
The staff are really friendly and helpful (special mention to Anne!), they stored our luggage for us on the day of departure so we didn't have to take it to the station - encouraging us to leave a donation in the charity box for the service, which we were more than happy to do.
The room was clean and tidy and well serviced throughout our stay with plentiful tea & coffee supplied.
Our room overlooked Princes Street but noise wasn't an issue when the double glazing doors were closed and a fan was provided so the room did not get too stuffy when the windows were closed. The view from the window was excellent and we had a perfect view of the Tattoo fireworks at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Princes Street for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location and the staff were really helpful and friendly. We arrived in Edinburgh earlier than planned and we were allowed to leave our luggage until we checked in which was brilliant. This saved us from leaving our luggage at the left luggage at Waverley so we donated to the charity box in Reception. Our room was spacious and very clean. We were on the corner of Princes Street and at first we thought it might be noisy but it was very peaceful.
The only negative point I can make was the entrance in Meuse Lane which was littered with large wheelie bins and this doesn't.'t make the hotel very appealing but don't let this put you off!
We had a very pleasant stay and we would stay in this Travelodge again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location is great for a tourist, but the entrance is not good.

The Hotel cleaners are not very professional - creating havoc. The management should really tighten up on this – I have not experienced such a mess in any other hotel.The cleaners clean the whole room within 5 minutes on our 2nd day (without cleaning the Toilet,basin and hovering the floor).
The rooms were well lit - well ventilated with big windows. The 1st day it was very clean and fresh feeling. The beds were comfy and pillows excellent. For a hotel in this price bracket this was a real surprise! However, from day two- I missed those fresh feeling (as I mentioned that the management should really tighten up on cleaning issue especially bath and toilet ).

The reception is very small . However, the employees are very friendly and helped to check in around an hour before.

Only 3 stars given, based on a combination of the great room but appalling housekeeping issues.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms on the princess street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redwood017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a weekend in Edinburgh in order to celebrate husband's birthday and to take in the Fringe.
This hotel is ideally placed being on Princes St. although I do feel that the lane that the hotel door is in is rather dark and uninviting. However this is more than made up for by its central location and the very good value that the hotel represents.
Staff at check-in and booking out were very pleasant and helpful making both processes easy and efficient.
We had booked a family room and were given a huge room with three beds - a wonderful king size and two singles.
The room was spotlessly clean, had plenty of towels and an ample supply of coffee, tea etc. (we were told at check-in that if we needed anything, be it more coffee, milk sachets, pillows etc. just to ask at reception.) Practically the whole of the longest wall was windowed which overlooked Princes St. with views of the Castle, the bridges, Arthur's Seat etc.
We (husband, self and son) had a very comfortable stay and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent friendly helpful staff, got to agree with others regarding the entrance, but the room was large clean and more than adequate for two adults and two children. Would use this hotel again central for everything, would suggest the bus tour to anyone visiting.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerner1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#34 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing