We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

the hotel is very good. breakfast is amazing. Rooms are clean and staff very friendly. very good price and quite central. One thing i would like to recommend is that they have wifi in rooms. overall very good and confortable

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank muffyMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in John Burnett House in Pollock Halls from 25th - 27th July.
The room had tea and coffee making facilities, a decent power shower, ample storage space and colour flat screen TV.
The room is basic, clean and comfortable. Fine for a place to crash out at the end of a day sightseeing or dining out in Edinburgh! Let's face it - how long do you stay in your room anyway?

Breakfast - I have stayed in Riu hotels before and I must say that the buffet breakfast in John Burnett is almost as good! What a choice- plenty of fruit juices, ample tea and coffe, a wide range of fresh fruit and cereal. For the cooked breakfast you can choose from a variety of eggs, haggis, black pudding, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, baked beans, tomato and hash browns. Also vegetarian options. Excellent - and should keep you going for the full day!
Location: Pollock Halls is situated south (east) of the City Centre in the shadow of Arthur's Seat, a picturesque hill with excellent views across Edinburgh if you have the time and energy to climb it. There are free car parking facilities, a taxi rank, and buses to the city centre can be caught about 5 minutes walk away opposite the Royal Commonwealth Pool on Dalkeith Rd. The bus fare is £1.50. Taxi will cost around £7
What to do: Okay! Pubs: Try the grassmarket area - The White Hart Inn was frequented by Robbie Burns and William Wordsworth and also Burke and Hare. It was also the victim of a Zeppelin attack during WW1. Try also the Last Drop, Maggie Dickenson's and The Fiddler's Arms. All serve real ale. Heading east into Cowgate, try the Brew Dog. A superb beer- drinkers pub with great beers and excellent music - blues, soul and rock
On the other side of Prices St, try the Cafe Royal and the Abbotsford.
Most of these pubs also serve decent food
Pollock Halls is a great place to stay and competitively priced

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rudyardkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed for 3 nights to attend an event in Edinburgh.

I do quite a bit of traveling for my hobby and so have stayed in a variety of places. For me Pollock Hall is amongst the best I have stayed in, and that includes regular hotels, other University campuses and B&B's.

Reception offers a good Scottish Welcome - knowledgeable staff and a friendly face after a lengthy train journey.

Rooms themselves are fine - good size & storage with reliable WiFi connection and small kitchens with Microwaves & Fridges for those who choose to Self Cater (There are a wide array of supermarkets within walking distance) Sometimes a little noisy at night but in somewhere like Edinburgh it is hard to find anywhere that is completely quiet. Rooms also had good security with a Fob Required to access each building and separate keys for the kitchen areas.

Breakfast was stunning - I just hope they keep the same range of options when I return next Year! The kind of place where 1 meal can set you up for the day.

Location is convenient - around 25 minute walk to the City Centre or there are many buses that go past Campus. Lovely views of Edinburgh, and Arthur's Seat are available from many rooms and the grounds.

Hard to Beat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Pollock Halls. Having stayed in lots of hotels in Edinburgh this is by far the best value for money. Excellent, knowledgeable staff. Great choice at breakfast. Very clean and good access for my elderly mother. There was also access to a large kitchen with fridge and microwave - no utensils tho. Free parking in a very central location. Can't fault it!

Room Tip: Pay extra for en-suite if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireJdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is truly great value for the budget traveler in Edinburgh where things can be expensive depending on your perspective.

This accommodation is provided by Edinburgh First which is part of the University of Edinburgh during term breaks - usually mainly in summer. Staying on campus-like accommodation is always pleasant and the value-for-money is excellent. I stayed in a single room with shared bath and the room was simple, comfortable and more than adequate for 1 person with a single bed with bed linen, bath towels, coffee making facilities, little sitting chair, work desk + swivel chair, VoIP telephone, great and stable FREE wi-fi, enough power outlets, wardrobe, shelves, and little wash basin and a chest of bedside drawers with a little reading lamp on top of them. The shared bathroom / showers are fairly close by and good enough with decent shower pressure / temperature control and include shower gel / shampoo. Everything is clean and there is daily housekeeping.

Breakfast and FREE Wi-fi are included in the room price and the breakfast (: served at the John McIntyre Conference Center - The JMCC :) is great full Scottish all-you-can eat/drink with a range of choice (: pancakes and syrup, mushrooms, fried and scrambled eggs, vegetarian haggis and sausages, traditional haggis, black pudding, hash browns, a variety of cereals, fruits, yogurt, berry compote, breads, croissants, little muffins, milk, tea / coffee, soft drinks, bacon, sausages etc. :). It is self-service and you'll need to dispose of the tray + dishes on the conveyor belt near the exit. Seating is adequate and staff are very friendly. Very clean too. Timings are from 0700-1000 HRS. The place can get a bit lively with the few students staying over summer + the visiting tourists but it's nice. Food quality is high so this is great value for money.

There is also a Bar (: Bar @ JMCC :) which is open until fairly late and serves up a small selection of beers and some pretty good reasonably priced food as well. The bar also has a small pool table. It seems popular enough since I see a lot of people in there most evenings.

I stayed at the Baird house which has elevator and laundry facilities (: about £2.20 per wash and £ 1 per dry and maybe includes detergent :) and is very near the JMCC. The environment is pleasant with lots of plants, flowers and you can see Arthur's Seat from your window depending on the room's location and you can most certainly see it from outside the building. Plus staying on a nice campus is a special experience.

Staff are very friendly and helpful throughout. There is a 24-hour reception during the summer season although it's check-in's are handled by security after 2300 HRS when the reception staff wind up for the day. The center of town i.e. Royal Mile et al is about 30 minutes walk away and it's really pleasant when the weather is good. You can also take the excellent Lothian Buses (: £1.50 one-way, £3.50 for an all-day unlimited travel pass for bus and trams :) from fairly nearby if you prefer.

I suppose prices can vary from £35/$50 to £60/$100 (: roughly :) for a single room with shared bath with higher prices for shorter stays and during the festival season. Considering that some hostels may charge nearly as much for dorm beds that may or may not include breakfast and/or wi-fi or the same quality of house keeping and facilities. THIS IS GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY IN EDINBURGH. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harshapaulraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Pollock Halls are the students' accommodation facilities of the University of Edinburgh. The place is in the quiet residential part of the city, about 20 to 30 minutes walk or a few minutes by bus from the old town center and it consists of many housing buildings with various rooms for different prices. The area is just beautiful, there are flowers and lots of trees everywhere and right outside the walls there is the big hill called Arthur's Seat which you can climb and see the whole of Edinburgh, I certainly recommend this.
I came to Edinburgh for a summer school and I spent a week in the Holland House where I had a single room just big enough for one person. The room was basic but nice and tidy (though the chair looked somewhat dirty), bed linen was provided together with towels and a bar of a great smelling soap (no shampoos). There was also an electric kettle and some tea bags and instant coffee.
The reception works 24/7 and the staff there were smiling and helpful. They have a storage room for luggage where you can keep your things safe in case you arrive too early or leave late and you want to go out before/after you check in/out.
There is free wifi as well as cable internet in the rooms, although the Holland house had weak signal for the wifi - in some of the rooms it was too weak and you had to go to the common kitchen or to the reception to get the wifi there. I think that they are working on that though.
The breakfast was included in the accommodation price (45 pounds per night for my single room with bathroom) and it was really nice. There is a big canteen where you can have the English-style breakfast (eggs, ham, beans, mushrooms), pancakes, various pastries, toasts with marmalade and jams, different kinds of cereals, fruits.... The choice was wide and the food delicious. I even saw some gluten-free cereals there. There was also a nice bar and a small shop in the same building as the canteen.
I heard it was also possible to buy lunch and supper in the canteen, but I never did as there are many pubs, bars and restaurants in the town and on the way from the Pollock Halls to the town center. There is also a local Sainsbury's about 10 mins away, but I liked more the huge Sainsbury's in the mall located about 20 minute walk from the P.Halls.
Overall, I was very happy with my stay there. The minor inconveniences were weighted out by the beauty of the place, hospitality of the people, good sleep, nice food and of course convenient price. If I ever come in Edinburgh again, I will more than likely return here.

Room Tip: In Holland House there may be problem with wireless internet signal. Room 120 was oriented to the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed for one night in this university campus, it was quite comfortable. The only weaknesses of my room were the temperature (a bit cold) and the bathroom (really small), but aside from that everything was ok. The canteen were you can have breakfast (included in the £ 45 rate of my room) was well organized and there was an incredible possibility of choice. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful.
The city centre is not very far and can be reached in about 20 mins. on foot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raskolnikov82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#118 of 151 in Edinburgh
445 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#133 of 151 in Edinburgh
158 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#106 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#12 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Address: St. Leonards Hall 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £96 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollock Halls is the perfect choice for larger groups and budget travellers visiting during the spring and summer. Our campus accommodation offers good value in a great location and you can look forward to a hearty breakfast in the Restaurant @ JMCC. Servery lunch and dinner are also available during the summer months. The cafe bar @ JMCC serves good food, fine wine, beers and spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh 1st
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Hotel Edinburgh
First Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh First Hotel
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing