We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #83 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing hotel and fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our room looked onto the front of the Grassmarket, the view of the castle was stunning and the location was amazing. The room was very clean and very comfortable. There had been a few reviews advising the rooms were too hot and the street noise to be unbearable but we found it to be neither. This was our first stay in this hotel and we are definately coming back, the staff also were very friendly ...dont have a bad thing to say about this hotel at all..shame it was for only 1 night...LOVE IT

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jendo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    1,266
    474
    167
    77
See reviews for
794
1,339
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel several years ago and ejoyed the experience. We were greeted at the reception by a very helpful, pleasant and polite lady. she went through everything with us from breakfast, swimming pool, to evening meal, and even about papers for the morning! It was a very personal touch but was a lot to take in after a hefty drive!

We got to the room, which we managed to get an upgrade to the superior with a castle view. Now you would think that was a good thing, during the day it was. But on the night time all the drunking yobs came out and boy was it loud! I had a very sleepless night with drunking singing, shouting and general drunken behaviours./ It was a saturday night however but this did spoil my experience.

The hotel room was 'ok'. Very clean. My partner and I tend to visit edinburgh a couple of times a month and we found an amazing apartment - fountain court. We love them. Fopr the same price as we paid for our night at the apex (£143) we can get 5* apartment. We didnt get it this time as it was a last minute trip and it was fully booked.

We did use the swimming pool and sauna which was ok. small but clean. with 4 people using the pool it seemed very cramped and everybody was getting in each others way.

We also had the breakfast on the morning which was situated on the 5th floor in the skyline restaurant. we opted for the continental breakfast which included drinks, tea, toast, fruits, cereal, cheeses, pastries etc for £9.50 which was quite nice.

The customer service was 1st class, however the room was small fior the money compared to what we pay for

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albusstubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

had a 2 day stay to celebrate my friends 50th birtrhday...location is brilliant - lots of different shops and bars..parking car in the centre of edinburgh is a great asset...
Room had a wonderful view of the castle....room good size and well stocked and decorated..included breakfast...and brought warm toast.....had the full scottish which was ample portions to set you up for the day...
The whole 2 day stay was enhance by the courteous, friendly, unobtrusive and very professional staff...all of them...well done team Apex International
Look forward to returning very soon...
PS swimming pool and tropicanium also a great asset
TD 3rd April...stayed 31st March to 2nd April 2011

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Weekend for Louise and Paul wedding 26th march2011 every aspect of our stay was brilliant from reception to dining all your staff are brilliant thankyou.The wedding was great and all the hard work of planning was obvious and well done.

Room Tip: Brilliant ,wonderfull location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfball40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

We were upgraded to a castle view room which was good-apart from the noise form Grassmarket at night as mentioned by other reviewers. Generally, the hotel needs an upgrade throughout but the room was pleasant, the bed very comfortable and the little extras (Elemis toiletries, mineral water, snacks) were appreciated. The staff were helpful, breakfast good for the price.
The main drawback was the heat both in the room overnight and in the corridors which were vastly overheated (why?)-so much so that it was like walking into a wall of heat. This must be very wasteful.
Overall, I would stay here again, good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

visited this weekend was upgraded to superior suite very spacious- very warm couldnt open the window as very noisy in the street below but wasnt a major problem. the location was perfect for the castle,royal mile and shopping .didnt have much time to be a tourist as there for a wedding. if ever we get the chance we would definitely go back.only drawback was lack of parking and no drop off point for luggage etc

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

The staff engagement with the customer in this hotel is first rate. The location is superb (although as the front of the hotel faces on to Edinburgh's Grassmarket late night noise can be a problem). This is compensated for by the stunning views. (see photo) The breakfasts are first rate (as is the dining room and the restaurant staff). The hotel is excessively warm (Scotland in March!) and the rooms are not air conditioned. When I asked a member of staff about the control in my room she stated that it was for heating and not for air-con and that people often made that mistake. She said that there was a fan in my wardrobe which I could use (which there was).

I was in a "deluxe" room. The room itself was good and the bed was comfortable and clean. The hotel free wifi works well in the public areas but reception was very poor in my room.

With regard to maintenance:

The sink in my bathroom was badly cracked and had been 'repaired' with some white gunk which had not (does not?) set (see photo)
There was no plug for the sink.
The side of the bath was wooden and resembled a weathered boat (see photo)
The bath plug and chain had parted company from the bath.
The glass shower screen was cracked
The ceiling panel above the shower head was sprouting life forms (see photo)

All in all one of the most dismal hotel bathrooms I have encountered.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJC3112, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay. In the first instance please accept my sincere apologies for the maintenance issues you mentioned. We were actually awaiting a replacement sink unit however it certainly appears we attempted a rather less than professional finish on what was a temporary solution. I can confirm that this morning the entire sink unit and bath panel were replaced. The disc above the shower area has now also been freshened up and I am sorry if this spoiled your enjoyment in any way. On a positive note I am delighted that you found the location of the Hotel to your liking and the staff helpful and friendly. I sincerely hope that the issues above would not prevent you from returning to stay with us again in the near future. Thank you again for your comments.
Kind Regards Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing