We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,990)
Filter reviews
3,991 results
Traveller rating
1,524
1,545
602
217
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,524
1,545
602
217
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheights restaurantgreat locationedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milerubber duckgrass markettwo double bedsfifth floorpubs and restaurantssuperior roomnoisy at nightearly hoursstreet noisean upgradefamily roomwalk in shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,179 - 3,184 of 3,991 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Had a fantastic time staying at this hotel, every thing was great, the satff were very helpful and my room was spotless, the bathroom were very new looking and the duck was a nice touch, the location of this hotel is central and in easy walking distance of most things in the capital, hope to return to this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJC3112, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay at Apex International. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in Edinburgh and found the location and service in line with your expectations. I am delighted you liked the Apex signature duck - you will need to stay in all our other Hotels now to create a full set of the different colours! Thanks again for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to Apex International soon,
Regards Alistair J Campbell (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Hotel is really nice, well decorated rooms (if a bit on the small side), we got a free upgrade to a room with an excellent view of the castle which we soon regretted as it's also looking over the grass market so I was still awake at 2am listening to people outside having arguments and singing!!! That was the only downside as food is lovely (kids ate free too), pool was nice, breakfast brilliant and staff very friendly. Would def return but just go for a view of the carpark for a better sleep next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annieg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We arrived for Honeymoon on 10th May we didn't get a room upgrade but free bottle of Brut in the room the bathroom was very nice and clearly refurbed overall the room was clean there was some staining on some pillows that were used as scatter cushions. Also the seperate bath overflow was loose secured with a nut. The room was hot and the hotel appeared to continually have the heating on. There was a problem with our room radiator that had a air leak at the valve that made a sound like a tornado this was fixed after a call to reception. Service at the hotel leaves a lot to be desired the staff all try very hard and I would give them ten out of ten for effort but 2 for actual delivery. Waiting in the metro bar for a piece of chocolate fudge cake for 25mins put the icing on the cake so to speak we had 2 coffees served in 3mins but a wait of 25mins for a piece of cake in the end my partner cancelled it with no sorry or nothing. Breakfast is an experience first we were seated at a table that was wonkey one leg was about 1 inch shorter than the other making the table rock violently we were moved to another table. There were a wait of around 6 people and about 7 tables empty but none of these tables had been cleared or had been set up for new diners and this was only 8.30 second day for breakfast and waited 10 mins to even order toast or breakfast toast never arrived till after I had eaten my breakfast food quality generally good. Most of the staff appear to be international and they do appear to try very hard but the overall delivery is just not there. I don't normally write reviews but as on my Honeymoon and left slightly dissapointed with service felt the need

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Having to spend many months in Edinburgh away from home 4 nights a week is not ideal. The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly and made my stay very pleasant. When my wife joined me they were particularly accommodating. The location in Grassmarket is brilliant - so many excellent eateries in walking distance. Breakfasts offered an excellent choice and the quality was good. Service was friendly and and efficient. The view was stunning. The rooms were clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view; back rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iue_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Had a few doubts after reading some bad reports, but this hotel was great, from check in to how clean the rooms were, looks like the bathrooms were new, so they are trying to improve in areas(would say that maybe plain coloured throws and cushion would look better as they are looking dated), breakfast, they had a wide option on ofter and with its great views of the castle, who could ask for more, thanks for a great stay and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 160380lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews