We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This hotel is simply excellent. Breakfast is great and it is located in a great area - close to great restaurants the Royal Mile & Princes St. Highly recommended! Great view from the 5th floor restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    1,289
    479
    169
    81
See reviews for
802
1,374
92
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Had a fantastic stay. Great location and staff were so helpful and went the extra mile!!

Room Tip: Had room overlooking castle- fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzofleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Our family stayed on 3rd and 4th June. The staff couldn't be more helpful, even reserving a car parking place for us as a special request, due to our circumstances.

Hotel was slightly too hot, and Grassmarket on a Friday/Saturday night is not the quietest corner in Edinburgh, so opening the windows was not an option.

Room was very comfortable for family with two small boys. Needed more drawer space but I guess most occupants only stay for one or two nights.

View of castle at night from bedroom was remarkable.

Spa changing rooms were very small, and lots of water on the floor.

Breakfast and bar food was very good.

We'd certainly stay again, when next in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamMarMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I had booked into the Hotel after completing a 23 mile Hike therefore was delighted to arrive at the room on the 4th floor overlooking the castle. The room was a great size with a large walk in shower and bath. I had a great nights sleep on the luxury King size bed. The service from Check in to checking out was superb and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone coming to Edinburgh for a one night or longer term stay. Number of restaurants close by so no need to walk any distance especially after I had walked 23 miles. Great experience and I have already booked my next stay!

Room Tip: 4 th Floor overlooking the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilliantaylor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My wife and I had a lovely night away in this Hotel. The service at reception was superb great staff very helpfull. The room was lovely, fantastic view of the castle and even though we were next to the busy grass market the quality of the doors meant it was VERY quiet.
Bed excptionally comfy, a few nice wee extras such as robe, slippers and some fruit made it a lovely welcome. I went for a swim and sauna, all clean and comfortable.
If you're looking for a lovely hotel in the centre of town that offers that little bit extra go here.
Will definately go back here on future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice and each time I have loved it. It is Ruth across the street from the Edinburgh Castel and the restaurant is on a higher floor so you can get unobstructed views.

The pool is a nice touch but it isn't big enough to exercise in. The rooms are beautiful and modern. The bed is the most comfortable in all of the UK.

Take a walk up the street to The Grain Store for dinner. You won be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uh60josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Apex International is a very modern, sleek hotel with amenities galore. The service is impeccable, the staff very friendly and the room spotless. Although all of that is important when staying at a excellent hotel, the view was beyond words. We stayed on the 6th floor facing Edinburgh Castle - it was breath taking! All we had to do was cross the street, climb the stairs and we were at the castle and the Royal Mile. I have been to Edinburgh many times but staying in this wonderful hotel made it even more special.

Room Tip: Request a room with view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orkneyisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing