We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally enjoyable stay......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a special, shortbreak. Prior to arriving, we had emailed the hotel, explaining that our stay was for a special occasion. Although we had a pretty enthusiastic response from the hotel very quickly, when we checked in, staff didnt even mention it. We were disappointed with this, a detail that mattered to us.
We had booked a superior room, and although clean and modern, it was no better or larger than we would have expected from a standard room. There was no CD/DVD player as stated and the safe didnt work. Added to this, there was a large circular cut out on our bathroom ceiling which appeared as though repairs of some sort had been started but not finished. The hotel rooms are very hot, even with radiator in room off. Pool is good for a quick dip, but swimming not possible due to its small size- also windows onto street are bit odd.
Breakfast was good and staff here and at reception and bar were helpful and efficient.
The location of the hotel is good and the view of the castle makes it worth staying at alone. Generally a good base, but due to the above, we cant help having left feeling a little let down.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHoneymooners62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,685 - 2,691 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in a Executive double with Castle view. Room was perfect only thing spoiled the room was when we went in there was paint tins and painting equipment on the floor this was swiftly removed however. Eat in the Heights restaurant on top floor, food was amazing and staff so polite and again an amazing view of the castle. Pool and Sauna where perfect after a days shopping...
Certainly stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The location of this hotel was ideal for us as central but, fairly quiet and we loved the quirky grassmarket area. Our room was as expected and the only negative was the bed being a bit too soft for me, but i guess that's personal taste. Athough we didn't have a castle view it didn't matter so much as when out and about you see it all the time, and you can take it in at breakfast (a must). Breakfast was scrumptious and a good variety on offer. Great that the hotel has a car park, pool and sauna too.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Apex International Hotel in Grassmarket in February 2012. We booked an advance purchase/non-refundable rate that was fairly reasonable and included breakfast. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the common areas were nice. The room was a good size compared to other European hotels, and we had a fantastic view of the castle from our room. There are two restaurants where breakfast is offered, but we only went to the one on the top floor of the hotel, which has a great view of the castle. The food was good, but I wouldn't say it was great. The bathroom is a good size and the shower was good - good water temperature and pressure. There is a pool in the hotel, but it is a little strange because it has full windows on the street, which is a major thoroughfare where anyone walking by can look in. The hotel provided an oscillating fan in the room closet, which we used as a "white noise" machine to block out the street noise. It was quite effective and I appreciated that it was there. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel as a good place to say that is centrally located and has clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very spacious room, large bed, 42 inch telly - wonderful room. Breakfast is at the top of the hotel and the view of the castle has to be one of the best views ever and certainly cheers up the weary business traveller. We stayed here at my colleagues request as he wanted the smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast! There was a huge choice of freshly cooked food and a continental buffet. The Grass market location is very good, central and plenty of nearby restaurants and pubs. Its location is good for business and tourists alike. And you get a rubber duck to take home!

Room Tip: Even the bottom of the range rooms are excellent but you can pay extra to have a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great location with an even better view. (Make sure you reserve a room with a view). Lots of restaurants, easy for business and tourist. Been there three or four times for both business and 'tourism'. Glad to have found it.

Room Tip: Get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed there for a weekend. Great location on the grassmarket and a few minutes walk from the Royal Mile. Breakfast excellent though we waited a long time to be served. We only got 3 bits of toast between the two of us which wasn't much. Fantastic view of the castle from the restaurant window. Friendly staff throughout the hotel who were very helpful. We checked in a couple of hours early and they kept our bags for us. We wish we had paid more for a castle view as we looked out over the car park. There was quite a lot of noise coming from the grassmarket but this is to be expected. Service in the bar was quite slow - we had to dtdmttajjm cancel drinks that were ordered 20 minutes previously. Bathroom wasn't the cleanest: there were hairs in the bathroom and our room hadn't been tidied much on the Saturday.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smileyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,631 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing