We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location Average Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #83 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Location Average Amenities”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed one night and loved its central location on the Grassmarket in Edinburgh Old Town. It has limited parking spaces which are a real bonus but they charge an extra £12 a day for the privillege.
Our standard room was modern but pretty basic in terms of its amenities. Sadly our view was of the back court area which is not very pleasant and I suspect you will have to pay considerably more for a view of the castle. There are some rooms with balconies which must have the best view.
Our room had a kettle with coffee/tea, biscuits and two bottles of water. There is no fridge or minibar which is highly unusual for a four star hotel. There was also no room safe which is a problem for tourists with a lot of currency and valuables, very limited clothes storage space, no radio alarm clock, no air conditioning and no towel warming rail in the bathroom. There is also limited lighting with only three lamps and no central ceiling light. Our desk lamp was broken which made the room even darker. We did hear some noise particularly from the back court area where recycling facilities are.
The room did contain a trouser press, iron& board, hairdrier, flat screen TV, desk, chair, small hanging wardrobe, shampoo & shower gel, tissues and a rubber duck!
The bed was fairly comfortable but only a standard double in size. Overall it was fairly average.
The only meal we ate in the hotel was breakfast in the Heights restaurant with spectacular views over the castle. Selection of food was good and there seemed to be a plentiful supply of continental buffet food. We were served a small pot of tea between two and could have done with one each. No choice of bread for toast - only white was served. Bacon served was ok but nothing outstanding.
Staff were all very attentive and pleasant and check in and out was quick and efficient.
The hotel does have a small pool and some spa facilities which are very handy for such a central location. There was free wifi avaliable and the hotel in general very clean and modern.

In summary we had a pleasant stay but would not rush back unless there was a particularly good deal on. There are better standards of hotel around which perhaps offer more for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view but you may pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    1,288
    479
    168
    81
See reviews for
802
1,373
91
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were greeted warmly as always, got our requested room. The room with a spectacular view of the castle was, as always clean and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful. Food and drinks were excellent. Yesterday received us a small gift from the hotel. Just gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabineWeKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is the very best place to be in Edinburgh if you don't want to pay the prices of the Macdonnald.
Magnificent views of the castle for breakfast.
They do good deals like 3 nights for the price of 2.
Opt for a high floor room.
It's chill out and stylish quality in decor and the staff are first class.
Would always choose this hotel for a perfect base in such an outstanding city.
Parking can be an issue.
Being a bit stingy, I moved my car around quit a a bit using local back streets. If you want to park and leave your car, budget about £15/£20 a day!

Room Tip: organise parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lance s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to Scoland. Found the staff to be very friendly at check, answered any questions we had and had some good ideas for things to do in the area. The room was clean and tidy, although it was a little small. Absolutelty amazing view of Edinburgh Castle, was nice to be able to go out on the balcony and enjoy a few drinks with that in the background. Read a few reviews where people complained about the noise from the pubs in the Grass market area, we hardly noticed anything, was very quiet the nights we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonzie826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here in April 2012. What a fantastic location, right by the castle. Beautiful view of the castle from the restaurant. The rooms were spotless with huge double beds. After 8 hours of walking around beautiful Edinburgh, I had the best 3 nights sleep ever at this hotel with plasma tv,s in the rooms. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way. Great value for money and I would definitely return to this hotel. The breakfast was stunning, all you can eat with English cooked, cereal, yogurts , fruit, everything. I love Scotland....Edinburgh was a beautiful city..

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view of the castle, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel was in a excelent location with Edinburgh Castle view just out the front door and Grassmarket just across the street. Down side of this Hotel was the numerious stairs to get to the lifts. The lounge was good with both friendly and informative staff but lacks the charactor of many of the pubs just across the street. Rooms were comfortable with everything one would need or expect. At the end of the day though yes i would stay again and is on my short list of hotels to check for rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed in Edinburgh a couple of weekends ago. Blessed with great weather while we there, this hotel topped off a great weekend. I had to be in town for meetings on Thursday and Friday, so decided to make a weekend of it with my girlfriend. The rooms are clean, functional, and the beds very comfy indeed. The view from the breakfast area has to be seen to be believed - a stunning vista of the Castle. just a shame they do not let you out onto the balcony to take photos - understandable given the height of the building, but nothing some higher rails might solve? Onto the breakfast - well, the three mornings I ate here, the service was absolutely exceptional, and the food excellent each time. the staff where always on hand to make sure we where never left wanting, and the eggs benedict was sublime. Excellent value for a weekend stay.

if you like your art, make sure you pay a visit to Little Ox on candlemaker row, just a stone's throw away. Interesting art prints, and the guys running it have a great passion for film and gig posters. made my weekend in the city even more worthwhile.

a massive thank you to all the staff at This hotel - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jampar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing