We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of December and had a room on 4th floor at the rear of the hotel. No castle view, but not a problem and we didn't hear a peep from the bars on grass market.
The room was spotless, had a massive telly and the bed was so so comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel on day 1, a little buffet of pastries, cereals, meats/cheeses and a menu of freshly cooked hot breakfasts, but then went out for breakfast the other two days. Hotel is in a perfect location for the centre of Edinburgh.
I really haven't got a bad word to say! The rubber duck was a nice little touch to!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the weekend. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the new year.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    1,314
    491
    179
    87
See reviews for
825
1,400
100
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The hotel is 4 star but somehow does not feel it. We were a family of three adults and shared a double double room. Beds were comfy, room spotless and well appointed with a magnificent viw of the castle. The room was not spacious enough for three adults and the downside of our view was that the street while full of interest during the day was rather noisey at night time. One of our party was unwell and had to have a room service dinner which was below average. The staff were truely lovely however I doubt I would want to return

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmerFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you thought our rooms were well appointed and that generally you were happy with the hotel during your stay. I do hope the member of your party who was ill during your visit has made a full recovery, chest infections can be a terrible thing to shake off. My staff were more than happy to offer their assistance with this matter and advise on the best course of action with our local facilities.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed here having booked direct with matched pricing from Internet sites. Got £10 room credit (small print says cant be used towards breakfast or room so beware but can be used at bar). Also got castle view (didn't need to pay for any upgrade as some city rooms have castle view)and room was available for early check in as we had stated we would be arriving about 12 midday. Very impressive. Check in was smooth and the lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Parking on site was easy and there was no problem with getting a space.£12 per 24hrs charge excellent value compared with NCP rates in the city. You can leave car park and not get charged again by telling reception and they will give you a special ticket to get out.
Room was small but plenty big enough for 2. It did have 2 double beds in but would be small for 4 people. Bathroom (with bath as requested) was also adequate. Not overly huge but did the job. Bath is one of those small ones that means either legs are in or shoulders. Toiletries are Elemis. No conditioner or shower cap but soap, shampoo and bath/shower gel. Wall mounted TV with good reception and free wi-fi, again good reception. Bed was firm but this is my preference and pillows were soft. Tea/coffee/hot choc among facilities with fast boiling kettle. Small fridge so easy to store a pint of milk and avoid that horrible milk in the little plastic pots. Hair dryer was a proper, normal power one and there was a safe, iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Not much storage space but guess this would not be a hotel you spend a long time in.
Pool was small but very relaxing with great lighting and there was a tropicarium (cooler than a sauna deliberately according to the notice). Initially I thought this was too cool but it was actually very pleasant. Didn't check out the gym but it says there was one.
Breakfast is only £10pp if booked the night before...good value as you could eat enough to mean you didn't need any lunch. Normal varieties of hot, with Scottish influence, or continental options. Great view of the castle too. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment.
All areas we saw were spotless and all staff were friendly and helpful.
Situation wise it was great for my husband and I. It was on the other side of the castle from Princes St meaning we could walk off our breakfast climbing steep steps up and a gradual hill down. To get to the castle only took 5mins though and Princes St about 15 mins. Grass market was busy but not crowded and we felt safe even late at night.
What were the downsides then?
Well, water pressure in the bathroom was poor and you could get in a bath that had been run with just the hot water. Temperature and power was better in the pool area. A pet hate of mine is the toilet flush being situated behind the toilet lid when it is up meaning you always have to put the lid down. It also required a hard push to get it too work.
Walls were thin and you could hear TV from rooms on either side. Noise of doors shutting was bad although this is common in a lot of hotels and earplugs were present in our room on checking in!
To summarise,would not put anyone off staying. Water temperature was my main criticism but overall the hotel gave good value for money. Just a note to anyone trying to decide between the Apex City and the Apex International....we chose the International because of the parking (more spaces so better chance of getting one) and the pool. If you stay at the City you can use the pool at the International and the hotels are almost next door to each other....met a guy who did this and he said the water pressure and temperature were fine at the City and he hadn't heard any noise from neighbours but wasn't sure whether he actually had any!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want before choosing...you might get it at no extra charge as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you rated your stay as good value for money. We strive to ensure all our customers enjoy their stay and will always do our best to iron out any issues you encounter. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the new year.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Reminiscent of Westin Hotels large modern spacious entrance, lobby and corridoors. Room 5053 was a very good size, great bathroom, rubber duck (!), large walk-in shower but poor shower head for the opulance. Good steam control mirror didn't fog up. Great views of Castle from breakfast room, breakfast was wonderful, coffee great. Didn't use gym etc but colleagues did and they said it was good. Bar nice atmosphere and not too badly priced for a hotel of that standard. Room lighting a bit poor no central liht just standard lamp and wall lights. All in all would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Not at back of hotel, delivery trucks arrive from 5:30 and not great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Rooms are very modern but poorly designed. We had a room for four so it had two double beds, but only one TINY towel rack. Half glass shower door and narrow sink mean the bathroom floor is often wet. The hair dryer is cleverly tucked into the desk, but you have to stretch the cord across the desk to use it in front of a mirror which means no one else can really use the desk at the same time, and, watch out for any drinks left on the desk! On the positive side: comfy beds. Beautiful view of the castle from breakfast. Good food! Great dinner in the downstairs restaurant. Choice of pubs across the street, close to Royal Mile. Bus stops across from the hotel, including hop on/hop off (but would not use that for more than one day just to get acclimated). Easy walk to city center and University.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andria1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you found a few issues with your bedroom. Please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience these matters caused you during your stay. I have asked my Maintenance Manager to review your comments and make improvements where required. I do hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Very friendly staff, well situated hotel with good views of castle. Excellent restaurant , the food was top class, breakfasts will keep you going all day and the evening a la carte wonderful, bit pricy but worth it. Hotel very clean and tasteful. Rooms well equipped and room staff very good. Whole experience of visit to Edinburgh made better by staying here. Staff couldn't do enough to help, always greater with a smile.

Room Tip: Choose one facing front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights in their most basic room and we were not disappointed. we arrived early and were checked in for no extra charge. The staff were friendly and the communal areas airy & clean. Our room was spacious with everything needed and had the softest bed & pillows, it was like sleeping on a cloud! Not to mention galaxy hot chocolate and Elemis toiletries. Grassmarket is a lovely base as well with good pubs & restaurants nearby. the hotel has a lovely view of the castle which was beautiful to look at each morning. Each day our room was cleaned and fresh towels left. The Apex rubber duck was a lovely touch as well! We did not get to use the pool or spa on this occasions due to commitments in the city taking up our time, but it looked very clean and I wish I'd had the opportunity to! I recommend this hotel and when I next visit Edinburgh I will be sure to book in here.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,101 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,570 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing