We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I was well looked after by reception/porters and during the stay attended a family wedding which was well staffed and well run.the food was beautiful and the whole day was well thought out and ran smoothly.
The room was comfortable,warm,clean with excellent facilities.
The view of the castle from the resterant is superb and made the most of .

Room Tip: I had a front facing but the noise was minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thanks for your review, Jacqui. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your family wedding was enjoyed by all. I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    1,270
    475
    167
    77
See reviews for
794
1,344
91
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Terrible Experince. I spend around 100 nights a year in 4/5 star hotels and I have never stayed in such a terrible place. Basically a Travel Lodge charging £100+ per night. Advertised as family friendly but we could not settle the children until after 3am. Constant shouting and door banging. Loud music being played in rooms. People smoking in corridors. Called management and they assured me they had spoken to guests but it made no difference.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for your review, Glyn. I was disappointed to read you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately, it seems you were disturbed by neighbours who showed little consideration for our other customers. In this situation we will always deal sternly with anyone disturbing our other guests. I'm sorry that on this occasion this action did not happen quickly enough for you. We are a no smoking hotel and do not allow smoking in any bedroom or public area. Anyone found to be flaunting this rule is removed from the hotel immediately.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I have just returned from Apex International a nice hotel and great staff in a very good location close to Castle and plenty of bars and restaurants in area across the road from Hotel Pros Staff were lovely and very helpful a quick check in room was good size and very quiet, tea and coffee and lovely shortbread biscuits every day bed was very comfy. Cons Pillows as other reviewers mentioned were the worst I have ever tried to sleep on I cant understand what was in them!!! I actually used the big cushion instead I had no other option. The other complaint was 1 shower gel for 2 people for 3 days thats not on it should have been replaced every morning.Alsso came in one night after being out all day and we were refused a drink in bar with no reason given I know it was late but there were other patrons having a drink.Every other hotel we stayed in also had either a seperate late bar for residents or just got us drink from the hotel bar to take to our rooms. The one thing I would recommend this hotel does ASAP is invest in new pillows.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Doownelg. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team at the hotel. I was disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with our pillows. All rooms have 100% goose feather & down pillows in them but we also have a slightly firmer non allergenic foam pillow available on request. We supply Elemis toiletries in all our bedrooms and will replace these where requred in stayover bedrooms. We are licensed to serve alcoholic beverages to our residents 24 hours a day but under the terms of this licence, we also reserve the right to refuse service at our discretion.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

I spent one night at the hotel in December and found it a very pleasant stay. The standard room on the second floor was spacious and had a nice view over the Grassmarket to the Castle. Although I did not dine at the hotel, the breakfast in the fifth floor restaurant was good and the staff were all very efficient and friendly, as was the case at the reception. The hotel has the added bonus of a good car park behind the hotel, a great asset in Edinburgh.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bigweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Bigweb. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in December to celebrate my partners birthday. When we booked (a superior room) we requested a castle view and mentioned the birthday.

Things started well, we arrived really early on Friday (11am) our room was ready and we checked in straight away. The reception staff were friendly and when we arrived in our room which was on the 5th floor with a view of the castle, there was a birthday card with 2 drinks vouchers which was a nice touch. The room was clean and well appointed. That evening there was a firework display at the castle to celebrate St Andrews day which we had a fabulous view of. The hotel is in a great location for seeing Edinburgh.

After that things went down hill, we noticed that the room was half carpeted and half wooden floor which was a bit unusual and turned out to be a bit of a nightmare. There were earplugs by the bed which we assumed were to block out the outside noise given that we were facing the street. To be fair we could not hear any noise from the street up on the fifth floor but a good night sleep we did not have. The walls are paper thin and whenever our neighbours walked around their room it felt like they were in our bedroom. They came in later than us and although they were not noisy they woke us up late at night and early in the morning just by walking around their room.

Breakfast was served in the heights restaurant, we had no trouble getting seated and the view of the castle was amazing. The cooked breakfast was advertised as cooked to order, on the morning of my parters birthday we had the full Scottish breakfast which came out far to quickly to have been cooked to order and seemed to be luke warm heated by the scorching hot plate. Sadly by lunch we were both being sick (bringing up the breakfast) and were sick all through the night and into the next day. We had to cancel our reservations at the number one restaurant (which had been booked for months) and we lost a day and a half of our 3 day trip. We were devastated ;(

The hotel did take us seriously, they took a report and provided us with a late check out as well as sending up some bottled water and offering us room service if we wanted something to eat. They said that there had been no other complaints and there is nothing to prove it was the breakfast that made us ill, we may have just been unlucky.

Other small items to note about the hotel/rooms - the hotel bar has no atmosphere what so ever and the restaurant downstairs was empty throughout our trip. The water pressure was very low and the shower was little more than a dribble, there was not much storage (if you need it - we didn't) and the windows had a lot of condensation on them. Reading the reviews on here would suggest that if the hotel re-fitted the windows throughout the hotel a number of the outdoor noise and room temperature problems would be resolved.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5021 - great view and no outdoor noise but you can hear your neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieLeigh1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for your review, Carrie Leigh. I was sorry to hear that you were unwell during your stay with us. As you stated in your post, we received no other reports of illness over the same weekend and I do believe that in most cases the incubation period for food poisoning is significantly longer than just a few hours. We served over 100 breakfasts on the day you dined with us, so it looks more likely that your illness was caused by either a virus or from food eaten prior to breakfast the day you were ill. I do hope you and your partner have made a full recovery and will get the opportunity to come back in the near future to enjoy another weekend in Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of December and had a room on 4th floor at the rear of the hotel. No castle view, but not a problem and we didn't hear a peep from the bars on grass market.
The room was spotless, had a massive telly and the bed was so so comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel on day 1, a little buffet of pastries, cereals, meats/cheeses and a menu of freshly cooked hot breakfasts, but then went out for breakfast the other two days. Hotel is in a perfect location for the centre of Edinburgh.
I really haven't got a bad word to say! The rubber duck was a nice little touch to!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the weekend. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the new year.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

The hotel is 4 star but somehow does not feel it. We were a family of three adults and shared a double double room. Beds were comfy, room spotless and well appointed with a magnificent viw of the castle. The room was not spacious enough for three adults and the downside of our view was that the street while full of interest during the day was rather noisey at night time. One of our party was unwell and had to have a room service dinner which was below average. The staff were truely lovely however I doubt I would want to return

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmerFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you thought our rooms were well appointed and that generally you were happy with the hotel during your stay. I do hope the member of your party who was ill during your visit has made a full recovery, chest infections can be a terrible thing to shake off. My staff were more than happy to offer their assistance with this matter and advise on the best course of action with our local facilities.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing