We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you want a good night's sleep - stay elsewhere. If your room overlooks Grassmarket you'll get all the noise from outside because the windows don't close properly. We had this problem, reported it to the reception in person twice and exactly nothing was done about it. We were promised a visit from "maintenance" but none came.

Breakfast was truly awful - terrible food in a soul-less restaurant - just like the bar.

Loads of good hotels in Edinburgh - choose one of them but not this one!!

Room Tip: If you have the misfortune to stay here, insist on a room that doesn't overlook Grasmarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,048 - 2,054 of 3,740 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

I shared a twin room with a friend and was surprised to see two big double beds, suitable for 4 people. The room was spacious, in good condition, and clean. The beds, linen and bathroom as well. The beds were very comfortable, and there was no noise from the hall or other rooms, or from the outside. We had no trouble sleeping, even with a window cracked open. Opening the window, however, was necessary as the heating was turned up very high with no possibility of turning it down. Apparently this is a common problem for hotels here which I've seen in several other (high standard) hotels: there is basically one heating setting for the entire hotel.

The hotel itself was in good condition generally, well kept and clean, except one of the two elevators was broken, leaving only one in working order which is really not enough for a hotel holding so many guests. As a result, we spent quite some time waiting for the elevator. We ran into a man who told us (unconfirmed!) that the second elevator had been "temporarily" out of order for a long time. I would urge the hotel to do something about this quickly as it was rather annoying, especially around check-out time.

We did not try the restaurant at the hotel so I cannot evaluate the restaurant or the breakfast.

Situated at Grassmarket the hotel is very close to the castle and the Royal Mile, and the area just outside the door is very nice with a good ambiance and loads of nice pubs. The main tourist area where most of the shopping can be found is on the opposite side of the Royal Mile. It's not far at all, but if shopping is a main focus of your trip you'd be better off taking a hotel closer to Princes Street to save yourself of crossing over the Royal Mile over and over again.
We were in Edinburgh to celebrate New Year's Eve, and for our purpose of having fun and being close to the "action" for New Year's, the location could hardly have been better.

All in all, I would not hesitate to book this hotel again when (!) I go back to Edinburgh. It's a remarkable place with a magic aura and nice, friendly people :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent Christmas at the Apex International and had Christmas Lunch, food was excellent and the staff very accommodating and helpful.
We had a 4th floor Room facing the castle which was really good.
The Hotel is in a great location ideal for exploring Edinburgh with great Pubs and Restaurants nearby, the Bow Bar in Victoria Street is cerainly worth a visit as is the Grain Store Restaurant a real find tucked away opposite the Bow Bar with an interior of stone vaults and archways which makes it really somehing and it has the food to match.
If you can get a good rate you the Apex is ideal...we'll be back!


.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra and go for a room facing the Grassmarket and the castle. Rooms to the back wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My nephew and his fiancée had their wedding here so we all pitched over to stay. What a wonderful venue with stunning views of the grassmarket and castle. We got our room very early and this was just the start of the staffs extremely helpful attitude. Everything about the hotel and wedding was first class but I feel I have to give extra praise to a staff who are just the best. Awesome trip and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellvee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

On arrival at the Apex Hotel ,Grassmarket Edinburgh with my 2 grandchildren,we were checked in with lovely reception staff ,who saw to all our needs within a short time .Our room was on the 1st floor with stunning views over Edinburgh Castle. We had a beautiful large room which was spotless and 2 queen size beds that were so comfy. The food at the hotel was so well presented, and really tasty, as was room service , which arrived quickly after ordering. Breakfast was also of a great standard, but could not eat much , due to the late night room service. Gran kids loved the swimming pool (so much so that they had no desire to leave the hotel to go shopping) The public areas are of a very high standard, and again spotless . The staff at this hotel are all amazing, and so helpful ., and doing a fantastic job. A great big thanks to them all . We will be back soon .Regards Nina James , and also a big thanks from ZOE and RACHEL XX BROUGHTYFERRY DUNDEE.

Room Tip: Castle room in 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferry27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for Hogmany over the new year period, and were extremely happy with the hotel. Whilst the rooms are on the small side we had a wonderful view of the castle from our room on the 5th floor. The beds were comfortable, the towels beautiful and fluffy. It was in easy walking distance to everything, the station, shops and all attractions. The best thing about the hotel are the staff. They were amazing, made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was a highlight each morning, a range of choices and the best eggs Benedict I have ever eaten. I would highly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay again if we ever have the pleasure of visiting Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysrgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Apex International is ideally situated in the grassmarket with public houses acros the road and Edinburgh Castle looking down on the grassmarket from on high.

The staff on reception are very helpful with anything you ask them and will check the internet for information if needed - if you need a taxi they will telephone for one and normally they will arrive within a few minutes.

My son and I arrived on 23 December 2013 and left on 3 January 2014, taking in Christmas Day and Hogmanay in the Heights Restaurant on the fifth floor and there are two choices for breakfast; the Heights and the Metro Bar on the ground floor: - You have a choice for breakfast, either cold or a hot cooked meal or both, same with drinks.

Check with reception, where you will be having your breakfast and evening meals and may I suggest, if you go there over the festive season - book inclusive that will cover everything and one other point, make the payment when you book - make sure they send you an email or a confirmation letter and you will have peace of mind.

The rooms were excellent with all the available facilities - kingsized bed, plazma television and hot drinks if you need to have one, the bathroom is compact with excellent bath and shower amenities.

This is our second visit, to this hotel and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Check the Apex website before you make any reservations - by stating the hotel you want and the type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunslinger_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,712 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £76 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing