We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
“Hotel in good location”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful.Have stopped in standard rooms and in one with a view of the Castle Rooms were sufficiently big enough, comfortable, clean and pleasantly decorated. Used the bar and restaurant to eat and food and service good.The location was ideal with restaurants handy in Grassmarket where the hotel is situated. Short walk to the main centre for the castle, attractions, shops, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    1,261
    474
    167
    77
See reviews for
790
1,338
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four days while visiting Edinburgh and surrounds. It was a super bargain. In fact when we walked into the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. It had a heated pool, sauna, gym, excellent Wi-Fi, great food at the hotel and best of all a very large bathroom and a beautiful view of Edinburg Castle. The hotel staff was excellent and very eager to assist us. Having paid much more for hotels in Paris, Munich, Venice, Rome, London, and Brussels, this was a great buy. It was the nicest hotel we have stayed in during our trips to Europe. Highly recommend it for families. The rooms were also very spacious and had several computer outlets for all our gadgets. Only one elevator was working but at least they had two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCHFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel , staff very pleasant and attentive. Room very comfortable, had a room with a balcony and the view of the castle from our room was amazing. Didn't eat there however the restaurant look lovely. Definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Got a great weekend deal for b+b. Standard room, it was on the large side with bath and separate shower. Big tele and bed. Great location, helpful, friendly staff, nice pool. £5 in taxi to new town/shops/station or 10-15 min walk. Woul recommend. No air con in room, had to turn off radiator but there's a fan provided for summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STynetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My nephew gifted my sister and myself with tickets to go see the Lion King in Edinburgh , having stayed previously at this hotel it I had no hesitation and booked an overnight stay for us both. Staff were courteous and friendly, room was fantastic (got a view of the Castle this time) we even had our pre theatre dinner in the hotel, food was fantastic and great value for money.
bonus with booking direct you also get a £10 voucher to use towards any meal or drinks which was a wee treat too .......best of all this time I got my DUCK
Breakfast in the resturant with one of the best views in the world

Room Tip: although rooms to the front give you a good view of the castle it can be noisy traffic wise ,,,but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgray1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The staff here are amazingly helpful and friendly. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the castle. The castle view was wonderful and was the same seen from the Heights restaurant where we breakfasted. Breakfast was excellent. The Wifi connection worked well, and our bathroom was spacious and clean. The style of the public areas reminded us of the 1970's maybe this is currently fashionable. However it was frustating that for our 2 night stay only one lift was working.Apparently it had been broken for a few days. I think even on the 4th floor warm weekends maybe be noisy as it overlooks the Grassmarket an area of pubs and restaurants and there was no apparent airconditioning in the bedroom requiring a window/door to be open.

Room Tip: A Castle view is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encodeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The Apex International is right in the heart of Edinburgh. We were greeted by stunning morning views of the castle every time we walked out of the front door!

Pretty much everything of interest is within walking distance of the hotel.

The Metro restaurant which is the cheaper of the two restaurants was a tad expensive but the food was absolutely fantastic! 5 stars for the quality of the food. Cooked to perfection!

The hotel's spa facilities are lovely. The pool has some really nice, romantic blue lighting under the water and has very smooth, relaxing music playing at all times (nice and quietly in the background of course). There is a fantastic sauna.

All of the hotel staff were lovely! They asked us about our day, recommended places and generally had a smile for us at all times!

The room was very nice and incredibly comfortable. The bed was amazing! Nice big tv too! The shower/bath was a little small but hardly anything to complain about.

I would say go for a superior room as we didnt have any view out of window at all really. Superior rooms have a view of the castle.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MCarts265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,038 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing