We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as lavish as they would have you believe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as lavish as they would have you believe”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Our initial impressions of this hotel were quite positive, the spacious check in area and nice bar are welcoming on first arrival. The hotel is also fairly well situated about a 5 minute walk from the royal mile (albeit with a hill/few steps to contend with).
Our positive impressions were short lived when we noticed that the rooms that we had paid a premium for, overlooking the castle, meant that we were subject to the pikey window installation that this hotel has chosen. The front of the hotel overlooks a busy street with lots of pubs and restaurants, a positive you may think. Not so when, at midnight and beyond, all you can hear is something akin to Ibiza on your doorstep. They obviously chose the cheap option when fitting the windows as they seem to amplify the noise as opposed to reducing it.
The supposedly relaxing weekend sounded more like a chav weekend in benidorm than a decent hotel that we had paid to upgrade the room. I hate Travelodge, but I couldn't discern a difference in the room itself. Utterly disappointing, particularly as this was booked as a special occasion for my mother in law.
The hotel also dealt with our complaint inadequately only to compound the ineptitude.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_chelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    1,342
    519
    183
    89
See reviews for
875
1,423
102
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My fiancée and I stayed at the apex international for two nights over January 29th and 30th. The stay was to celebrate our recent engagement and as we wanted to make the most of our time in Edinburgh we requested an early check in. We spoke via email to Susan from the hotel prior to arrival and she confirmed this for us making the start of our break stress free. On arrival we found we had a stunning room on the fourth floor (4021). It was spacious, clean, fresh and had the most incredible view of Edinburgh castle you could ever wish to have (Standing on the balcony at night looking out on the floodlit castle was a real "kodak moment") We also had a fantastic surprise waiting for us in the room in the form of a chilled bottle of champagne and two Apex ducks for my fiancée (she wants to start collecting them). A lovely note attached welcomed us and congratulated us on our engagement, it was a lovely personal touch from the wonderful Susan - who I cannot thank or talk up enough.
More on the room, the bed was huge (felt bigger than kingsize) and was extremely comfortable with bright, white linen. There was a large tv on the wall, two comfortable chairs and a table by the window and a large dressing table with built in hair dryer, heat mat and lights.
The room had a good sized bath in the modern, clean bathroom and also a separate shower in a walk in area (sort of like a wet room) neatly hidden behind the door. There was also a fridge, safe, iron and iron board in the room along with good quality tea, coffee and hot chocolate.
The hotel itself is modern and stylish and with a relaxed but contemporary styled bar serving fantastic cocktails - mojitos are a must. The ozone pool (no chlorine eyes or chemical smells following you around all day) and relaxing tropicarium have to be used. The hotel is in a brilliant location, The grassmarket area is vibrant and busy with a great range of bars, restaurants and shops, leading up the the Royal mile and onto princes street and beyond. Most tourist attractions are no more than 30 mins on foot.
I have honestly no complaints to make about this hotel and both my fiancée and I left wishing we could have stayed much longer.
We will certainly be back in the very near future and I can say If you are looking for a great place to base yourself in Edinburgh then look no further.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Edinburgh Castle are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali-Gellatly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

every thing about this hotel was excellent.we had soup and a sandwich for lunch in the bar,it was good value ,staff were friendly and efficient.the room was on the fifth floor with great view of the castle.after being out it was lovely to come back to a warm and comfy room.don't think I would like a room at the back of the hotel.cooked breakfast was lovely plenty of tea and toast.good location near lot of tourist attractions. would go back here ,car park was £12 for our one night stay which I thought was ok.

Room Tip: rooms facing onto grassmarket with view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheaaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Me and my partner stayed on the top floor in a room with a balcony and picturesque views of Edinburgh castle. I couldn't fault the hotel, staff or food one bit.
As it was a cold January we woke up to see heavy snow falling over the castle and also whilst eating our breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor.
The hotel itself is very modern and stylish and is located perfectly. We stayed as we were visiting a theatre and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielallan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Apex in Grassmarket last weekend and It was perfect for us. I had booked the hotel weekend as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend and had let the hotel know this. We had been upgraded without them even mentioning it, to a room almost double the size (we saw a few that were being cleaned).The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good although not great and staff in the restaurant were not quite as friendly.
Over all a perfect hotel to use as a base while exploring Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsymondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had wonderful weekend. Rooms very clean and well presented. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Views for breakfast over castle amazing. The location is amazing. Short walk and you are on the Royal a Mile. Situated in Grassmarket it's a great place for eating and drinking.

Room Tip: Get a room with castle view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The Apex is very welcoming, staff are very friendly, our room was immaculately clean.food was very nicely cooked, really can't fault it.
The hotel is set in the grass market which is central to most available activities, there is a nice little convenient shop just opposite also several bars and places to eat, locals are also very friendly people

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theresadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,173 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,521 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing