We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I booked the Apex International for 3 nights in January 2013 to celebrate our birthdays. My main reason for choosing this hotel was it's proximity to the castle and the bars and restaurants in the Grass market and also the pool and gym facilities. I booked via a cashback site and our standard rooms with breakfast cost £70 a night.

We arrived at the hotel after a 10 minute taxi drive from Edinburgh Waverley train station. Checkin was prompt and the porter who showed us to our room was most helpful and welcoming. The standard rooms don't face onto the market or have a castle view but this is balanced by them having less noise. The rooms are huge with a queen bed, 40" Samsung tv, tea and coffee facilities and inclusive toiletries. We did use the leisure facilities at the hotel. The gym is small with some decent running machines, a sauna and the pool which was lovely. As I said, we had inclusive breakfast and I can highly recommend this option. You walk into the 5th floor restaurant and the view of the castle is just wow! There is a buffet of cereals, cold meats and cheeses etc but your main breakfast is a la carte cooked to order. Eggs Benedict and a pot of fresh coffee with that view makes me want to be back there now! Step out of the hotel and you're in the Grass market with a selection of decent bars and restaurants. The castle can be accessed from the market via a few sets of ancient steps that certainly get the lungs working. Princess street is a 15 minute stroll away. We used the bar at the hotel and though the drinks are pricey it's pleasant with great cocktails. All of the staff at this hotel that we encountered were most helpful and professional including reception, bar, restaurant and room staff.

This is a very decent quality 4 star hotel and we will definately stay here again when visiting Edinburgh if the price is right!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,531)
There are newer reviews for Apex Grassmarket Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,813 - 1,819 of 3,534 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked last min for a first time break in Edinburgh. The hotel is brilliantly situated with fab views of the Castle. We had a deluxe room which came with a small balcony. The room itself was spacious and had all the necessary amenities. Conveniently located over looking a range of traditional pubs and eateries. We ate in the brasserie which was nice. Wine was pricey, but it is a hotel so to be expected! The issues came at night it was so noisy! Our room 4017 seemed to be a interconnecting room, and apart from the noise coming from the bars across the road, at 5.30am the neighbours were up chatting on their balcony and it sounded like they were in our room! When I made a tea the following morning I came across the complimentary earplugs which suggests that this is a common complaint! I would stay here again, but request a quieter room is there is any!

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had one night here last friday and loved every minute of it. The hotel is in a great location in the grass market and is great value for money. The check-in was quick and our room was spotless with a view over the grass market and castle on the hill.

Our only niggle was that the windows are not really soundproofed and the noise early in the morning is relentless when the pubs/clubs close and everyone spills out into the street. Other than that the hotel is brilliant and the staff could not do more to help. It was rugby weekend but the staff were exceptionally helpful even though the hotel seemed to be full up.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Edinburgh for a weekend away and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonloyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a great view of the castle, room was lovely, but...........Every floor board played a different note, traffic noise was horrendous and then the selfish guests arrived home from a good night out and let us all know about that fact in the early hours. We smiled on arrival and having a look around at finding the ear plugs I understand why they were there now!!!!!!
Staff were helpful and pleasant though and England won the Rugby!!!!!

Room Tip: Best view on front but very noisy at night.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatBWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have stayed in hotels all over the world, but would put this Hotel, and definitely the staff,up at the top. From arriving to leaving after three nights, you could not have wanted any better treatment.
Had to que for approx 10 mins one morning for breakfast, due to a party being in, but breakfast was well worth waiting for. the plates were hot and the quality of the food and service were excellent. We up graded to a superior room with balcony overlooking the Castle, and well worth the extra. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with a balcony overlooking the Castle and Grassmarket are excellent and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a 3 night stay and what a lovely stay it was. Upgraded to a beautiful room on the 4th floor with fabulous views of the castle. Grassmarket is a fun place to stay and an excellent base for exploring the city. It's no more noisy than any city centre location and was great fun to watch the people enjoying themselves in Grassmarket from our balcony.
The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly & funny, especially Karen on Reception and Trevor in the Metro Restaurant. Thank you all for making us feel very welcome.
We made full use of the swimming pool and tropicarium, which was great after a cold and windy day outside.
We ate in the Metro Restaurant one night and it was delicious!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and it's staff and will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jadnams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here in January and paid extra for a castle view as it was a birthday treat for my other half. Rooms are comfortable and large but have stayed in better four star rooms. The views were lovely but the only downside was the noise as it gets very noisy late at night. Breakfast was lovely and was too a high standard staff very helpful. We also used the spa facilities there is not much too it but was nice after a day sightseeing to come back and have a nice swim and sauna. I would recommend this hotel and we were very glad we stayed in the old town compared to the new.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,511 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,662 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing