We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #86 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. Booked a family room which was a good size, which was located on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel, a little noisy late at night, but what do you expect on a main street with pubs/restaurants opposite, but ear plugs were provided! Breakfast was good with excellent views of the castle from the 5th floor restaurant. A little slow on clearing tables, especially at busy times with people waiting to be seated and tables not cleared. Don't bother going to the breakfast buffet on the ground floor, the morning we tried this, the food was sparse and what was there was cold. The location of the hotel was excellent and was within walking distance of a number of attractions and excellent restaurants.
Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,311
    491
    179
    85
See reviews for
823
1,397
100
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Helpful and friendly staff, superb breakfast and perfect location to explore Edinburgh.
Ok so you won't get an Olympic size swimming pool and the streets outside can be noisy, but you can walk into town and enjoy a fantastic view of the castle.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a training course in the area. The hotel is brilliant. Arrived and my room wasn't ready so had a free drink in the bar. Room was great, had everything you needed. Even Pringles and jellybeans!

Don't forget to take your rubber duck home with you!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Shill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our room was lovely and we were there for the Hogmanay festival, so it was in a perfect place very central and everything was within walking distance. The rooms were also kept very clean and were fine for two people.
They had two breakfast buffets, AVOID the downstairs buffet at all costs this buffet from memory is on for an extra hour (till 11) yet they constantly were running out of food we were waiting for more than fifteen minutes for very basic items such as eggs. Although the upstairs buffet had a lovely view of the castle and everything was made fresh for you and brought out at no extra cost.

Would stay here again, just beware of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in February. Due to a delayed flight we did not check in until 23:15. We were very tired and looking forward to a rest. We had booked a superior room. We were allocated a fifth floor room. First impressions were that it was very small. The end of the bed was a foot away from the wall and you had to squeeze past to have a look out of the window and the tv was on a wall at the side which was awkward if we both wanted to watch it! We were so tired we decided to stay put for the night. Unfortunately it was the worse nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. We could hear the headboard in the next room squeaking every time the neighbours moved and from approx 06:30 could here people walking around on very squeaky floorboards.

My partner complained to reception and they were able to upgrade us (at a cost!) to a deluxe room on the forth floor. Well this room couldn't have been more different. Spacious, plush, comfortable and quiet. Balcony and gorgeous views of the castle. The rest of our trip was a joy.

Despite the initial hiccup I would definitely stay here again although I will book a deluxe room from the start.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brads1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Loved the view of the castle and fab location, very helpful staff. 2015 family room very noisy though. Also swimming pool gets crowded and changing rooms are way too small. Overall very good and would recommend location. Everything In Walking distance.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

2nd time staying here. The location is great, a short walk from the royal mile (uphill). We stayed in a deluxe room which comes with a balcony. You get a great view from theses rooms but if another room goes out on their balcony you can hear them and they can see in your room. I would pick a room without a balcony next time. Used the pool and although small was nice. The bed in the deluxe was huge and had a great night’s sleep. The breakfast was just ok, not much selection for the continental and our cook breakfast was overdone. Staff where friendly and offered to book us taxis. I would stay again if I got a good deal.

Room Tip: Would not pick a deluxe room as you get noise from other peoples balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,093 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing