We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and great service!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for my husbands 40th birthday with our 2 young daughters. Staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. They provided a birthday cake after I sent them an email which my husband loved. Our room was a good size and overlooked the castle, there was a complimentary bottle of wine in our room which was a lovely touch. My daughters loved the swimming pool it wasn't huge but perfect for a splash about. The hotel is located in a perfect area for exploring Edinburgh. The only complaint I had was the noise from outside as we heard lots of screaming and shouting when the pubs shut and in the morning the bin lorries woke us up very early however there are earplugs provided. We have stayed in Apex hotels before but this has been the best one so far.

Room Tip: Use the earplugs provided if you have a castle view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DottyBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    1,261
    474
    167
    77
See reviews for
790
1,338
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice and close to the centre of Edinburgh. This can also be a disadvantage and we were woken by revellers in the middle of the night. The room was fine, but of note the toiletries were not changed or replenished during the 3 days of our stay = disappointing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank D0ug_McKendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my husband and 2 kids. Great location and walking distance to most tourist attractions. Family room a little small but fantastic views of the Castle. Breakfast was really good and lots of choice. Would most certainly stay here again if visiting Edinburgh. Lovely little pub across the road "Fiddlers Arms" which served fab pub grub at reasonable prices. Angie & Andy from NI.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Arrived at the hotel at midnight due to delayed flight. Staff were so helpful & processed our booking quickly. The room
Was well equipped & well furnished with two large double comfy beds. The complimentary toiletries were from the spa brand elemis which was a nice surprise. Free printing & computer use, free wi fi & all for a great price. Edinburgh castle is a 5 min walk up some steep steps. (Ask the hotel for directions! We took the long route!!!) the 100 bus will get you from the airport to the city centre for 3.50 then it's a short walk or taxi from there. (We walked but it's very hilly!)
Thank you for a great stay Apex! When I return I know where I'll be staying! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campsitechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
362 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We're having a short break in Edinburgh and have to say I'm impressed by his hotel. Situated in the Grassmarket so deal most attractions. Within walking distance of pretty much everything you could want to see. Ample parking at a reasonable rate. Staff have been faultless and all so very friendly. Room is of a fairly standard size but furnished well enough and of course we have the little duck which did raise a smile. We are on the 5th floor and have a wonderful view of the castle out of the window. A very good deal for the price we found viavTA. Oh! The pool was small but fun and also enjoyed the sauna

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked the hotel as a surprise for a friend's 50th birthday. I informed the reservation department when I confirmed the booking and asked if possible could we have a view of the castle. Not only did we get fantastic rooms overlooking the castle they had also put a complimentary bottle of wine in my friend's room. It was a fantastic weekend and the hotel location and modern comfortable rooms looking onto the castle made it more so. Thank you Apex hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking castle also overlook the grass market. Some comments say it is noisy but we had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompas155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and the great location on Grassmarket. The staff at reception were always cheery and helpful, especially Victoria went above and beyond our expectations and booked us a fabulous dinner at a roof top restaurant with a beautiful view of Edinburgh castle. We felt well looked after during the heat wave too, with two fans placed in our room to keep us cool and comfortable. I highly recommend Apex International hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,038 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing