We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and in the right area for the main attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Conveniently placed hotel with very pleasant staff. Room slightly small but, really, who spends a lot of time in the room apart from sleeping.Very clean.

Excellent breakfast with a large selection of cooked options, continental, pastries, fruit, cereals, juices etc, just what you need to start your day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,060 - 2,066 of 3,884 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Chose The 5th floor for a beautiful view of The castle! I loved The location as it opened onto a lovely square in grassmarket filled with typical shops and restaurants without The immediate chaos of The royal mile which Was just a 5 minute walk away with The castle close by as well. Breakfast Was not included.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Papariello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent room with two double beds, with views of the castle and overlooking grassmarket.
Room had everything you needed iron and board flat screen tv hairdryer, nice toiletries fluffy fresh towels. Staff were friendly, efficient and friendly.
On the negative the noise late at night from grassmarket made it difficult to sleep (hotel had earplugs in cupbaord which id forgotten about) good central location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Izziemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location, helpful staff and really nice rooms. The roof top restaurant Heights (There is also a bar and brasserie on the ground floor) was great, service wonderful and the view of the castle lovely. Food was one of the nicest meals out I have ever had. Gym and pool/sauna were an added bonus and a nice place to relax. Absolutely no idea why people are moaning about the noise; you are staying in a capital city, right in the centre, so surely you are not going to this place for a tranquil countryside break?! We had no trouble with noise at any point during our stay even sleeping with the windows open. Loads of good restaurants nearby too, as well as many of Edinburgh's main attractions close by.

Only two minor negatives: 1) I know it is a city centre and it is always expensive to park your car anywhere for a length of time, but £12 per night is a bit steep. 2) Nothing could be done, but the fire alarm going off at 10 one night was not ideal. Cue people standing in streets in pyjamas before going to a sister hotel down the road to invade the restaurant for free hot drinks!

All in all, I would 100% stay here again. It was an absolute pleasure.

Room Tip: If you book direct with the hotel on their website, you can get deals for meals in the rooftop resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel and whilst we had a deluxe room with a gorgeous view if the castle, the breakfast service was very poor. There was only a door to let air into the room so it was difficult to get some ventilation without the door blowing open. Nothing special and not sure we would return. Grassmarket is very noisy early doors from dust carts and late / wee hours with revellers

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SuzeCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Apex International Hotel itself provided an adequate place to stay while in Edinburgh. It neither excelled or offended in any way. The room was adequate with enough space for two people. The shower provided mild challenges as the drain struggled to cope with the water flow and anything on the floor subsequently got wet as the water tended to track across the floor. I gathered this was not a new problem as there were signs in the bathroom about trekking water into the bedroom area. We had no view at all which was a bit disappointing.
Our room looked out onto a brick wall. If there was a room with castle or street views this would be my preference for next time.

I might have given this hotel a three but what gives this hotel four stars is its location. It is fantastically positioned for exploring the castle and the area around this. There are a range of pubs and eateries nearby that enticed us so we did not eat at the hotel at all.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is parking though it incurs an extra cost of about £10 a night from memory.
All in all we were happy with this hotel a it allowed us to do the things in Edinburgh that we wanted to do. We would stay again with issues.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street or with castle views if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is located below the famous castle and the Royal Mile in the old Grassmarket district in Edinburgh, which is now largely dedicated to pubs and restaurants, which is fine if you are a young carouser, not so much if you value sleep. The main (check in) floor has quite an odd setup. The main desk staff are a friendly and generally helpful international mix, but showed no early check in flexibility.

The bar area is not particularly welcoming or comfortable but the staff is attentive.

My room (which came supplied with ear plugs on the bedside table) had a view of the castle walls and was a reasonable size by European standards, furnishing were of average quality, bathroom generally average but towels of poor quality.

I ate one (evening) meal in the noisy hotel restaurant. Quality was average.

My biggest issue was the night time noise - hence the ear plugs. The pubs, which are lively and well attended by students and bachelor party types, are loud and do no close until 2:00 a.m., but the drunken yelling and party atmosphere carries on until between 3 and 4:00 a.m..

Room Tip: If you are there to party any room will do. If not, ask for a room which does not overlook the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wineseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,891 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,784 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,759 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £66 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing