We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apex International”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ukunda, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Apex International”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great stay in this city hotel. Reception vv good, beds springy and v comfortable, feather pillows and duvets. Even more surprising is there was a bath. Small size pool but v refreshing.

Would certainly visit again,

Room Tip: Have the eggs benedict....delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CateWalker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    1,314
    491
    179
    87
See reviews for
825
1,400
100
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel was in a good location close to the royal mile and the Edinburgh castle. However when we got there, we had to wait awhile to be checked-in and staff were not customer-oriented. Did not opt for breakfast as we found a cute little breakfast place nearby that probably served you faster. Bed was soft and clean but poor soundproofing so bit noisy. And I don't understand what is with their bathroom faucets! Overall, if location matters more than service, then it is an option you could try.

Room Tip: Request for room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickAdvisor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is in a great position lookng over the Castle and is very close to the many pubs and restaurants of Edinburgh.
The check-in staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient. We had a room on the 5th floor with a wonderful view of the Castle.
The room was very clean with a large comfortable king size bed, ample wardrobe space and large tv. The bathroom had a bath with a rain shower and this was nice and clean and fresh smelling.
The restaurant, that is also on the fifth floor, offers the same stunning view of the castle.The breakfast, continental or full Scottish, was really good and sets you up for a days sightseeing around Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is situated in a great location, close to bars and restaurants, Edinburgh Castle and the Golden Mile and much more. I stayed for four days with my husband and son. The rooms we had were standard. We arrived on a sunny afternoon and our room was extremely hot. The windows opened and there was a fan so all good. Our view was of the car park below which was relatively quite Our son was next door which was what we had requested.

I was a little disappointed by the room. for the price we had paid. The room was snug, but that was probably because of the amount of furniture in there. Two armchairs and a table, together with a double bed and desk and another chair - I felt it was a little cluttered and made opening windows awkward. A trivial matter but my opinion non the less. The main disappointment was the decor it needed attention, the ceiling in the main room and in the bathroom had areas of water staining, the interior of the wardrobes which had ill fitting doors were chipped in places, this was made worse by the fact that it was red and more noticeable. The curtains in the main room were grubby looking, no pillow protector. In the bathroom, the glazing on the sink was badly cracked and there was mould in areas. The shower head was very narrow so the spread of water was very concentrated. There was also no safe. It was not all bad - it was clean. the tv was large and well placed (in front of the bed) plenty of lighting, iron and board. lovely white fluffy towels, a duck, a kettle with an assortment of herbal teas, coffees some biscuits and the wifi connection was free.

We visited the restaurant a couple of times and the food was very good with plenty of choice. My only criticism was that the drinks were rather expensive - £2.00 for a very small bottle of coke or lemonade,, but they did provide a jug of water. The breakfast was lovely and you were seated in The Heights restaurant on the 5th floor which was very light and airy. Service was prompt and the breakfast was delicious. We had prepaid for a scottish breakfast so we basically had a choice of anything on the menu which was cooked to order. It arrived hot and well presented. We did try out the pool which was quite small but a good addition to any hotel. We also tried out the gym which was well equipped. Parking was on site and one of the main reason for choosing this hotel. It was £12.00 per day. Parking was limited to a first come first serve basis.

Room Tip: 4008 and 4006 overlook the courtyard where the car park is located. Not overly noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have been visiting Edinburgh for a number of years and not had 2 minutes to set up a trip advisor account , Here I finally am .
Been At this hotel about 12 times now and I would love to just share how pleasant and relaxed i have always been, staff 100% , rooms 100% .
Very bust nightlife during the festival period but all round buzzing from the minute you step out the hotel doors , the nightlife starts on the pavement .
Look forward to visiting next year 2015.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishrose1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Apex International Hotel has a fine location. If you are lucky, you may get a room with a view of the castle and this experience is amazing! The rooms are big, 2 queen beds in every room for double occupancy. Walk to the left of the hotel and you can find your way to Princess Street ( which is where all the nice shops are located ). Just across the hotel, are cafes, where you can enjoy your nice cup of coffee. Edinburgh is "medievally beautiful" and this staying at Apex International makes my expereince perfect! Cannot ask for more.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JetsetterJC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkp
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for about four nights in April. My partner and I regularly try to stay at Apex hotels as they are all of a fair standard. The International in Edinburgh is no exception, though I'd say its not quite as good as their City of London operation.

Grassmarket is an open, jaunty part of the city centre in walking distance to much of the action, above Waverley station at least (though you'll need a taxi to go from there to the hotel first time). Be warned, the Apex City is almost right next door and it is possible for the unwary traveller to confuse the two. This one is further down Grassmarket and known to be a bit better.

Generally our stay was good: nice room, quiet, comfy beds, decent staff. We didn't need parking or stay for breakfast, so I can't comment on those. Unfortunately the ground floor pool is a bit small and its possible to just see in from the hotel lobby.

My two main concerns are that there was no in-room safe and no fridge / mini-bar. Since these are becoming standard issue for quality hotels, I was quite surprized not to see them. Also, its quite unlikely that you'll get a view of Edinburgh Castle unless you buy the right kind of room (and its on the main road side, which would be a bit noisier - especially on weekends).

All in all a pretty decent stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,101 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,570 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing