We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE - THIS HOTEL OVERBOOKS ITS ROOMS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEWARE - THIS HOTEL OVERBOOKS ITS ROOMS”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

WE booked an upgraded room for the night of 29 May and paid in advance by credit card, only to find that they hotel had overbooked and did not have an equivalent room available! We phoned twice the evening we arrived to let the hotel know that we were in town and to enquire about parking. We finally got to the hotel around 21.45 only to be told that in the half an hour between our second phone call and arriving they had given our room to another couple (" on a first come first served basis") and that they had no rooms of the standard we had booked available. WE were offered a deluxe room in a sister hotel on the other side of the city (NOT an attractive option after we had been travelling all day and had a very early start in the morning) or the only standard room they had left. WE asked for the manager, who advised us that overbooking by the central reservations team of Apex was a relatively standard practice. Rather than offering us the basic room free, or at a much reduced price as a gesture, we ended up having a negotiation with the manager about the price we were willing to pay for what turned out to be an extremely poky room with one tiny window that did not open, and air conditioning that did not work. Even without the outrage of overbooking, it is fair to say that we would in any event have been disappointed even with the room we had booked: far from being a true 4 star hotel, it is very average - a mid tier business or coach party hotel whose only attribute is its central location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    1,314
    491
    179
    86
See reviews for
825
1,399
100
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Some time ago we booked a family room here for this weekend just gone, mainly due to its central location and availability of family rooms. Just before we left, I was quite anxious having read scores of poor reviews, with regards to noise, the rooms, breakfast etc etc. All I can say was that our stay was perfectly fine, no issues whatsoever. Maybe the owners had read the reviews and altered some aspects, but we found the room clean and perfectly adequate for our requirements (2 adults and 3 young children). We had a bath with shower attachment, and both worked fine, although our friends (who had also booked a family room) did not have a bath, only a shower. Breakfast was great - we had booked a room inclusive of breakfast, and had no complaints at all about the food or the service. The buffet (continental) seemed to be well stocked and replenished, and the hot food was fresh, hot, and had not been left to dry out under grills (at least in the 2 mornings experience we had). Now, the noise - a thorny issue it seems for many. Firstly, this is a centrally located hotel, with a series of pubs, restaurants etc opposite in a small historic square - clearly a tourist draw as well as a draw for the locals. It is therefore clearly going to be noisy, and almost worryingly ear plugs are available in the rooms. Our room was on the 3rd floor, facing the square, and we had no trouble with noise at all. Of course you can hear the occassional shout outside, but no more than any other centrally-located hotel in any city. I'm guessing it must get noisy at times judging by the provision of ear plugs, but as mentioned, we had no need to use them at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel, and even gave the kids little activity bags upon arrival. Taxis are widely available outside, and many of the main landmarks are within easy walking distance. The only downside we really encountered was upon arrival in the room, finding that on what had been a hot day in early June, the radiator in the room was on full blast leaving the room like a sauna. We quickly shut this off and then found a desk fan in the cupboard, which admittedly we did use both nights. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself and three friends stayed here as a base on a saturday night for the Edinburgh moonwalk, from the word go after booking the staff were very good, requested a late check in as we would only be sleeping from around 8.00am til 11.00am, this was no problem, we also ended up ordering some room service breakfast and received this complimentary as it was only the remnants of breakfast - on the down side a very noisy room but that would have been easily remmedied by asking for back of the hotel, no aircon and impossible to open the window due to the location, the bar is being renovated so cannot comment on it , the temporary one was very sparce and very cold. Would definitely go back as the minor complaints were far more outweighed by the staffs attitude and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djanemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November and we loved the hotel. The room was well sized, modern and very clean. We had a lovely view out to the beautiful cobbled streets of Edinburgh which looked lovely at night when lit up and a lovely view of the castle. The bathroom, I loved. Nice size again very clean. Nice size bath and separate walk in shower. The refreshment tray was a welcome addition and was generously stocked which was also replenished daily. The breakfast was lovely, we had it by room service and my partner loved the pancakes. They had a good variety to choose from. Would definitely recommend and would stay again. All in all lovely hotel in an excellent centre location ideal for exploring the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Don't even think about going to sleep before 2am. The drunks at the multiple bars across the street will serenade and fight and curse and break glass, all coming through those paper thin walls.

On the other side of the room you can hear every word of people in the hallway.

Room Tip: Demand a room away from the street. Don't go for the "Casteview" deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quartshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked a Long weekend away for my 40th Birthday begining of May, me my partner and our 5yr old Daughter it is our second time at the hotel ( first time was a long weekend just the 2 of us) we had a room with 2 queen sized beds over lookinbg the Castle ( A view that i will never get tired of from this hotel) Fantastic Location for all of Edinburgh. Clean Room on arrival but short on towels ( soon sorted out though within 5 min towels were at our door) only enough refreshments for 2 people though, when my daughter wanted a cup of tea with us 1 of us had to miss out, again only 2 bottles of water ever left in the fridge over the 3 night stay, this was never replensihed nor was the tea and coffee on the second morning. The first time we stayed we just had an en suite with a shower this time we had a bath, however the presure in the shower was a drizzle and you could not open the shower screen to get in the shower ( not enough room left in the design to open it, only opened 3-4 inches before hitting the sink basin) it was no good for my daughter as i could not get in there to wash her nor could she have a bath as i could not reach the shower head or taps to turn them on and off, so she had a sink wash the 3 mornings we were there! ( people who stay with children will understand the importance of having control of the water with a 5yr old) Breakfast was not as good as the first time we had breakfast around 10-10:30am and found that the continental selection was always empty and not replensihed fast enough for the amount of guests that were staying, 1 morning we had to wait approx 25 min in a queue before being seated. There also didnt seem any system for seating people the waiters/waitresses just had to guess who had been seated first and quite often people who had sat down after you got served tea and coffee before you. this really needs to be addressed. Full Scottish breakfast again on our first morning was fresh and hot, on our 2nd & 3rd Morning it was like it had been left under a hot plate and gone dry before it reached you. I love the View from the Hotel and i Love the City, really want to go back again but i think i will try another hotel, did think after our 5* servive, food and room our first visit that our second would match it but it didnt!

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a Castle View but on the 4th/5th Floor so you wont hear much noise from streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathan110595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Comfortable, warm and clean rooms, lovely bathroom, delicious buffet breakfast. Only complaint was that one waiter in the downstairs bar refused to sell one of the group alcohol although the 3 of us were all over 18 (20,21,30). It would have been nice to enjoy a cocktail and did leave a sour taste, would have expected more leniency from a hotel worker. Nice hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank advisingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,098 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,568 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing