We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and good breakfast”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is very well located; Grassmarket is in the Old Town, 5 min away from the Royal mile and 10 min walk from the Museums. Room was fine and clean and they leave in your room complimentary coffee, tea, water and cookies. If you book your breakfast the day before, it is 10 pounds and you can order everything on the menu. They have a mini bar with fruits, cereals, cheese, ham, etc. If you do not book in advance it is 16 pounds I think. Right in front of the hotel (Grassmarket) you have plenty of restaurants, pubs and it is very lively between 5 and 9 I would say. The hotel seems to host many events like festivals, weddings, etc. so watch out for the noise if you are on the first floors. I was on the 4th and it was OK, but I'm not sensitive to loud noise. Staff is sometimes very nice and attentive and other times just OK. There is a small interior pool and gym. Overall, I had a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Up and not facing the Grassmarket because of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLTMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    1,290
    479
    169
    81
See reviews for
802
1,374
94
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms online nothing like the rooms we stayed in. Room smelt of damp and were unclean with plaster falling of walls. Very disappointing hotel. Management of hotel is a joke, not interested in ensuring we had an enjoyable stay in their hotel. Would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

myself and three friends stayed in this hotel while attending the highland show,we were shown to our rooms,the room was disgusting the carpets were rotten the beds covered in stains.no towels to shower with etc,so complained to the hotel reception who then decided to move us to another room ,well it wasn't much better.the pictures they have posted are noth like what the hotel looks like inside.we were charged 160 pound each for the 2 nite stay ,the hotel offered us a free cup of tea for the inconvience .I would just like people to be aware that this hotel is nothing like what it shows on their website,i will never be back in it and hopefully my experience will help others

Room Tip: go to a hotel that offers quality for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angry112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay with us. I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with your original room, but glad that the team were able to sort out the issues you raised at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in January 2014. Great location right on the Grassmarket for exploring Edinburgh, shopping or drinking. 15 minute walk to Princes street and the shopping district which is good. Close to pubs and nightclubs too. Pool is a lovely added extra too. Would visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a good value in a good location. If you like to stay in a quieter locale rather than be in the thick of things, this a great spot. The rooms and service are good and there are many cafes and restaurants within a short walk. All the major sites and shopping a close by as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teejay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We (my 8yr daughter and I) stayed in Apex International for one night on 18th of June. very hot day, and busy day outside with World cup on in nearly every bar outside.

Arrived at hotel and was greeted by lovely staff members, they really demonstrate a level of service which should be the standard everywhere is based upon. The lady took our details and informed us our room wasnt ready but took my mobile and said they would call when things were ready. A gentleman appeared ready to put my luggage away and provided my daughter with a play pack (simple thing, not alot of monetary value but made my daughter feel very welcome).

We went off and completed some more of our Edinburgh to-do list and then were informed the room was ready - we decided to take after a very early start and settled in for 30mins rest. The room was clean, 2 large twin beds and what you would expect from a decent hotel.

We left for the rest of the day for more activities and upon return went straight to room for sleep. The room being on the grass market side was noisy and very warm. We had to have the window open which meant we had all the street traffic and pub noise (I cant blame the hotel for this as i knew the area before I booked).
My daughter had no problem sleeping and I maybe heard a bit more of the noise, but slept well considering.

The next morning, we went up for breakfast at the Heights restuarant inside the hotel. A very pleasant affair and again very friendly staff, epitomised by when my daughter was disappointed that there was no croissants. A staff member informed me they freshly bake them and a new batch would be out shortly, of which he would reserve some for her. He arrived out with a new tray and some for my daughter and asked me if I would like to put some away for later in the day.

In the service industry, good service is the key and not always provided. In this instance the hotel deserves 5-star rating on tripadvisor as the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Stay on opposite side of hotel from entrance if you want quiet, slightly obvious - but it can be bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel isn't on the Royal Mile but is a quick few blocks away. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby and the view of the castle is beautiful. We stayed in 2 different rooms recently and although both were very clean and accommodating for our family, I believe we preferred the one on the 3rd floor because the hallway flooring on the 1st floor was creaky and felt like it needed to be updated.

Here's a downside, though, to having a room with a castle view in the summer months when you must leave your window open for fresh air: you get to hear the rowdies departing the pubs at 3:30 a.m. Apparently it's just a ton of fun to yell, sing or fight in the wee hours between stone buildings so that the volume of your voice and activities become very amplified. Sleeping with ear plugs muffled much of the street noise but not all. Our safety was never in question and to some extent we found these random events somewhat entertaining as they never lasted long and we were able to get back to sleep. Of course, 3:30 a.m. is just about the time the sun is starting to peak.

We ordered room service for our first breakfast but quickly discovered that there really isn't a good place to eat in the room because there was no table and the desk only accommodated 1 person. Thus the following days we dined in the restaurant for a continental breakfast. I recommend arriving early to avoid the queue.

We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and were surprised to discover it was made of metal! There is a very nice and clean changing area adjoining the pool, which we did not know about, otherwise we wouldn't have stomped through the lobby looking like the Beverly Hillbillies in our swimwear. ;)

We availed ourselves of the laundry services twice and were pleased at the quick turnaround in addition to how all of our clothing was professionally packaged.

We really enjoyed this hotel and I wish we had the Apex chain in the states. If ever the opportunity presents, we'll definitely return.

Room Tip: A beautiful view of the castle will get you street noise. Just remember to bring ear plugs to be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraMOAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing