We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel is located on the 'square' of The Grassmarket and from front facing rooms you have a wonderful view of Edinburgh Castle.
Rooms are comfortable, and a nice touch with the Elemis toiletries
Hotel room was very hot, it had been a lovely day, with no aircon. Lovely to open the window to let some fresh air in but very noisy from the traffic and people in the square at the bars and restaurants /cafés. Ear plugs were provided in the room which I didn't need
Reception area and bar are very dark and not particularly welcoming, as it is dark and layout is slightly strange.
View from restaurant / breakfast room on level 5 are wonderful and for me make up for the slight shortcomings in the room.

Room Tip: If you want a view go for a high floor at the front and if peace is more important then a room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    1,342
    519
    183
    89
See reviews for
875
1,423
102
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Dundee - I have stayed overnight at the Apex Hotel Dundee and on occassion stopped off on days out for lunch or coffee. I can honestly say that the accomodation experience was fantastic. The room I had was clean, airy and bright with exellent en-suite facilities. The service from the staff in the hotel was fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for any off them and the hotel has a good mix of ages and nationalities. My lunching and coffee experience is exactly the same, my last coffee stop was on th 17th June 2014. No matter how busy, no matter what's going on, they always find a space for me to relax and catch my breath for a couple of hours. Overlooking part of the Dundee water front this is a great hotel to base yourself in, if you are exploring Scotland. All ages and all types of groups appeared well catered for. Jacqueline McMillan

Room Tip: Choice of room depends on if you like a room overlooking the waterfront or if your preference is fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel situated in a gorgeous part of the old town. After a major mix-up because Booking.com had not transmitted the booking correctly (not Apex's fault), Katharina at reception could not have been more helpful and accommodating particularly in finding a room with an accessible bathroom for my elderly father.

There is a super range of restaurants near by and I can strongly recommend Le Petit Paris for an evening meal. I would be very happy to stay here again. Their sister hotel (Apex City) a couple of doors up is smaller but looks equally clean and crisp.

Room Tip: Castle facing rooms have a lovely view but might be noisy at weekends when the hen and stag parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our "Superior Room" was a shabby box room with extra scatter cushions on the bed and bore no resemblance to the rooms shown on the website.
The public areas are depressingly dull and it was not possible to get a meal in the hotel.
We checked out again after 10 minutes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a few days in Edinburgh doing Christmas fun stuff and the hotel just made our stay. Staff were amazing, the hotel was superbly located and the bar was so welcoming even for our young children.

We managed to get a discounted deal making it very good value and the meals are in a restaurant with spectacular views over the Castle etc.

If you get the chance to stay, take it. You will not be disappointed...even if it's just for the rubber ducks you get to keep!! This hotel is a must do again in future!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Second visit here, due to the marathon being on we got a cancellation but was a basic room, no fridge but still a nice room, a view onto an office block not ideal but only stayed one night (Saturday),nice shower and toilet and a comfy bed. A wedding was being held that day, so after booking in had to squeeze past the guests all standing about outside the lift area, I had to return to my room, as it started to rain and again had to get past the guests, not ideal, cant they be asked to stay over to the back of the area away from the lift and stairs. We received a £10 voucher from hotel for booking through them so spent it on cocktails, and our Mojitos were excellent full marks to the barman on duty (Saturday 24th May) they were one of the best we have tasted. Breakfast very good full Scottish!! with juice cereal etc. we will return :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dundeetravellermrshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is very well located; Grassmarket is in the Old Town, 5 min away from the Royal mile and 10 min walk from the Museums. Room was fine and clean and they leave in your room complimentary coffee, tea, water and cookies. If you book your breakfast the day before, it is 10 pounds and you can order everything on the menu. They have a mini bar with fruits, cereals, cheese, ham, etc. If you do not book in advance it is 16 pounds I think. Right in front of the hotel (Grassmarket) you have plenty of restaurants, pubs and it is very lively between 5 and 9 I would say. The hotel seems to host many events like festivals, weddings, etc. so watch out for the noise if you are on the first floors. I was on the 4th and it was OK, but I'm not sensitive to loud noise. Staff is sometimes very nice and attentive and other times just OK. There is a small interior pool and gym. Overall, I had a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Up and not facing the Grassmarket because of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLTMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,172 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,521 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing