We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 days and were very pleased. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and spacious, and the only thing we missed was a fridge too cool water etc. The hotel is very well situated in the Old Town, and you will find yourself at a walking distance from every attraction in the city. From this hotel you will have a good view of the Castle, particularly when having breakfast or dinner at the restaurant on 5th floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knutarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
There are newer reviews for Apex Grassmarket Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 3,526 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

First time to Edinburgh and first time staying in an Apex hotel, loved both. Hotel was modern but friendly staff gave it a nice personal feel. Didn't have breakfast here but found a great café on opposite side of road. Went with a group of friends so used both bar and restaurant, both were good. Great pubs, Brew Dog just down the road ;o) and restaurants within walking distance, as is Edinburgh Castle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolsharrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel is located on the 'square' of The Grassmarket and from front facing rooms you have a wonderful view of Edinburgh Castle.
Rooms are comfortable, and a nice touch with the Elemis toiletries
Hotel room was very hot, it had been a lovely day, with no aircon. Lovely to open the window to let some fresh air in but very noisy from the traffic and people in the square at the bars and restaurants /cafés. Ear plugs were provided in the room which I didn't need
Reception area and bar are very dark and not particularly welcoming, as it is dark and layout is slightly strange.
View from restaurant / breakfast room on level 5 are wonderful and for me make up for the slight shortcomings in the room.

Room Tip: If you want a view go for a high floor at the front and if peace is more important then a room at th...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Dundee - I have stayed overnight at the Apex Hotel Dundee and on occassion stopped off on days out for lunch or coffee. I can honestly say that the accomodation experience was fantastic. The room I had was clean, airy and bright with exellent en-suite facilities. The service from the staff in the hotel was fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for any off them and the hotel has a good mix of ages and nationalities. My lunching and coffee experience is exactly the same, my last coffee stop was on th 17th June 2014. No matter how busy, no matter what's going on, they always find a space for me to relax and catch my breath for a couple of hours. Overlooking part of the Dundee water front this is a great hotel to base yourself in, if you are exploring Scotland. All ages and all types of groups appeared well catered for. Jacqueline McMillan

Room Tip: Choice of room depends on if you like a room overlooking the waterfront or if your preference is fo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel situated in a gorgeous part of the old town. After a major mix-up because Booking.com had not transmitted the booking correctly (not Apex's fault), Katharina at reception could not have been more helpful and accommodating particularly in finding a room with an accessible bathroom for my elderly father.

There is a super range of restaurants near by and I can strongly recommend Le Petit Paris for an evening meal. I would be very happy to stay here again. Their sister hotel (Apex City) a couple of doors up is smaller but looks equally clean and crisp.

Room Tip: Castle facing rooms have a lovely view but might be noisy at weekends when the hen and stag parties...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our "Superior Room" was a shabby box room with extra scatter cushions on the bed and bore no resemblance to the rooms shown on the website.
The public areas are depressingly dull and it was not possible to get a meal in the hotel.
We checked out again after 10 minutes!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a few days in Edinburgh doing Christmas fun stuff and the hotel just made our stay. Staff were amazing, the hotel was superbly located and the bar was so welcoming even for our young children.

We managed to get a discounted deal making it very good value and the meals are in a restaurant with spectacular views over the Castle etc.

If you get the chance to stay, take it. You will not be disappointed...even if it's just for the rubber ducks you get to keep!! This hotel is a must do again in future!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,510 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,658 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing