We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here with family for three nights from 5th July. Had a room facing the castle and the view was lovely. Location is ideal, everything is within walking distance. Staff very friendly, attentive and helpful. We ate dinner at the hotel on one of the evenings and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibertiesBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,797 - 1,803 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our room was not ready when we arrived. We had to sit in the bar for about an hour before the room was ready. This was after check in time, so we got coupons for free drinks in the bar as a compensation. We had a room at the 4th floor facing Edinburgh Castle. This was obviously a great view, but it also meant that our room was facing the street with all the bars and restaurants there. There were so much noise during the night that we barely slept. We had the windows open - the room was so hot that we couldn't close them. Breakfast was alright, with a continental breakfast and also a menu with a selection of hot food to order. While eating breakfast you can also enjoy the beautiful view of Edinburgh Castle. The location of the hotel is amazing! You are within walking distance to many attractions in Edinburgh, and two of the the tourist Hop On Hop Off buses also stop outside the hotel. The staff was helpful, and the room was spacious and clean. There are free wifi at the hotel. There are 2 lifts at the hotel, but you have to wait forever for them to come. I was really annoyed one time when I had been waiting for a lift for about 10 minutes, and when it finally arrived there were 3 members of staff in it and they said they were going down (I as going up) so I had to wait for the next one. In my opinion staff should NOT have priority on the lifts. Apart from the location, there were nothing special about this hotel, and because of a variety of things that happened during our stay I will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MV309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on the fact that we could have a room facing the castle. We had a 4th floor room with a balcony. It was nice to check in and stand outside on the balcony and look at the castle and street before embarking on our touring.
In a nutshell:
Noise: We slept with the door to the balcony closed and used the fan. I didn't hear a peep from the pubs or street.
Air temp: We were there July 7th and it was hot out! The fan was fine for sleeping. I'm a person who likes the air con on all night, but I didn't miss it.
Hotel appearance: Very nice. I commented to my husband that I read a review that the halls were dark. We kind of laughed about it because it was fine. He said they must be energy efficient. Nothing wrong with that.
Service: Excellent, they were happy to give directions and store our luggage after we checked out but wanted to wander around town a bit longer. We went for a night in the country and came back to the city for the last day and they gladly stored our luggage again so we could visit the castle without our bags. The desk agent said they weren't supposed to do that, but I had the bag tags from the day before still on our bags so he knew we had stayed there. It was a little thing but hugely appreciated!
Food: We didn't eat there or have drinks. I did book via the hotel website and saw others comment that they got 10 pound credit towards food/bev. We didn't but it was not a bother. There was too much to see and do to hang around the hotel.
Location: Awesome!!!!

If and when I go back I will gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room not facing the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PP&Hardware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is quite nice inside and the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, we were given a room facing the castle, which was the street side, and the street noise was unbearable throughout the night. Even with earplugs, we barely slept. The room was hot, therefore it was impossible to close the windows, but even with them closed the noise was nonstop. We requested to change rooms to an interior room for the second night and thankfully, they granted our request and moved our bags for us. We slept great the second night. Our biggest issue with this hotel was that they only allow tour groups to eat in the beautiful restaurant upstairs for dinner. We cannot understand this as we arrived upstairs at 6pm to an empty room ready to spend hundreds of dollars for dinner for four and were turned away. It's not easy to find a non-tourist trap restaurant right nearby. I recommend walking to New Town and doing your research ahead of time and making a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheerMom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Went to the Apex International bar today for lunch. We all had the Burger which was well cooked, nice and juicy and topped with bacon and a nice sauce. Meal for 3 with drinks came to £50.
Only down side was the Waiter (NOT the Australian one) took away my Dad and I's plate before my Mum had finished.

On the whole, a good meal. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 days and were very pleased. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and spacious, and the only thing we missed was a fridge too cool water etc. The hotel is very well situated in the Old Town, and you will find yourself at a walking distance from every attraction in the city. From this hotel you will have a good view of the Castle, particularly when having breakfast or dinner at the restaurant on 5th floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knutarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First time to Edinburgh and first time staying in an Apex hotel, loved both. Hotel was modern but friendly staff gave it a nice personal feel. Didn't have breakfast here but found a great café on opposite side of road. Went with a group of friends so used both bar and restaurant, both were good. Great pubs, Brew Dog just down the road ;o) and restaurants within walking distance, as is Edinburgh Castle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolsharrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,631 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing